We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just stayed there last weekend during the islands independence celebration because the hotel is within walking distance. This was not my first trip to the island or my frist stay at this hotel , but it will be my last. I ordered a burger from the bar, asked for the burger well done. One half was cooked perfectly the the other half not cooked red inside and out. when I returned the bar and showed the cook and the manager who also happened to be bartentering the cook was like so and all the bartender asked was do you want another, not to mention the ginderale my sister ordered was not only flat but when sher asked for less ice in the glass he stranded the soda from the glass instead of given her a fresh order and poured it back over the ice in the same glass. Sad. The following morning we went to the pool bar for breakfast since with four resturants this was the only one open and it just happened to be running really hard and you had to walk outside around the pool to get to the area where the setup is. It took the bartender also doubling as a waiter to come and give us a menu no sliverware, placemats, water,coffee nothing. we sat for at least 10-12 minutes. before we even were noticed we left.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gloria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Gloria K,

We are very sorry about the poor service you received at the Pool Bar Restaurant. We will pass along your comments to the owner of the Pool Bar Restaurant; Michelle.

We do hope you will consider our outstanding accommodations when you visit the Island.
again.

The Island famous Banana Tree Restaurant and Room With A View only open for dinner. The Cabana Bar opens in the afternoon.

All restaurants at Bluebeard's Castle are independently owned.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Bluebeard's Castle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 765 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for over a week. We love the panoramic views from everywhere at the resorts. We ate at both fine dining restaurants and had great meals.

We did rent a car AND got the insurance. This was a great convenience.

They continue to make many improvements. We did love having the store on site.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jadams1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear jadams 1016,

Thank you so much for your terrific comments. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write.

We agree the Banana Tree Grill and Room With A View restaurants are excellent. And of course the panoramic views are breathtaking.

We look forward to your next visit when you will see even more improvements as we continue to fine tune our historic property.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is rated a Silver Crown as a time share. I really don't understand how this hotel got that high of a rating. The studio we stayed in was clean for the most part. We had a partial kitchen, which meant we had about 4 feet of kitchen, with the smallest sink I have ever seen. The air conditioner is located inside your room so you hear it all night. You also hear your water heater which is located inside the closet. There furniture did not match and some was new and some was old. The staff was friendly but the accommodations they mention on the web don't really match up. Yes there are two restaurants on site, they are both very average. There is a pool, a very small pool. The website mentions a tennis court, the condition of the tennis court was the worst I had very seen. There is mention of an onsite store, be prepared it doesn't have much in it.

The hotel is located on a very steep hill. You might think that it looks very close to the water, but its really not. There is not a beach within 30 minutes. So we ready to drive or take a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNewcombMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear KNewcombMoore,

We value each and every comment from our guests and it was disconcerting to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

For other Trip Advisor Readers:

The location of the Castle gives the most outstanding Harbor Views from any resort on the Island.

While not directly on the beach we do have our gorgeous outdoor pool overlooking the cruise ships and all activities taking place. Also getting to the beach is very easy due to our location.

We have numerous beach locations within a 5-10 minute drive from the Castle.

For guest who does not have a car dependable taxi service is always available.

Two of our restaurants Banana Tree Grill and Room With A View have been rated among the top 10 restaurants on the Island and are truly spectacular.


Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Bluebeard's Castle Resort is conveniently located within a short walking distance of downtown Charlotte Amalie and has spectacular views of the harbor. Our standard room was clean, comfortable and had a nice balcony and convenient kitchenette. We especially appreciated the in-room waher dryer after a long day at the beach. The pool was not large, but was just fine for us. The restaurants on property were all very good. We enjoyed breakfast by the pool where the food is reasonable and fresh. The Banana Grille and Room With a View both offer happy hour appetizer specials that are very affordable and delicious. I loved the calamari, olive tampenade and pasta selections. The resort also has a work out facility and general store (very convenient for forgotten sunscreen and snacks!) Beautiful Magens Bay and Sapphire Cove beaches are a short drive away. For added fun, I'd suggest that you take one of the many unique locals taxi which cost only $1-$2 per person. For a delicious flavor of local cuisine in downtown Charlotte Amalie, I absolutely recommend both Gladys' Cafe or Cuzzin's. Yummy!!

Some parts of the resort could use a little face lift and some of the front desk help could be a little friendlier, but overall we had a great stay and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor with a private balcony. The resort is on a hill, so it's an easy w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathrynS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Kathryns56,

Thank you for writing. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed a number of aspects of your visit.

Being such a historic property we are always updating and refurbishing and as you say a "little face lift" is going on all the time.

Wait until you return and see all the "face lifts"!

Thank you so much for noticing the Castle Store it makes things so much easier for all guest.

We truly love our restaurants as they have the most outstanding selections daily. Happy Hour is an Island favorite and draws wonderful people from all over.

The Island Taxi service is fantastic you are able to get around and not have to think about parking.

And of course our views are the most outstanding from any resort on the Island.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful checkin staff, very accomodating. Resort is lovely, grounds, flowers, well maintained. Amazing view of the harbor, sits on the top of the hill. Sunrises and sunsets are awe inspiring. Rooms are clean, ours had a wonderful kitchenette so we could save money cooking our own meals. Clean towels provided everyday. Restaurants on site are fabulous, don't miss Room with a View or the desserts in the smaller restaurant by the pool. Pool is lovely, clean, warm water. I would stay here again in a heart beat! We had a chance to meet some of the Board of Directors and they were all lovely people who have done their best to make this a deightful place to stay. Give this place a chance, it is inexpensive, friendly, clean and the best views on the island. Also close to airport. Taxi's readily available and also inexpensive.

Room Tip: Not any bad ones that we know of.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clinicphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Clinicphn,

WOW you made our day. Please know all reviews/comments are shared with all team member's.

Please come back soon.

Thank you so much.

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a pleasant experience at this time share when we traveled in Feb 2013. As this is a time share and not like a real hotel, people have to keep in mind that they may be moved to a different room if the owner is expected to come. We had a same experience but the hotel personnel has taken care of it quiet nicely. We stayed in Hill top II and it had great views of Charlotte Amelia as well as the Ocean View. Ask for a room on the top floors, 300's or 400's the view will be great.
It has some great restaurants we had our dinner at Room with a View and the food was excellent.
Room has a small kitchen so if you want to cook then it is your choice. House keeping will only come once a week, i guess it is Wednesday and so it is our responsibility to keep surroundings clean.
Overall it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sitaram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear SitaramT,

Thank you so much for your terrific comments. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write.

We agree the views are spectacular as our location allows guest to see Charlotte Amelia,
the Cruise Ships, the Ocean and of course the Harbor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your room , with our different room types we are able to meet the needs of most guest.

The restaurants on property are outstanding, two have been voted among the top 10 on the Island Banana Tree Grill and Room With A View.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For me this is the best deal on the island. As an example, I will compare to the Marriott. The Marriott is a 5 star hotel and also has a fantastic, beautiful view. BUT, the atmosphere there is very hustle bustle, AND it's a little clique-ish which can be annoying. It's as if one is supposed to spend money to prove that one has money. That is a big NO THANK YOU to me.

None of that goes on at Bluebeard's. It's SUPER comfy, beds A/C, tubs, etc. The architecture--that of an old plantation or mansion from old times--simply inspires your soul to calm down, and it works! I literally love this place, I would marry it!! ;)

Everyone here is top as far as being genuine and congenial and natural. The view is great, the pool is nice, the pool bar is good, the food is great at the Banana restaurant and the Room with a View.

The pool is small but cute with a nifty big waterfall. It think the "bar" that stays open at night really needs a lot of work and that's the only bad mark that I would give this place. Cheeseburgers are slightly less satisfying than average.

Transportation. I generally choose to take local transportation or cabs, or walk. However this place is situated on a horrendously steep hill--most people will want to be renting a car if staying here. Remember, people drive England style on this island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Monica M,

WOW....thank you so much, your comments really mean a lot to us.

"For me this is the best deal on the island. As an example, I will compare to the Marriott. The Marriott is a 5 star hotel and also has a fantastic, beautiful view. BUT, the atmosphere there is very hustle bustle, AND it's a little clique-ish which can be annoying. It's as if one is supposed to spend money to prove that one has money. That is a big NO THANK YOU to me.

None of that goes on at Bluebeard's. It's SUPER comfy, beds A/C, tubs, etc. The architecture--that of an old plantation or mansion from old times--simply inspires your soul to calm down, and it works! I literally love this place, I would marry it!! ;)

Everyone here is top as far as being genuine and congenial and natural. The view is great, the pool is nice, the pool bar is good, the food is great at the Banana restaurant and the Room with a View."


Please come back soon.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $118 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing