We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love it here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We love it here!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been coming here every year for the past five years and my parents came here for 20 years before that. The ownership has changed for the better in the recent years and much has been improved. The rooms were redecorated, the lobby and conference room were improved, and the old castle has been renovated in the past three years. The pool bar is great when relaxing by the pool - they serve breakfast and lunch. The dungeon bar is good and has inexpensive food. The two restaurants are very nice. The Banana Tree and The Room With a View are a little more expensive, but the food is very good. You truly do get what you pay for. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear ArtTurner,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle, and that your parents enjoyed it for so many years also.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    301
    142
    50
    36
See reviews for
148
342
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed a week at the resort. The resort is located up on a hill, it is a steep climb up a road and then many flights of stairs. It has a nice view. The staff is very unfriendly. They Receptionist and Concierge don't offer any suggestions on things to do, places to visit, nor restaurants. We got great tips from the Security Guard. She was very friendly, and was not a hotel employee. Every night you have to call to have the towels changed. They only provide a change of linens once a week. We moved rooms because the first unit had a bad smell. The bed was comfortable.
The kitchen furniture was in poor shape. The bathroom faucet was not working properly, the water pressure was low.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear BayAreaTra,

We are fully committed to providing our guests a wonderful experience at the Castle and we accept our responsibility to do so. We realize that we’re only as good as our most recent effort and that like all businesses, on occasion; we may fall short of your expectations. If we do so, we sincerely hope that our guests are comfortable to reach out to us while at the Castle and allow us the opportunity to make things right. We take pride in building lifelong relationships and to making Bluebeard's Castle better each and every day.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There was no hot water and the rooms were dirty. When I checked out early due to these reasons the hotel refused to give me a refund. The property is in a shambles and needs much attention, which is a shame as the location isn't bad at all.
Overall not only would I not stay there again, but I would talk anyone I know out of going there again. It's overpriced for its value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear lostness,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the resort. We were disappointed to learn of the challenges you had with your room accommodations and that they had such a negative impact on your stay.

I have many questions after reading your email, if you'd like to continue this conversation, I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you.

Please call me at 340-774-1600 or via email at sbuckley@spmresorts.com.

Thank you for your time

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in Hilltop Villas for four days. The room was spacious and the view at our balcony is simply stunning. There is only one thing we are not happy about. Our A/C remote was broken when we came in, and when we asked for a replacement, the guy insisted it was us who broke it (for no reason!) -- very unprofessional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smth_snail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Rebegx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I agree the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding harbor and town views from any resort on the Island.

While not directly on the beach we do have our gorgeous outdoor pool overlooking the cruise ships and all activities taking place.

Unfortunately one section of the resort did loose hot water which required parts to be sent from the mainland. While we did relocate guest to other units a few guest decided not to move.
We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you encountered.

We have addressed the issues of the Front Desk that you and other guest have mentioned.

At this time all Front Desk issues have been resolved.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a fun, slightly campy place high above the city at the top of a VERY BIG HILL. The rooms were very spacious and clean with full kitchen. Four different restaurants and cafes on the grounds. Its nice to be away from the cramped streets below, but at the same time, there is nothing else nearby. No shops or restaurants to walk to. You have to take a taxi/car or walk down, then back up that big hill. I did the walk once. Once was enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Charles P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. Thank you so much for your comments. “ The rooms were very spacious and clean with full kitchen. Four different restaurants and cafes on the grounds" - how great is that!

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager







.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just got back from a 4 day trip at the Bluebeard. We thought it was very nice for the price. We didn't mind not having maid service as you can get fresh towels. I tend to agree that some of the front desk nice and some not as friendly. If only one person in line, there were on a couple occasions 3 employees standing around the desk and no acknowlegement of our existence until it was our turn to approach the desk. We stayed in Studio 122, didn't mention the last 2 days no hot water as we were in and out. Other than that we would totally stay there again. Beautiful views of the water and town. There are steep hills, but you can always taxi and we didn't think the taxis were terribly expensive. Pool Bar food and drinks very good. Can walk to Downtown shopping and the "gypsy" market. I believe those that expect a Marriot shouldn't stay, but if you are fine with simple, clean, and not on the beach than this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor if you don't want to go up and down all the stairs on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebegx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mussomo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. Our property is truly Historical with the most outstanding views from any hotel on the Island. Our Castle is alive with historic charm; all of our rooms were renovated 2 years ago. The spectacular historic lobby building overlooking the harbor was also completely renovated and brought back to its former glory.

I am sorry to hear about your bar service. Our restaurants and bars are not operated by the Castle and we seldom receive comments about poor customer service, so please know what you encountered is not the norm.

We truly appreciate your comments about the Front Desk Team that means a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle when you visit St. Thomas again.

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a great place to view the activity in the bay but it is old and in some cases needs significant maintenance. Staff in general were good but some especially in the bar were terrible. Front desk staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Pirates Pension are clearly the units you want to book for new rooms and incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
980 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
665 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing