We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfront Highway

Waterfront Highway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Otherwise known as Kyst Vejen, this shop-filled road runs parallel to the waterfront.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Drive”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great drive during the day or evening - lots to see. Look at the cruise ships coming and going, by night everything is beautifully lit up. The red pirate boat leaves for the evening lit up for a booze cruise. Many restaurants to choose from but parking can be an issue when busy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSchroeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
545 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“fun diversion”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We walked from our cruise ship along the waterway to Charlotte Amalie. We would highly recommend spending the 20-30 minutes instead of taking a cab. The sights were really fun and we saw some iguanas that we wouldn't have seen. Also, some really nice views and scenic pictures.

The waterfront itself is very nice - we're not shoppers so we didn't visit any of them. Instead, we took some side roads and found some very fun, interesting, and unique places to visit. The first was the Salty Dog Grille - the entrance to Blackbeard's Castle attraction. There is the Amber Museum and Hotel inside of the entrance but we didn't want to pay the $20 a person fee so we just had a couple of beers at the Grille. The El Presidente beer is great!! The people we met were friendly and we learned tons about the island - it's history and culture.

Take the 99 steps walk (which is actually 102, we counted!!). It leads to the top of the hill where Blackbeard's Castle actually is. Again, there's a fee attached to it. The scenery was plentiful and the walk relatively easy. Tons of fun. There is a couple of statues depicting freedom of the slaves that are very intense.

The walk back to the ship is sort of repetitive but you can take a shortcut that leads along the marina for different scenes and views. All in all, a very nice excursion.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Downtown Charlotte Amalie”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The vendors market is by far the best part of town, there are some good stores but most are gem and jewelry related. Be sure to go see Magic Ice which is a group of ice sculptures in a building at 25 degrees. The cost is OK but was something different to do. At the end of the 20 dollar tour you get to take home a souvenir shot glass that comes with your complimentary ice bar shot(normal tour is 16 dollars). They even have an ice slide that you can go down,. Warm ponchos, leggings and gloves were provided. You are only allowed to touch the sculptures while the gloves are on. Did not really find a restaurant that was appealing until Yacht Haven Grande.by the Havensight docks, another review due on that later. The taxi drivers were quite annoying, you can catch the dollar taxis on the main street

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss "winter" in St. Thomas!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Don't miss the newest attraction on the harbor, "Magic Ice", which opened last January. This is an amazing attraction with Caribbean and Scandinavian themed ice sculptures. You enter from the 85 degree sunshine into another world. Donning heavy parkas, gloves, and leg warmers you are transported into a magical realm of ice sculpture with mood music and creative lighting in blues, reds, and greens. Here you can see many sea creatures, including sharks and turtles carved in solid ice, along with a giant "calamari". Later on you take in Scandinavian themed sculptures such as vikings and even old St Nick! Midway through is an long bar carved of ice where you can enjoy the complimentary Cruzan rum. The ice is imported from the arctic and the carving was done on site. Truly a marvelous experience and well worth a visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Sights in St. Thomas”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

If you cross to the waterfront you can sit for hours watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie Harbor. Cruise ships, a plane that lands on the water, ferry boats, sail boats, yachts - they are all there in the beautiful turquoise water. It is a relaxing alternative to Main Street.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Highway also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Waterfront Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing