We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is the worst I have ever stayed at. They are rebuilding it from 10 in the morning until 5 in the afternoon with jack hammers, compressors and almost every construction tool you care to mention. The noise outside our room and the pool was so loud aftet 2 hours my ears were ringing. I booked two rooms but I and my companions were forced to leave for another hotel, to make things worse they charged my card with the full amount on booking in and now i have to fight to get it returned. I am contacting a lawyer.
Stay away from this if you want to enjoy St Thomas.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jdk7269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear JDK7269:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, both favorable and unfavorable, provide valuable feedback so that we may continue to improve our quality and customer service. I apologize for the disturbance you experienced as a result of our renovations. We are making improvements to our 2nd floor pool deck and surrounding areas; we try to schedule the active construction during the day when the majority of our guests are off property, either on business appointments, or enjoying St Thomas.

As for the charges to you credit card; if your reservations were booked through a third-party broker, sadly we are not in a position of authority to reverse the transaction. If you booked with us directly, I urge you to give us a call so that we may rectify this for you. We can be reached toll free at (800) 524-7389.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    165
    206
    118
    124
See reviews for
128
261
55
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed two night at different times. Staff weren't very friendly or helpful. Sheets and towels had stains and one room in our party had a mouse in it. I also left my eye glasses in the room the first night when we came back a week later and asked about them they were very confused and not helpful at all. They even told us the maid found them and put them at the front desk but then they couldn't find them at the front desk. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Jon455:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased you found our location convenient and enjoyable; we are quite fortunate to be in such close proximity to many fine attractions. I regret your room was not to your satisfaction in terms of cleanliness, there is no excuse for that; and I am terribly sorry we were unable to locate your missing eyeglasses. There is clearly a need for improvement in the communication between departments and staff members, I believe that will greatly improve over-all customer service. I am very grateful to you for bringing this to our attention.

I hope you will visit us again someday so that we may restore your faith in our facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I wouldn't stay there again, at the Holiday Inn A.K.A Windward passage hotel . The infrastructure of the building is falling apart . AC units makes the rooms smell like urine and they have mole . My shower curtain had mold on it . I was moved once the incident was reported . I also observed that the pool had no chlorine smell , the water had visible hair and trash floating in it. Housekeeping manager was more helpful than the staff . Reservation was good and the front desk as a whole service was poor to needing to be retrained on customer service . They ( front desk ) seem to be very unorganized . At a rate of $214.00+ per night I honestly expected a higher quality of care and concern for me as a guest . There was no mentioned of renovation and for the last two days of my stay , I was awaken by drilling and noise .

Room Tip: My best advice would be NOT to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear AC R:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, favorable and unfavorable, provide valuable feedback so that we may continue to improve our quality and customer service. I am so sorry you were displeased with your stay with us; it seams everything that could have gone wrong, went wrong. I have shared your candid remarks with our various department heads and steps are in place to ensure cleanliness, courtesy and comfort moving forward.

We are currently making improvements to the 2nd floor pool deck and surrounding areas; active construction is scheduled to begin at 10am and end by 4pm. The majority of our guests are off-property during the day either at business appointments, or enjoying St. Thomas. I am terribly sorry we woke you.

We hope you will visit us again someday, so that we may restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Actually spent a week in St. John and decided to spend a night in St. Thomas before returning to the states. Windward is an older hotel, but my room was clean, and all the appointments worked fine. It is an easy walk to all the shopping in Charlotte Amalie. Ordered an outdoor breakfast before checking out and the food was excellent. Would recommend Windward for a short stay in Charlotte Amalie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tom K:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and for your kind remarks. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our accommodations clean and comfortable. We are very fortunate to have such a great location, convenient to downtown and in close proximity to many fine attractions.

We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the second time I have tried to like this hotel. The first stay included rude personnel, ants in the bathroom and no internet. There was an overall lack of customer service.

This time, I was given a room that smelled like urine and had a patio door that was unlocked. In fact, upon inspection, no lock exists on the door. When I called the front desk to complain, they changed my room without even offering an apology. Since I knew I would be on a flight arriving late, I specifically asked when I made my reservation how late the bar served dinner. I was told 10 pm. At 9:45 when I arrived at the bar, I was told the kitchen was already closed. No one in this hotel seems to care about the guest's experience.

The convenience of the hotel's location right on the harbor at the seaplane and ferry docks are the only reason to stay here. For me, I'll figure out an alternative in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapestryoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear tapestryoftravel:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, favorable and unfavorable, provide valuable feedback so that we may continue to improve our quality and customer service. I regret the state of your room upon check in, there is no excuse for that. Moreover, I am appalled at the aloofness in which you were addressed. It is apparent there is an immediate need for additional training and coaching in that regard. I am extremely grateful to you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope you will visit us again someday, so that we may restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk/usa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

stayed one night while waiting for a seaplane. average quality hotel, staff fair. location central, good for overnights if catching a ferry. we got a room at the rear of the hotel facing the noisy ghetto----into the night loud voices, music, motorbilkes, barking dogs, roosters-----not good. so, if you are going to stay here, get a room facing the sea and main road-----it has to be quieter than facing the hood. probably would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjccta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear mjccta:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased you found our location convenient to the BVI ferry dock and the St Croix Seaplane Shuttle. I'm sorry you were disturbed by the sounds of the surrounding neighborhood. It is a shame that some members of our community do not adhere to the noise ordinances that are in place. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our quality of infrastructure; maybe it's time for additional insulation in the northern facing guestrooms. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We hope you visit us again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked 4 rooms in the Windward Passage Hotel so that we wouldn't need to rush getting to our Flight back home from St. Thomas after sailing through the BVI's for 8 days. There were 4 couples in our group. Ups, it's convenient to the Ferry dock, within walking distance. We Booked through Tingo and our room rates came down, so we received a refund on the difference.
The Hotel was decent, a lot of business people stay here.
In one of the rooms the carpet was soaking wet upon entry, as the air conditioner had a major leak. Our friends called the front desk and were asked "Do you want us to bring towels to sop up the water?' Their reply was, "no we want another room". Back to the lobby and 45 minutes later they finally got another room.
The rooms were clean, served our purpose for one night, so we could get our next day flight home.
We enjoyed the pool and lounge area. There were very few people in the pool.We were provided with beach towels from the front desk.
The courtyard was very pretty with beautiful statues and umbrellas tables. Service @ the courtyard bar is quite slow and the bartender couldn't make a pina colada.....When a group of loud obnoxious business men arrived with their foul language it was time to go....
Half of our group ate dinner @ the hotel and the other half walked into town and found a nice restaurant. Our dinner was OK but over priced, we should have went out friends into town.
We had a quick overpriced breakfast before we had to catch our pre arranged transportation for our 10am flight.
The Hotel was adequate for our needs, but I wouldn't plan to stay here for a vacation destination.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that faced the baseball field, did not have any problem with noise from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstmate362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Public Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Firstmate362:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased you found our location convenient, and our property adequate for your brief stay. It appears however, that you received less than stellar service at the bar and from the front desk; that is unacceptable. It is clear that there is a need for additional training and coaching for some of the members of our staff in that regard. I am grateful to you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope you will visit us again one day, so that we may restore your faith in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Property: Windward Passage Hotel
Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing