We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife & I just spent five nights at the Galleon house. When the taxi dropped us off and we saw all the stairs, we were very surprised, but we knew we had to get to the top to check in. We were given the room with the best view, and they were not kidding. I would of had to pay a great deal more for this balcony and bedrooom view. It was magnificent. Breakfast was cooked to order each morning and was great, with each dish having very fresh fruit. We went to the downtown area everyday and walked back and forth at least twice a day and we just adapted to the steps There are a great number of steps but it just the exercise you need. The pool was really clean and really nice.
Thank you to Chris, Gail, & Jeff we had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 429 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location! Good views of harbor while enjoying a tasty breakfast, and good coffee.
Room was nice, AC worked good. Bed was comfy, and quite area. Lights outside keep it from needing any socket nite lites, for bathroom trips in the dark! Jeffery and Gail are very friendly.

Room Tip: Room # 102 has a great view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandessolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Galleon House was a great base for my weeks' wandering & diving around Charlotte Amalie and the US Virgin Islands. I had a great time, and thought the place lived up to its billing. My room was almost too large for one guy, the shower was huge, the view of the harbor & hills was great, and the quiet nights lent me the chance for some much-needed rest. This would be just the place for singles and young couples looking for a good place to stay while exploring. The three flights of stairs up from the street might be a bit tough on the elderly, though. Oh, and Chris, Jeff & Gail give great advice; remember to use the $2 Safari Taxis!

Room Tip: You can get a room without a bathroom for a bit less, but I preferred my own bathroom - and the huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieJonno331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I were attacked by bees while asleep in our room at the Galleon House. I woke up after being stung to discover heaps of bees next to my head and many in the bed and on the floor of the room and bathroom. (I have a photo, if you doubt my description.) We have tried repeatedly to speak with the owner to be sure future guests do not have this experience AND to receive a discount on our stay (we rushed out before breakfast was served, as you can imagine). But he refuses to respond. The hotel staff were kind and sympathetic but the owner appears to be only concerned about taking the money and not with customer service. He is lucky we are not allergic to beestings or he would have a death on his hands.

Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I arrived on 30 August for a one night stay. The area is "historic" and this means a few things you should be aware of. The facility is several flights of stairs from the street, which is difficult if you are elderly or out of shape and carrying bags. There is limited parking during the day as it is in the Government building area. The room was a room, clean and tidy, but nothing unique or special. The staff at the time - Jeff - was very friendly and helpful with dinner suggestions.

The bad ending came in the middle of the night (0330) when I woke after being stung on the elbow. I didn't see the culprit and didn't want to wake my wife, figuring it was an aggressive mosquito. It wasn't. My wife woke at 0630 when she was stung on the neck and woke to find a "clump" of bees on the bed in front of her face. While some of them seemed to be alive, the majority of them were more than lethargic and apparently dying. Suffice it to say, she was somewhat upset. We also found several more dead ones on the bedroom and bathroom floor.

We brought this to Jeff's attention, who was not thrilled with the idea and discussed it with his boss when she arrived. She attributed it to the city cutting weeds in a nearby field and spraying (which probably accounts for the dying bees). We left as soon as we could (well before checkout time).

Despite both my wife and i being stung (and fortunately not allergic), there was no mention of any refund or discounted amount. And the owner of the establishment has yet to contact us about how we are doing.

Room Tip: Lots of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I loved it. Spacious rooms, great view of the town and a incredible staff. The only issue is your a bit away from the center of town, but for such a great price im satisfied. After our wedding my fiance and i plan on vacationing in St Thomas again. We'll definitely stay at the Galleon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLover0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I arrived at the Galleon on 11th June and stayed 5 nights. I arrived very late but staff were flexible and very friendly. I was there for a family funeral and my aunt insisted on staying with me for 4 nights as it can be a little dangerous in downtown Agnes Fancy but staff were relaxed and did not ask for more money or make us feel uncomfortable. They even gave her breakfast on 3 mornings as part of the price. The room was spotless and the bed was fantastically comfortable. There was a lovely pool, but beware the mozzies, and staff signposted us to activities in the bar or local area every day. The hotel was very well situated too right in the centre of Charlotte Amalie. The only down side is that there are lots of steps up and this is not great for the elderly or disabled. A good value, safe and friendly spot for tourists and travelers alike. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: My room did not have any windows but it was very pleasant nevertheless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison01924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $98 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing