We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. This was my first visit to the island and the location and flavor of Bluebeards was 100% St Thomas. Rates are unbeatable, rooms are larrge and comfortable, views spectacular and the restaurants superb. Will definitely stay again. Only quibble is wifi sb free. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Carol C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bluebeard's Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon.

As we say at the Castle...Welcome Home.

SPECIAL NOTE:

Dear Trip Advisor Readers and Contributors: As of today we now once again able to respond to our guest on Trip Advisor, so please share your thoughts. Congratulations to Carol C for being the first to receive a response from us on Trip Advisor.

Steve Buckley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 766 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hotel was excellent. The only thing wrong for my wife anxiety was the noise. Remember his hotel is very close to town. Around 11pm we were woken by what sounded like dog fights and loud music. Shortly followed by a poor excuse for what sounded like street racers. About every 10 minutes we would hear them. The town is shaped like an amphitheater in which it's audience is blue beards guests. If you are looking for some place quiet and on the beach book else where otherwise this hotel is great. The staff was excellent and courteous and the hotel amenities were great. If you stay here and are a light sleeper bring ear plugs

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFR Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is charming. The guest rooms ramble along the hillside and provide great views of the port and docked cruise ships...witout being too close!! It sits high atop the hillside out of the hustle bustle of streets crowded with tourists when the ships dock. Looks like 2 can dock at a time. The hotel itself is older, but the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Public spaces are very nice and all buildings are open-air. There are several restaurants on sight and the food is very, very good. You can walk to the shops in the historic city center, but be warned, it's all a steep uphill climb on the way back! One of the best features was the sound of the roosters crowing at daybreak! Loved that!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is our 3rd time to St. Thomas and our second to Bluebeard's Castle. Our first trip in 1998 was a blast. We were greeted by friendly staff, enjoyed poolside DJ's and games, karaoke, affordable trips from the hotel, and while not a superb room and pretty nice one. By comparison, I was disappointed in our trip this year. Our room was nice enough and our view spectacular, but it was not that clean and there were a number of things broken - light switch in the bathroom, deadbolt, toilet seat, sink that wouldn't drain. We called the hotel staff about them and they did come to fix them all quickly, so that was good. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our room, and the view from our balcony made it ever so much better that it was really hard to complain. We were, however, not happy with the activities at the resort this time around. One of our biggest reasons for returning was how much fun we had here last time. We really had a great time at karaoke and when the DJ was by the pool he had limbo going and contests giving away a case of rum for the first person in the pool. Everyone was having so much fun. They also had great trips that didn't cost an arm and a leg and an upbeat atmosphere that everyone enjoyed. This time around the activities consisted of karaoke (not as good as last time but fair), a Netflix movie played in the conference room, a trip to Magen's Bay (this one was a good deal at $18pp including admission) and an island tour ($35 pp). They also advertised that they had a wine and cheese tasting but it was 2 miles away at the ship docks, a movie for kids (again Netflix), and a movie on the beach ($55 per person!!), but that was it. No DJ's, no parties, no meet and greet, or anything else. On the plus side, hot tub was hot and worked great, pool was very nice (although no shallow end), and it is within walking distance to town and the ships (although it is a VERY steep hill). If you do go, and you want to get groceries, go to Kmart for your food, it is 1/2 the cost of Peublo (a box of cereal at Peublo was $9.50, and $4.50 in Kmart). Overall it was an ok vacation, and if I didn't have a previous stay here to compare it to, I would have probably rated the resort 4 stars instead of 3.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonyglb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff was great especially Beverly T. Had a room with a king sized bed and a queen sleeper and it was very comfortable for me and my son. We rented a car and explored the island. Food shopping was good not expensive. Restaurant on site was good and also the breakfast bar. The hotel was quiet and safe. Coin laundry is on the premises. If you have an aversion to stairs ask for a room on the ground floor when booking. Hotel is on a hill and the view is spectacular. Shopping is within walking distance since it is in the area where some of the cruise ships dock. Hotel is clean and the grounds well maintained. Housekeeping is there at your request. Wifi is available from an outside company and the prices are reasonable. We had a great time and would return there to stay again.

Room Tip: If possible select a room with a view of the port. Absolutely breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I went to Bluebeard's Castle and wouldn't recommend it to a friend or to anyone. It was dirty and they did into stand behind the reservation made, I ordered an upgraded room and had to stay in a standard room.

Room Tip: Don't stay there is the biggest tip I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lparsonson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice location and keep in mind it's a time share. So you don't get the daily cleaning, changing sheets, etc. And you got to pay $6.95 a day for the WIFI. Parking is free. Note there are several building complex including hill top villa, villa 1, villa 2, pirate pension, etc. We stayed on the top floor of Hill top and loved it. Beautiful view of downtown area and the bay. We saw several cruise ships in and out. and the room has all the amenities, like fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and all the plate, dishes you need to cook.
I would recommend this place to anyone. Just ignore the front desk people, they seem to be rude

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gummybeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill | **closed thru 2018 because of hurricanes Irma and Maria**, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $126 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing