We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Overraited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a recent sail in the BVI. The location is near the water, however at night the area is a bit scary to be walking around in. The front desk is a bit slow, however your on the an "island mon"! We ate both breakfast and lunch at the hotel and it's nothing I would go bragging about. The beer was cold though!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you, we appreciate all of our guest feedback that reaches in a timely manner. It is important for us, as we utilize our guest comments to consistently improve our hotel. Since your visit from Jan. 2012, we have made several improvments to the hotel with a new room renovation, guest amentities, new restaurant features and menus. We look forward to your next visit if you passing from St. Thomas onward to the BVI's.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE, BAD SERVICE, CRIMINAL EMPLOYEES, ONE OF THE WORST LOCATIONS on the ISLAND. Great view but do not step outside at night unless you want to get mugged. Sirens go off at all hours around the hotel, I grew up in Oakland, CA and the island trash is just as bad if not worst.

Room Tip: Find a hotel on red hook instead if your staying on this island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your response, it is unfortunate to read your opinion. Our hotel is directly in the heart of Charlotte Amalie and has the attraction of shopping, ferries and sea planes to other islands. We are located directly on the main traffic roads of the island. The concern of your comment in regards "criminal" employees I would like to discuss with you. Please send me an email via tripadvisor or info@windwardpassage.com to discuss this directly. We are a very professional hotel and seek the highest of service standards for our employees.
We wish you the best in your choice of hotels and certainly hope you give us another attempt for hospitality on St. Thomas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great hotel, great location. Needed a place to stay for the night after getting off the ferry from Tortola and this was just perfect. Especially great with the special pricing for the fall. We did not try out the restaurant so I don't have any feedbackk on that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. We are the ideal location for all guests with inter-island transport to the BVI's, St. Croix, etc... if its by ferry or seaplane we are the place to stay. We look forward to your next visit.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Windward Passage Hotel in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. The guest service staff was so friendly and they made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We had a wonderful server named Juan Squiabro at the hotel's restaurant. He was awesome!!! A really nice guy who catered to our every need. He was the epitome of great customer service and exhibited true Virgin Islands culture!!! We will definitely be back and Juan has to be our server!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your business. We will share your opinion with our team on a job well done! We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and the island of St. Thomas.

sincerely,
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Windward Passage is in an excellent location with friendly staff. Conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, the airport and ferry service. Best location in Charlotte Amalie and very nice accomodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the travel review. We appreciate our guest feedback and insight for all guests to read. Our location is wonderful for business, shopping, inter-island connections for guest passing to another destination of the USVI or BVI.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The service was ok overall, but Juan the bellhop/server showed us the most attentiveness. He is experienced in the surrounding shops and restaurants, very polite, respectful, friendly, and had great care with our luggage. Later in our stay Juan was also our server, and with great pleasure, the food was hot and tasted wonderful. Additionally Maryln and Sophia at the front desk we're kind and accommodating.

Room Tip: Avoid the East side, no view. First two floors are remodeled, the 3rd and 4th floors smell their age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The good - The hotel was clean and room was nice. Location was very convenient. Staff was extremely friendly.

The bad - I was on a business trip and keeping in contact with my company and being able to work is crucial. Half the time I was here the internet was down, the other half it was barely there! For this reason alone I would never stay here again for a business trip. This was extremely frustrating!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
5.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $203 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. Currently the hotel is open only for first responders, business owners, and relief efforts only. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing