We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, down scale room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, down scale room.”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The owners of the place are very nice. I can tell they are hardworking people. This place has so much potential! I hope they keep working at it. The room was pretty small and shabby. I would be OK with that if it was completely clean, but it wasn't. The bathroom vents steam into the room (and the dirtiest thing in the room is the long rectangular "window" between the room and the shower). The balconies were nice and clean and they do have a view. I would suggest bamboo screens between adjacent balconies. A little paint, better cleaning, and small things like baskets for soaps or window box flowers... Consider giving people small discounts for bringing things like that to you from the states. Breakfast was simple and quite wonderful. We paid one hundred seventy five dollars per night and that was a little steep for this down scale accommodation. The neighborhood around the hotel has a bad reputation but the immediate area seemed fine. Oh yeah - lots of steps to get to the bottom floor of Galleon House (but good exercise). Herve Restaurant seemed a little out of place - it is right below Galleon House but it is much more upscale - highly recommended place to eat. Overall, I could recommend this as a 2 star place to stay, just know what to expect - it's a place to sleep while you spend most of your day and night doing things on the island. We stayed at a much nicer place after Galleon House but we payed almost double.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HPangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    137
    60
    30
    37
See reviews for
36
202
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Though it's a hike up the steps, it's well worth it. Besides, after a day or two, your body will adjust and you will love your stay. With a great breakfast included, it was the best value for the money. I had the Queen room with the Harbor View. It was very comfortable and very spacious! I especially loved the balcony overlooking the Charlotte Amalie harbor. It was breathtaking in all types of weather. From dawn to dusk, in full sunlight and a total downpour, I enjoyed the experience immeasureably.
The staff was very friendly, the pool is the best on the island and the value was incredible!
I will definitely go back to the Galleon House the next time I visit this great Island!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfficerandGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We booked a really inexpensive room with no view. Did NOT realize it meant NO window. Upgraded to a much nicer room for 20 dollars thaty came with a patio.
Room was comfortable and cool without AC (think it had AC but we did not try it)
Resaurant next door- Herve- was great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Not counting who I think was the owner, the woman (girl) working here was very rude. Snotty is more like it. Sarcastic. The worst treatment I've had at a hotel and I've been traveling now for 3 months, a different place almost every night. The bed was saggy but comfy, the cable was out for awhile, the electricity for awhile, with no explanations given. No help and no smiles, just sarcastic, rude remarks. I would never stay here again. The breakfast was good, but not friendly service by any means. Old, boutiquey hotel which is fine, but service is where its at, right? NOT pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyagers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the made to order breakfast! The pancakes are awesome! It s worth scheduling your trip around the 8-9:30 breakfast times. We stayed in the cheapest room that had it's own bathroom. It was very simple and could use some updating. The neighborhood is dangerous at night so do not expect to be able to walk around unless it is day time. If you rent a car like we did and then it is no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaelaannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We arrived from BVI late afternoon..we only had 1 night in St. Thomas and for sure we wanted to make the most out of it. I had asked Beth, who if you may say was the front desk staff for information on the best places to go to (considering it was a Sunday). She answered the question as if she were on a quiz bee. Our conversation did not last probably more than a minute since she had turned her back on me...perhaps she might have been busy finishing the little bead stuff she was selling or whatever. I thought she was rude and a bit snobbish. The owner, Sandi was great. Breakfast was good. Will probably stay here again. PS::: Herve was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandykat3
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We went to St Thomas for my cousin's wedding and stayed here. We absolutely loved it! The service was good, breakfast alone was worth getting up for, and our view from our room was like no other. The rest of my family were staying at the resorts on the beaches, but we were right in the middle of everything! The open-air market, Havensight, Blackbeard's castle was right next door! The owners were beyond accommodating to our needs. The beach is just a 20 minute cab ride away. We loved it and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandykat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.5 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing