We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Gibsonville, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from St Thomas and our stay at BBC was great. The staff went above and beyond in making our stat enjoyable. I told them we were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and wanted to upgrade our room, they took it upon themselves to place fresh flowers in our room!! The resort is very clean, safe and well maintained. The restaurants are delicious and the staff very friendly and attentive. The views were incredibly beautiful; overlooking the city and bay, and the pool was awesome. Thank you so much for making our week in the island so special. We can't wait to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Christopher 788,

Happy Anniversary and thank you so much for writing and for sharing your thoughts on your visit to the Castle. It's so nice to hear about your excellent stay and the excellent service you received - that is what we all strive for!

We look forward to your 26th Wedding Anniversary with us.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    304
    143
    52
    37
See reviews for
149
348
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good stay, good room for longer stay at a very good price. Walk into town (but take a taxi back up the hill, too hot). Staff was always very helpful. Take advantage of concierage and special events to get aquainted with St Thomas. Taxi tour of the island with K9 Joe is a must. Sign up for it even if you are not a guest at Bluebeard's (reservations strongly recommended).
Nice pool with a view of the harbor. Relaxing after a day out and about.
Living room w/ balcony, bedroom, kitchenette and bath. Quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitingfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear visitingfireman,

Thank you so much for your terrific comments. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write.

I have to agree D'Reen and Joyce at the Concierge desk are a great wealth of information, I utilize them myself!

K9 Joe is an Island legend and we are so happy he picked Bluebeard's Castle as his base. Maybe it is our fantastic views and tranquility?

Please come back soon,

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Overall nice place, we booked last minute due to another lodging falling through. Our room was in Hilltop II. We had a nice sized room, king bed, and kitchenette. There was a safe in the room which was convenient as well. Pool was nice upstairs, did not try the restaurants. Ice makers and laundry facilities if needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear LucyG,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our king bedded room and all the wonderful amenities the rooms have to offer. On your next visit you must try the restaurants, you will be delighted!

Thank you for taking the time to write!

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

That's the best advice I can give. Room with a View is great - especially their happy our Mon - Sat 5-7pm. FYI that the restaurants have different management than the resort, which probably accounts for the good service at the restaurants.

My room was ok. Would have been a 3 star (average) except that I couldn't open the bathroom door (the toilet blocked it), my stove didn't work when I got there (due to the breaker flipping on the stove which happened 4x while I was there - couldn't even flip it back for an hour until it cooled down!) and the staff was rude most of the time. Light switch in the bathroom arced every time I turned it on. Pulled the sheet off the bed and kept it by the balcony in case I had to make an emergency exit - since this unit was clearly a fire hazard. No, I'm not trying to be funny.

Thought it was somewhat odd that the staff kept knocking on my door several mornings to see if the unit was 'occupied' - I promptly told them yes, it was always occupied. Later on in the week someone told me they had their watch stolen from their unit.

Its a historic property - and that's cool. The outdoors on this property look nice - which is also cool. The restaurants here are great. The resort staff is pretty much hit or miss - mostly miss - there were 1 or 2 ppl that went out of their way to be nice and make accurate suggestions. The rest were ambivalent and gave me completely wrong information. Don't even think about staying here if you don't rent a car unless 1) you want to pay a a rude taxi driver who pretends like s/he doesn't even know where you are going (although they've lived there most of their lives) or 2) you want to climb up or down some really steep hills.

Next time I visit St. Thomas I'll stay somewhere else. There are plenty of other places to stay, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Knitey,

Thank you for your recent review of Bluebeard's Castle. We take all guest feedback very seriously.

I would be delighted to discuss your experiences further and I may be reached via email at sbuckley@spmresorts.com or directly at 340-774-1600. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you and learn more about your recent time with us.

To all Trip Advisor readers and future guests we encourage conversation while you are visiting to resolve any situation that may be unsatisfactory to you. Your satisfaction is our #1 priority.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

THis has been our 3rd year staying at bluebeards, the first year as a guest and the past two years as owners. The feeling is allways as if you are at home. The food , accomodations, staff , locality are top notch. It is affordable for the average family and will leave you longing for the time when you can return!!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Judi O,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review. We love to hear from our unit owners as well as from our rental friends.

As you know the Castle is perfect for almost everybody. We are so fortunate to have folks like yourself that fell in love with Bluebeard's Castle and decided to make it a second home.

We look forward to your return!

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was not my first stay at Bluebeard's castle, I had been there in the past. I was there this time to meet friends on the beach for a Thanksgiving Day Holiday Picnic away from the cold. I stayed 10 days. I love the history in Charlotte Amille. I have always appreciated the historic site and scenic view. I appreciate being able to walk to town for stores and activities. I don't like the pool as much as some other resorts in St. thomas due to the ratio of guests using it to square footage available, but it is refreshing. I was very impressed by the room improvements that have been made in the last few years and ongoing, bringing the place back to a state of pride. I stayed in Hilltop II this time which I loved, loved! The room was fresh, furnishings very modern, and smelled extremely clean every where. I have allergies/asthma and some places with tropical weather have hints of mold or mildew. The view from all the rooms in this section is breathtaking. Frogs, Chickens, and Iguanas visit right outside your balconey! The staff (desk/housekeeping/porters) was wonderfully friendly and informative. The various restaurant operating hours are convenient. I really like how they had the activity descriptions and speakers at the beginning of the week. I was impressed by the offering of expertise exercise, mild yoga classes although I admit I slept in and didn't make it to one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rexy5K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Rexy5K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bluebeard's Castle.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments!

"The room was fresh, furnishings very modern, and smelled extremely clean every where"
"The staff (desk/housekeeping/porters) was wonderfully friendly and informative"
" I was very impressed by the room improvements that have been made in the last few years and ongoing, bringing the place back to a state of pride"

We look forward to welcoming you back .

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just stayed there last weekend during the islands independence celebration because the hotel is within walking distance. This was not my first trip to the island or my frist stay at this hotel , but it will be my last. I ordered a burger from the bar, asked for the burger well done. One half was cooked perfectly the the other half not cooked red inside and out. when I returned the bar and showed the cook and the manager who also happened to be bartentering the cook was like so and all the bartender asked was do you want another, not to mention the ginderale my sister ordered was not only flat but when sher asked for less ice in the glass he stranded the soda from the glass instead of given her a fresh order and poured it back over the ice in the same glass. Sad. The following morning we went to the pool bar for breakfast since with four resturants this was the only one open and it just happened to be running really hard and you had to walk outside around the pool to get to the area where the setup is. It took the bartender also doubling as a waiter to come and give us a menu no sliverware, placemats, water,coffee nothing. we sat for at least 10-12 minutes. before we even were noticed we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Gloria K,

We are very sorry about the poor service you received at the Pool Bar Restaurant. We will pass along your comments to the owner of the Pool Bar Restaurant; Michelle.

We do hope you will consider our outstanding accommodations when you visit the Island.
again.

The Island famous Banana Tree Restaurant and Room With A View only open for dinner. The Cabana Bar opens in the afternoon.

All restaurants at Bluebeard's Castle are independently owned.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing