We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our second trip to St Thomas and we stayed at Bluebeard's for the second time. This time we stayed in the Pirates Pension. The resort staff was excellent. They were very friendly, knowledgeable and responsive to all of our questions and needs. Pirates Pension was very nice, everything you need is in the room, i.e., washer dryer, refrigerator, stovetop, coffeepot, toaster, etc. Our balcony faced the harbor which is an awesome sight! The resort has two very good restaurants, as well as the Cabana Bar/Grill and the poolside bar/grill. I highly recommend a rental car as Bluebeards is located on a hilltop. I found driving on the left easy to adapt to. Taxis are always available but will be costly. If we are fortunate enough to return to St Thomas, I hope we are able to stay at the Pirates Pension at Bluebeards again!

Room Tip: We stayed the first year in the Hill Top Villas and the second time in Pirates Pension. We liked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Randy_Dee,

We are so glad you returned once again to the Castle!

Your comments encourage our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

For new readers on tripadvisor: Our property is truly Historical with the most outstanding views from any hotel on the Island. Our Castle is alive with historic charm; all of our rooms were renovated 2 years ago. The spectacular historic lobby building overlooking the harbor was also completely renovated and brought back to its former glory.

We look forward to your return visit!

Thank you,

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 765 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bluebeards this weekend. After we found the place (the woman at the rental car place wasn't clear about directions and Bluebeards address online is a PO box), we got checked in with relative ease. A point about location... Bluebeard is in Charlotte Amalie, where the cruise ships come in, however, the best things to do on the island, IMO, are on the east side in Redhook (Ferrys to St. John, Better Restaurants). The place is somewhat dated but in good condition. Our room was clean and the views were awesome! We didn't eat at the Room With a View, but the poolside bar was alright. I thought it was interesting that the pools shallowest end was four feet, so I'm not sure it would be great for small children. I don't remember seeing a continental breakfast, but I didn't look that hard for it (wasn't in the lobby). The hot tub was small, compared to typical resorts. Our bed was very soft and I had read that somewhere else. If you are looking for a hard bed, you might not find it here. Overall we were pretty pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Katie O,

"Our room was clean and the views were awesome! "

"Overall we were pretty pleased with our experience".

We couldn't have said it better ourselves!

Thank you,

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We traveled to St Thomas the last week in August and stayed at Blue Beard's Castle Resort. There were 6 of us total, with 4 adults and 2 kids. We booked through RCI and were not able to get rooms by each other through RCI and the Resort was not able to accommodate this either. We had both a one bedroom and a studio for rooms and the one bedroom was much more spacious (had two full bathrooms and a dishwasher). Both had a small pullout couch which is nice for one person or two very small children but no more. The rooms were clean and had a small cook top, microwave, sink, plates, glasses, coffeemaker and silverware (the basics). There were plenty of towels and they clean rooms once a week and will bring you clean towels and kitchen needs upon request. The staff from the resort were overall accommodating.

The restaurants on the property were all really good! The pool side cabana had breakfast and lunch. Both were great food, reasonably priced ($10-15). The Bar above the pool had great burgers and sandwiches for dinner ($12-$18). The Banana Restaurant had good food but was very high priced ($40 meat plus $5-$15 per side and $15 for desserts). The fourth Restaurant was closed until October.

The pool area was nice, smaller but nice. I am not sure what it would be like in a busier season given it's size but it was cleaned daily and nice for the kids.

Overall, I would recommend this Resort. I am not sure about the price as we booked through RCI but I would stay here again. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to town and there is a good sized hill going up to the resort (maybe really difficult for small children or older adults to navigate). I would definitely recommend renting a car as I heard the taxi prices were outrageous.

Room Tip: Hill top Villas had the best view but noisy roosters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear jesric,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bluebeard's Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back as an RCI Exchange or as a renter or even as an owner!

Thank you,

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly and very helpful staff, nice and well appointed rooms, within a semi-healthy walking distance to downtown shopping in one direction and a similar walk to the supermarket.
A quick taxi ride to Morningstar beach (love it), or, sun yourself at the more than adequate resort pool.
Fine dining is available at the Room With A View restaurant. Pricing similar to restaurants in most major cities, meaning it isn't cheap but you won't get soaked unless you drink and eat like a pirate.

We did have one problem: the resort is in the midst of converting to solar energy, requiring the installation of solar panels on the roof of the buildings. The installation included making holes in the roof to attach the panels and it seems that something went wrong with covering the holes because Tropical Depression Gabriel soaked the island for 3 days and my room as well, necessitating a 1 a.m. room switch due to water making its way into our room from 4 different vantage points. Not fun. While we greatly appreciated getting into another room, it would have been nice if the resort had done something more for us, in view of the fact that we had to get out of the room for our own safety. I didn't push for anything; I think they should have offered something.
In any event, my wife and I were able to laugh about it later that day.

Room Tip: Slightly better view in Hillside II but not so drastic a difference that you would feel disadvantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeMakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear GeorgeMakris,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle (even with Tropical Storm Gabriel) and I especially appreciate your kind words about our team and well appointed rooms.

For other readers of tripadvisor I want to clarify that after the storm left and an inspection of the water intrusion was done it was not caused by any holes in the roof by our new solar panels. It was caused by a huge amount of rain arriving at once and not flowing properly in our drainage system. This has been corrected.

We would love to have you return to Bluebeard's Castle and we want to give you something special for being so nice and understanding at 1 am in the morning.

Please contact me directly prior to your next visit at 340-714-6135.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had to go to St. Thomas on short notice needed a reasonable priced place to stay. Bluebeards Castle had among the best rates.

Getting to the hotel is bit of a task. First off we drive on the left (just like the British) so pay attention or you might end up in a head on collision with a concrete truck (yes we have those). The road going up to the hillside hotel are very narrow and badly on need of resurfacing. Pay attention to the signs or you will miss the turn to the lobby and end up back at entrance at the bottom of the hill.

The staff was very friendly and efficient and had me checked in less than 10 minutes. The fact that I arrived at almost 10 pm was probably a factor. The flights from the mainland start arriving after 1 pm so you can probably expect longer check-in time if you arrive between 3 and 5 pm.

The room, which was a Pirates Pension, appeared clean and spacious. It included a small refrigerator, small electric stove, sink, microwave and apartment size washer and dryer. Be sure to let the hotel know if you have physical disabilities. Each building is multilevel and there is no elevator. My room was three flights down.

The room had a sliding glass door that opened onto a balcony which provided a very nice view of the harbor and the cruise ship dock.

The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. If I might digress for a moment, there is a misconception regarding “tropical breezes”. If you are staying on the south side of the island (like I was) and winds are blowing out of the north, you are not going to feel any. You will be glad for that air conditioner.

There is convenience store near the lobby however which you get to by stairs. On the way to the hotel I normally buy staples like water, juice, beer and snacks to you keep the room.

Now for the down side.

Even though the room appeared clean there were obvious signs of wear and tear. The coffee table and dresser were badly on need of refinishing or replacement and one of the dining chairs had ripped upholstery. The bathroom was clean, but it was clear that it was in need of refurbishing. The caulking around the tub and fixtures appeared hastily and sloppily done.

Overall the hotel was adequate. It provides clean accommodations for the short term traveler or vacationers on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Naamor,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided regarding your guest room. I have added your comments to our annual capital investment list for consideration.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Bluebeard's Castle is a unique resort with a mix of history, beauty, modern convenience and comforts in an outstanding location East of Charlotte Amalie. The recent renovations and upgrades are to a high standard with great finishes (with the exception of the bathroom which was a bit older). Hilltop II has fantastic views of the harbour and downtown Charlotte Amalie, our unit was immaculately clean with a small "full kitchen" in the studio apartment with a separate bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, though be warned the mattresses are very soft. All furnishings were new and the in room AC was great. Note there is a hefty utilities charge of US$85 a week for a studio apartment, but remember the AC is always on, and the resort is converting to Solar Power. My biggest complains are thus, the lack of signage put up by contractors when they were paving by Hilltop I, and the cockerels, whic are fed by the groundskeepng staff, making a lot of noise at dawn (between 3 and 5am depending on the weather)! Otherwise our stay was hassle free, the location is great for its convenience as well, it's close to downtown and to Yacht Haven, Port of Sale, and Havensight. It's cheaper to find a Vitran truck than to take a taxi though and there are no shuttles operated by the hotel - factor in this extra cost if you do not have a hire car. I would certainly return to Bluebeard's, it's certainly a family friendly resort and great for couples too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CompassionateSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear CompassionateS,

Thank you for writing.

We were glad to hear that you enjoyed a number of aspects of your visit, despite your disappointment with road paving signage (I am very sorry for the confusion). We have solved the signage issue and are living with our Island roosters. Nivas has the monkeys, St. John the goats and we have the roosters.

I agree the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding Harbor Views from any resort on the Island.

While not directly on the beach we do have our gorgeous outdoor pool overlooking the cruise ships and all activities taking place. Also getting to the beach is very easy due to our location.

We have numerous beach locations within a 5-10 minute drive from the Castle.

For guest who does not have a car dependable taxi service is always available.

We look forward to your return!

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort has a beautiful view, no beach, it was nice to wake up and see different cruise ships docked in the morning. It would be nice to have more dining options, the pool bar was always a nice "go to" for a quick meal. A rental car is a must unless you want to spend lots of cash on taxis; the hotel concierge was very helpful and nice in scheduling off-site excursions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmarshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear jmarshburn,

Thank you so much for writing and for your great review.

We hope that we will see you again!

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $116 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing