We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our room was spacious and the staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was clean and comfortable and we had an amazing view from our balcony of the cruise ships coming into port. We decided to take a walk from the hotel down to Fort Christian which proved difficult as the route we took did not have sidewalks during some portions and was a little scary with the traffic zooming by. I would suggest a taxi ride to everyone else and do not try to walk back up that hill. Food at the bar was very good and we enjoyed having some of the local beers. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetTArtistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear SweetTArtisty,

5 star review....how great is that!!!

I agree the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding Harbor Views from any resort on the Island.

Please come back soon.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    298
    140
    50
    35
See reviews for
146
337
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff was always helpful and friendly. We stayed in room Corsair 392 that we booked through bookit.com. The room seemed like it had been renovated recently and was nice. It wasn't luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable. We had linen service every other day. The view from our balcony was just spectacular.

We had our own washer and dryer, microwave, mini fridge, and stove top. The on-site fitness center and convenience store were both closed during the week we were there in April 2014.

The pool bar is very nice. Friendly staff and very easy to get along with. The bathroom at the pool was very old and small. It would be nice if it was updated to include a changing area since we arrived a little before one and check-in wasn't until 4p.

The restaurant, Room with a View, was a smidgen snooty for us and we preferred the atmosphere of the Banana Tree Grill. They have very similar food items, both have great views, steaks, seafood, wine, and are priced about the same in the mid $30s for most entries. Some appetizers could have substituted for a meal. They were $12-$16.

The island alarm clocks (roster(s)) only woke us up one morning. They start around sunrise and finish about an hour later. They do not have a snooze button...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear KeithPom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great staff - Smitty & Eva are such great people/servers/locals with helpful hints on not just food delights to enjoy but also what to take in/experience & can hook you up with paddle boarding/deep sea fishing/beaching fun things to do during your stay on this lovely Island. You'll come back to report your successes, then on to the Room With A View for dinner!! The view & food can't be beat!! And so great to have it ON SITE!

Room Tip: Go for the Harbor side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimmingelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Swimmingelf,

Thank you for taking the time to mention the resorts fantastic restaurants..... from the Pool Bar to Bannana Tree Grill to Room With A View to the Cabanna Bar you always have a great selection!

Please come back soon!

Thank you
Steve Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room and lack of compensation. The first room had mold in the bathroom. The phone also stopped working. I switched rooms only to find a musty smell in it and some mold on the bathroom tile (again!). The hotel phone is only useful for calling the front desk. Long distance calls cannot be made, which is absurd. The walls are VERY thin so you can hear your neighbors.

The hotel is located at the top of a very steep hill, which is not ideal. There are also tons of stairs and no elevator in most buildings. It wasn't fun carrying a heavy suitcase down three flights of stairs. The hotel food made me feel sick.


WHAT I LIKED: free parking, pretty view of ocean, comfortable bed, decent internet connection ($23/week).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer_iam_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear wisconsin81,

Thank you for writing. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed a number of aspects of your visit
( free parking, pretty view of ocean, comfortable bed, decent internet connection).

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide clean comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hilltop Villas. Our family spent two nights before heading to St. John for a week. Our room was very clean with amazing views. The service was friendly, the pool refreshing and clean. Ate dinner at the inexpensive restaurant (can't remember the name of it), and I thought the Greek salad I had was probably the best I've ever had. Like ever. Great cocktails, great service. Would definitely stay here again, but probably not for more than a day or two, just because we like to be closer to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailcerces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear sailcerces,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on the standard of service and accommodations our guests have come to expect from Bluebeard's Castle.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review.

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Me and my family stayed at this resort hotel for 4 days and absolutely loved it... The view is spectacular our room had two balconies as it was a connecting room... The staff is very friendly and the bell boy when u walk into the office was very helpful and courtious... This is our second stay and I would stay again.. The only con is that it's uphill and you need a taxi to get everywhere but the store and havensight shopping plaza is all within a five min radius.. coki beach was a great snorkeling spot and my kids had a blast a Lil overcrowded but great views of the fish we even seen a shark!! The food on premises is a bit pricey but good and the pool bar is the way to go they have a cheaper menu and the raspberry daquiri that Chris made was great!! All in all I give this resort a 10 you won't regret your stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tyowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear tyowe,

5 star review....how great is that!!! Thank you so much.

We are delighted to hear how much you love the Castle.

I will not add to your comments as you captured so much.....

The magic of Bluebeard's Castle is a combination of spectacular views, incredible restaurants on the property, outstanding customer service, easy access by cab to shopping and beaches.

We look forward to your return!!

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Pros-This place sits atop the hill overlooking the harbor and town with awesome views and 4 places to eat on site. Can't say enough about the staff. Very friendly but greet them with a good morning you will get one back. Don't cost nothing to be nice to people doing there job. We had a great room overlooking the harbor and would ask for if you can. We got ours by dumb luck that the lock was giving problems at our room we were to get. So thanks to dumb luck ( very nice) room was given to us, cleaning was done during our week long stay. Walked to shops each day don't advise the walk back it is a climb. The front desk was helpful in giving us short cuts and felt very safe. Big thank you to Eva at the pool bar as she was a big help with local things and places to go as well as her task. Eva and smitty were the ones we liked the most for the service.
Cons- I was a little disappointed at the shape of the tennis court areas, there are still some buildings in ruff shape but overall the resort looks nice and clean. Biggest things were no workout room was ever found and the pool was never very warm mite be due to not really having a shallow end(4') and (8') on the other end . At least look into using the solar panel's on site for heating. Even though this is not at the beach It would not stop us From staying here again as we had a lot of fun. It would be nice if the store would have been open on site for the little things or a rental car just to use for short runs to the stores by the hr. Thank you to Bluebeard's and wish you luck in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear tim g,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Bluebeards Castle and we appreciate the time you have taken to write with such nice comments.

That makes all of our hard work worthwhile!

We look forward to your return and we will have more amenities in place for you!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing