We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second day worse than the first!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second day worse than the first!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I checked in yesterday, and was disapointed among other things for the dirty bathroom. Also, when I reserved the hotel, my husband reserved a king bed. Today I went to the front desk to see if we could solve the issues. As to the hairs and dirt, they said maintenance would soon clean the room, that they would advice them.

As to the king bed issue, they said that our reserving a king bed was just a request, and they were not obliged to honor it. They allege that they have no rooms with king beds available. The front desk lady said there was nothing she could do. She was extremely rude. We have had to sleep on separate beds in our vacation. Should we have known that there were no king beds, we would never have stayed here. Why would you go on vacation to more unconfortable than at home? This hotel is old, dirty, has rude staff and don't comply with the contractual obligations made at the time of reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosaenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    162
    195
    113
    122
See reviews for
125
246
52
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We reserved through Travelocity for a king size bedroom. To our surprise when we entered the room we found 2 full size beds. The hotel's response was even more incredible...the reservation is a "request" that they decide whether they can fullfil or not. Oh, I did not see any renovations although the building, bed, pillows, sheets, towels, etc are dated.

Beware of meal pricing, a simple (6 item) breakfast buffet is $20.00 as well as an ice cream scoop with a piece of a simple cheesecake.

One positive, the hotel offers free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajera00953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I just checked in at the hotel, after a long day. I got room 430. I was looking forward to a hot shower. The shower walls and floor were full of short hairs. The water in the shower didn't drain well, so I was showering with a pool of water. My husband fell asleep waiting for the tub to drain. The towels were stained, and the bathroom was overall dirty. The room floor was also unclean. I don't feel confortable walking barefoot, dreading I might get some sort of disease. The tv is from the 80's, and many channels don't work. It is only 8:30 pm, and there is very loud music and screaming. Tommorow I will request a room change, to see if we just had bad luck, but from what I am living today, I would never stay here and would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosaenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I reside on a neighboring island and decided to stay at the hotel for one night. Check in was very slow. When we finally got to our room we were greeted by buckets and a wet floor. There were buckets under the obviously not working a/c unit. We immediately phoned the front desk only to be second guessed. They sent a maintenance man to access the situation. He seemed genuinely surprised to find that our story was true and he said that he would be back with a key for another room. So said, so done. The other room was nice enough but the windows were not sound proofed and we were serenaded by the sounds of revving scooters around the corner, and an early morning steel pan processional. Even during check out when they inquired as to our stay and I told her about the ordeal nothing else was done and it was brushed off as no big deal.

No additional provisions were made on our behalf to fix the situation and it is safe to assume that if we had caused a scene and threw a hissy fit we would of had better customer service. It shouldn't take that extreme to be justly treated...especially in your own country.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a recent sail in the BVI. The location is near the water, however at night the area is a bit scary to be walking around in. The front desk is a bit slow, however your on the an "island mon"! We ate both breakfast and lunch at the hotel and it's nothing I would go bragging about. The beer was cold though!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you, we appreciate all of our guest feedback that reaches in a timely manner. It is important for us, as we utilize our guest comments to consistently improve our hotel. Since your visit from Jan. 2012, we have made several improvments to the hotel with a new room renovation, guest amentities, new restaurant features and menus. We look forward to your next visit if you passing from St. Thomas onward to the BVI's.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE, BAD SERVICE, CRIMINAL EMPLOYEES, ONE OF THE WORST LOCATIONS on the ISLAND. Great view but do not step outside at night unless you want to get mugged. Sirens go off at all hours around the hotel, I grew up in Oakland, CA and the island trash is just as bad if not worst.

Room Tip: Find a hotel on red hook instead if your staying on this island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your response, it is unfortunate to read your opinion. Our hotel is directly in the heart of Charlotte Amalie and has the attraction of shopping, ferries and sea planes to other islands. We are located directly on the main traffic roads of the island. The concern of your comment in regards "criminal" employees I would like to discuss with you. Please send me an email via tripadvisor or info@windwardpassage.com to discuss this directly. We are a very professional hotel and seek the highest of service standards for our employees.
We wish you the best in your choice of hotels and certainly hope you give us another attempt for hospitality on St. Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great hotel, great location. Needed a place to stay for the night after getting off the ferry from Tortola and this was just perfect. Especially great with the special pricing for the fall. We did not try out the restaurant so I don't have any feedbackk on that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. We are the ideal location for all guests with inter-island transport to the BVI's, St. Croix, etc... if its by ferry or seaplane we are the place to stay. We look forward to your next visit.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Property: Windward Passage Hotel
Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing