We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little Gem in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little Gem in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

we spent one night here and thought the place was perfect.
the staff were very friendly, rates were great, rooms perfectly clean and a free & delicious breakfast in the morning served on a deck with a beautiful view. what more can you ask for. I was a bit concerned about what others had said on trip advisor about being so many stairs to drag your luggage up. But when we arrived it was not nearly as bad as some others had made it out to be. there are a few stairs to climb, it would be a challenge for someone in a chair or with joint problems. If not then the stairs are absolutely no problem.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat, hope it does not change.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krystal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    134
    59
    30
    37
See reviews for
36
200
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location close to it all. This is nearby to 99 steps and there are a lot of steps, I think 87 to our room. Getting the baggage up was not fun. View was great. Breakfast was terrific. The pool is clean, we had a good nights sleep. We were able to walk downtown easily and then BACK up the hill to the 87 steps. I would do it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemont, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The room and grounds were very clean. The breakfast was great every morning there. The location is walking distance to the entire city. Chris and Gail were excellent. Had a wonder full visit. The one draw back would be the stairs in the middle of the afternoon. But the rest far made up for it.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars extra and get one of the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

There are a lot of steps. 97, in fact to our terrace(balcony) room which was the highest in the place. If you are out of shape, have bad knees, etc, this is a hike! (I'm 63 and made it with a bag in the 45 lb range). Our room was clean and no sign of any bugs. There are rooms on the first level that appeared very small and old and may be the basis for some of the complaints I read here. My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs (our preferred lodging) all over the states. This was not the most luxurious or the worst but was a very good value for the money! Breakfasts were good and staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The terrace (balcony) rooms cost a little more but they have good views and are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was worried about staying here, so much so that I asked to visit our room before we checked out of our suite at the Marriott. We were travelling at a time that a visitor had a gripe with the establishment and prompted some pretty wicked reviews. All fears calmed. No, it is not the Ritz Carlton, but neither will you pay as much for a stay here. It is a quiet friendly B&B that caters to their nice guests. The stairs are plentiful, pack lightly, not for persons with mobility issues. Coming from the Marriott where I paid six dollars for a 2 liter diet coke, it was nice to get a free breakfast and not feel like I was being nickeled and dimed to death. Was given great suggestions on dining options with nightly food trucks nearby. Best part of the trip was floating in the pool while Jeff ran the stairs bringing us two dollar beers when we needed refills. Quiet, casual and relaxing. I just might skip the Marriott next time and stay here, centrally located, great accessibility to taxis, busses, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKIVALE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Tortola. It was very basic and old, but clean. The breakfast was very good and service is quite friendly. Must warn you that there are a lot of stairs!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljv32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed here for my short stay in St. Thomas and was pleasantly surprised. It's a bit tricky to locate but once you arrive the service is great. Gayle, one of the managers is very friendly and the property is very reasonable for the price. We had a great view from our hotel room and the complementary breakfast was delicious!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.2 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing