We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days in St Thomas,USVI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A few days in St Thomas,USVI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very well located especially if you are in transit between the USVI and the BVI and St John and also St Croix.
Staff are friendly and service is fine.An effort seems to be made by the operators to keep the Hotel up to date,but it has been in Charlotte Amalie for many years and the physical appearance in less than imaginative.....nevertheless everything worked just fine and everything was clean on my visit and the rates were very fair.I would definately stay there again especially if in transit to another Island as the transport facilities are within walking distance,both Ferries and Seaplanes.

Room Tip: SE side quieter and water-facing rooms not as quiet but nevertheless seem better.Very good location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constantsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight T, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your business and letting us know how we can do it better. Our clients are very important for us and we’re committed to deliver the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    162
    195
    113
    122
See reviews for
125
246
52
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I am currently staying at this Hotel. The people who work in the Hotel have been extremely nice, but the owner or owners need to be honest. The price is not worth the stay. There are so many shanti clubs in the back of the Hotel and the music from the clubs is booming loud. It seems that the tourism department does not care to keep the clubs in control and the planning department of St Thomas does not care to keep St Thomas as a Precious Jewel. I am sad to write this post this is my mother's birth home. I used to spend so many summers here. I am so surprised this Hotel is so expensive but not worth the cost. I am so disappointed. Rent a car or use a taxi and stay on the East side of the island.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lei14lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight T, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Sorry don’t meet your expectations. Thank you for your business and letting us know how we can do it better. Our clients are very important for us and we’re committed to deliver the best service. Please contact me directly on your next trip to St. Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Level Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm sure this place used to be something back in its day. Rooms are small but air conditioner works well. Neighborhood in back is the slums. Easy 5 min walk to resturants & eating places. We stayed here because of the walking proximity to the water ferry going to Roadtown, St John to get our catamaran rental. The in Hotel resturant was a painful ordering process with slooooww service and poor food quality. The clam chowder tasted like cheese soup. My red snapper was like the frozen type you get in the fish section at Albertsons. Fun, in the compound, pool to relax and cool down. The bar is adequately stocked.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gasman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

A destination wedding was planned with St. Thomas USVI as the destination, 2 hotels were suggested, the wedding venue a Marriott Frenchman...or the Windward Passage. Deciding, Not to blow the whole budget on a hotel while on holiday, the lesser expensive hotel was chosen.
We were somehow booked in a suite which was much larger than the 3 Harbor side rooms we saw. Our room had a partial view of the harbor as well as other parts on the city and hilly country side. Our room was clean and hotel staff was responsive. The on-sight restaurant was mediocre but such were most dining experiences on the Island.

If your wish is for a central location, shuttle services, and security the Windward Passage is your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel is dated. Room looked out onto junk yard filled with old toilets. Close to frenchtown which is a five minute walk away. Overall it was ok but I only stayed two nights and that was more than enough. Service average but bartender was cool.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at this waterfront hotel at the end of of sailing charter. We took the ferry from Road Town Tortola to Charlotte Amalie. This hotel is literally across the street from the ferry terminal and about 10 minutes walk from the best shopping area of Charlotte Amalie known as a little Switzerland.

The rooms were very large with a terrific view of the Harbour. The king bed was large, very comfortable and very welcome after sleeping on a boat for a week. This room was equipped with a bar fridge and coffee maker. The hair dryer was NOT working and NOT REPAIRED OR REPLACED even after I notified the front desk.

We did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband. It is a quick and inexpensive safari (taxi) ride from the airport. This hotel is directly across the street from the water, but not a swimming beach. I think it is worth it to have a Harbor View Room. We did not originally book a Harbor View Room, but when we checked into the hotel, we were given a room with two beds instead of one king that we booked in advance. They changed us to a king room and upgraded us to a Harbor View. The sunrise and sunset views were gorgeous. The room was clean and updated, but there might be some rooms that have not been updated yet (not sure). The room also had a balcony.
It is a short walk to restaurants and shops. The hotel has a restaurant, swimming pool, bar and a very small "casino." There is a bbq food vendor across the street. The food was not bad, but only okay.
The hotel also provides a free shuttle to Magan's Bay Beach. Note that you have to pay an entrance fee to the beach (the driver will collect the fee). The free shuttle is definitely worth it if you don't rent a car.
Many thanks to the hotel and staff for such a pleasant and unforgettable stay in St. Thomas.

Room Tip: The Harbor View Room offers unforgettable views of sunrise, sunset, cruise ships, sea planes and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mango_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Property: Windward Passage Hotel
Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing