We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sunrises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunrises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in pirates pension,nice rooms,washer/dryer in studio room. Kitchen with utensils and furnishings,stovetop,microwave,and all plateware etc. I walked to yachthaven and grabbed groceries and a bag of coffee at the gourmet grocery store there. Everything cost more on an island people. If you are complaining about that,stay home,noone wants you around to ruin
their vacation too.Its a pet peeve of mine,people who wallow in misery n try to share it constantly. It is a long walk,the hill is steep. We are on a MOUNTAIN. Its nice to wake up,fix breakfast ,have a coffee and watch the sun rise as cruise ships pull in,its breathtakingly beautiful. We ate twice at room with a view,one nite was my wifes birthday and Beth at concierge arranged flower delivery for me that was gorgeous!!Matt at poolbar wasvery helpful and we ate there several times. The food was great for breakfast and lunch!! We ate at shipwrecks several times,good bar food.We have been to Craig n Sallys twice before but didnt make it there this year sadly,they have a great wine list and food is crafted creatively.We went on a morning walk with beth that was really cool .We took an island tour w K9 Joe n enjoyed it.This trip was all about relaxing and other than a few jersey type ladies spewing about nothin ta do hewahh at the pool it was great.Yes there are roosters crowing. In st johns there are burros n pigs. They have bugs and humidity too. St .Thomas n St John are beautiful islands. Pour a drink or 5 and enjoy

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fooshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    298
    140
    50
    35
See reviews for
146
337
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Bluebeard's Castle Resort is the resort we chose to stay whole in ST. Thomas for our daughter's wedding. There were 28 guests staying here for the week. We all had a great time and enjoyed our stay. The pool and poolside restaurant were great! The views were outstanding. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloriacnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
292 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The winds from tropical storm Rafael would not allow our plane to land in St Thomas and our flight was cancelled. It would be two days until we could leave so we looked for a hotel. Bluebeard looked like it was a major deal so we booked it for the two night stay.

We were impressed when we arrived as it is in a really nice spot overlooking the cruise ship dock. A bellman took our bags and we proceeded to check-in. Again, beautiful views everywhere you looked and landscapes all very elegantly done. Check-in wasn’t flawless but the people were so nice and friendly that it didn’t much matter. We were driven to our room in a golf cart which was a nice touch after being jostled around at the airport. When we arrived at our room we were impressed at first; nice tropical layout, sofa, chair and table and chairs, but this wasn’t the king room we were quoted. We didn’t take issue with it as it was clean and we were VERY tired. The balcony offered up an amazing view, the bathroom was of a decent size, and the room had a ceiling fan. As tired as we were we ate at the hotel’s restaurant (VERY expensive) were that food was very tasty. We then went straight to our room to go to bed. The first night was a fairly good night’s sleep, even though the people next door were quite loud and the mattress was awful; thin and a bit lumpy. Plus, it seemed that the whole bed shook every time one of us moved. The ceiling fan squeaked at anything above low speed.

The next morning, we figured that there wasn’t going to be a maid service (there wasn’t) so that wasn’t an issue. We went to the front desk to get more coffee for the coffee maker, a taxi for an early departure, and a wake-up call. Well, it appears that the first night’s coffee is complimentary and you need to pay for it after that. Okaayyy… I’ll add that to the list of being nickel and dimed for things (ANY phone call was $1, internet access was $6/day, coffee was now at a cost…). They wrote down the wake-up call in a ledger. It didn’t inspire too much confidence on our part so we set some alarms – just in case. We were assured that a taxi would be waiting at the front desk. Once our alarms woke us up we understood that we weren’t getting our wake-up call. We got ready and hauled our bags UP to the front desk and waited for a brief time. The taxi finally did arrive and he was annoyed as he left the front desk explicit instructions to NOT make us climb up to the front desk and that he would meet us at the road. We never got that message.

Overall I guess we got what we paid for. The room was clean and adequate. Just don’t expect much in the way of service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jcharisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

On a hill above downtown Charlotte Amalie, Blue Beard's castle has some fantastic views of the Yacht Haven, and the City Below. The Staff was courteous, and their on call taxi driver, K9 Joe was always pleasant to deal with. As far as onsite entertainment goes there is a small, but surprisingly deep pool and hot tub in the middle of the hotel grounds; a bar is located poolside, and two restaurants a level higher.

That said, aside from the lounging around the pool, there is very little to actually do there. The restaurants were disappointing and VERY overpriced. The quality of food was slightly below midrange restaurants like TGIF or Ruby-Tuesdays, but prices were in the range of higher-end steakhouses.

Downtown, and the cruise ship mall offered better dining, shopping, and some bar/clubbing activities within walking distance. Unfortunately walking is made difficult by a rather strenuous hill climb, a lack of decent sidewalks, and some rather crazy drivers.

To do anything else, you pretty much have to take a taxi, which can get expensive fast, or rent a car, which, from the stories I've heard from other guests, can be a harrowing experience as well.

Also of note, the room we stayed in had very thin walls, and we could everything going on next door, which was a bit irritating at times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reifzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not a bad base for a USVI vacation. But not a resort you would want to spend most of your time at. If your plan is to lounge around the pool with limited excursions, you are better off elsewhere. Walking to downtown or the cruise dock is doable but only for the physically fit. The pool is too deep for kids. The hot tub had great flow, but was cooler than the air temperature. The room was clean, but the bathroom was not up to present day standards. The toilet took forever to fill, and the tank had mold inside. The A/C was difficult to control, but kept the room cool and wasn't noisy. The kitchen are served our needs well for snacks, beverages and limited meals. A great view of the harbor and quiet allowed for good sleeping on a comfortable bed. A decent value, but we spent very little time there other than sleeping, bathing etc. The staff was helpful and friendly. The on premise dining was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foolbus424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I go with a neighbor who has a timeshare. What a quaint place to go for 2 weeks. Although it was off-season and not in full swing, I enjoyed myself. The staff at every level is polite and helpful. The view from any direction is breathtaking! Great to watch the cruise ships come around the bend. Rooms and grounds are clean and comfortable. Will go back next year if invited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The physical structure is older but pleasant the view is outstanding. The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful
The restaurants on site are very good and well worth the cost.and of course this is St Thomas

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shayna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing