We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windward Passage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$310
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebeard's Castle Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
83
178
209
123
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
178
209
123
132
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 725 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised. Service was good, air conditioning was working great! Room was clean. If you don't need to be on the beach, this is the place to stay. Business trip recommendation .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Windward Passage before setting off on a cruise. After having read the reviews, I was prepared for the worst. However, our room was very acceptable and clean; the wifi worked well and we enjoyed the views of the bay. The traffic noise subsided at night and did not disturb. Location is very convenient. Service, however, is really inconsistent. We found some front desk clerks who were very pleasant and helpful and others who seemed to really resent our presence. How about a friendly greeting, or maybe even a smile? Don't try to get a drink or a snack outside restaurant or bar hours, you can't. We found food service pleasant but very slow, and a real lack of training and interest on the part of the management was apparent in some of the restaurant staff. I understand about Island Time but a wait of an hour for a sandwich is not acceptable. Part of the problem is that nobody seems to be in charge. And another factor is that St. Thomas is just not a friendly island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejm1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I wanted to let you know that we have heard your issue with not being able to get food outside of our restaurant hours, To remedy this, we are opening a small "to-go" store in the courtyard that will have sandwiches, snacks, coffee and a variety of sundries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First of all, I want to say upfront that if I were vacationing in St. Thomas this would not be the place I would pick. It is not a 'resort' but it doesn't claim to be one. We came to St. Thomas to take a Seabourn cruise out of the port, and added a day after our return to see a bit more of the island.
This hotel is near the port and also convenient to the airport so the location couldn't have been better. Also, since we had no car and we are not dumb enough to be out walking around the area after dark, it was a great location for shopping and food during the daylight hours. We were able to really experience the shopping district and god some fabulous bargains (bought a lace tablecloth that was similar to others I'd seen on different islands for 'half price' at $90. The one I picked up in St. Thomas was $30!!! Also, there are some charming, interesting antique shops and gift places that are not like the 'usual' cruise port fare. Very impressed.
When we arrived straight from the ship it was early, about 10 am. Not expecting to have a ready room, especially since it was Spring Break for many college students. I guess a lot of them left the week before. We booked the room through Hotels. com but called to make the reservation. We asked for and were told we were getting the last ocean view room. True to their word, we did and it was. AND it was clean and ready for us, so we didn't have to park our bags near the lobby desk, which made us a bit nervous, as I had jewelry and other valuables in my bags. There was also a working safe in the room. We'd met some folks on the cruise ship that told us they'd stayed there before they boarded and that the place was really kind of a mad house with all the kids vacationing there. They also said they had a 'back' room facing a ball court. They put their stuff in our room while they waited for a time closer to their flight and were very impressed with our room, joking about 'who do YOU know?'. Also, true to their reviews, the bed was very clean and comfortable with nice linens and good pillows. True again.
Finally, in the evening we had drinks at the outdoor bar near the pool. There were some families meeting there and a a few 20-somethings but no loud noise at all. The pool looked nice though we never used it. The bartender (I feel terrible as I cannot remember his name!) was fantastic and mixed reasonably priced, great drinks that he seemed to time perfectly when we were ready for the next one.
All in all, I would definitely chose this hotel for a one or two night layover if heading out somewhere else from St. Thomas. Nothing fancy, but I can report nothing bad about our experience. The room WAS over $200, but you have to consider the fact that it is HIGH SEASON and after all, in the Virgin Islands. Can't really expect it to be cheap!

Room Tip: Don't wait till the last minute to book and we were very impressed with Hotels.com's service. We did call in rather than book on line though and their agent was great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good Location but not a good hotel. Rented 2 rooms our room was OK but the other couple requested a room change. Went to take a shower and the water was brown. Let the water run for a while but did not clear up. Called the front desk and was told it was being fixed. So no shower and off to eat. Ate dinner came back to find no hot water - so jooined the ants and went to sleep. Next morning had hot water. When we checked out asked if any discount for having no hot water or potable water. Was told a free taxi ride to airport ( $2.00) when we said we had a rental car and did not need a taxi-nothing else was offerred to compensate for the lack of water. It was like you are a tourist and probably won't be coming back. Well they were right on one part I won't be going back. But I do go to St. Thomas on a regular basis- but not to the Windward.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1traveler1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for one night before going to the BVI to board a catamaran for the week. The room was clean and comfortable for one night. It faced the harbor and had great view of the water. You have a mian highway in front of the hotel but the water view still made us feel like we had "arrived" at the islands. It is an older feel and very "island" like... basic and not plush. If you want the Hyatt/Marriott resort experience, this is not for you. However, you will pay double+ so this is a fair priced hotel for what you get. Great location as we walked with our luggage to get the ferry to Tortola. The night before we walked to get dinner and do some shopping. Taxi was only needed from the airport which is not far away. Pool on the inside deck was small but nice. Had good drinks at the outside bar the first night. But beware of breakfast.. two of us got breakfast (egg/potatoes and bagel/coffee) and it was $22 (can live with that), but then the other 2 of us were late trying to get breakfast at 1050 am but was told it stops at 11 am. The very nice waiter went to ask the kitchen if they could fix us anything and the answer was NO. He was nice enough to offer a fruit plate to share and 2 yogurts which we were happy with until the bill for $26 came! Fruit plate for $8.50; little smaller cup of yogurt for $5 each! and one coffee for $3 and one juice plus tax. Wish we had seen the local fruit stand across the street with wonderful looking fruit to purchase. If you are staying more than a few days, I would look on the Magens Bay side of the island and not stay in Charlotte Amalie. There are more options for hotel rooms and condos which would be nicer if this is your main vacation location. Otherwise if you are passing through and don't want to pay resort prices, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews