We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay provided ups and downs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The winds from tropical storm Rafael would not allow our plane to land in St Thomas and our flight was cancelled. It would be two days until we could leave so we looked for a hotel. Bluebeard looked like it was a major deal so we booked it for the two night stay.

We were impressed when we arrived as it is in a really nice spot overlooking the cruise ship dock. A bellman took our bags and we proceeded to check-in. Again, beautiful views everywhere you looked and landscapes all very elegantly done. Check-in wasn’t flawless but the people were so nice and friendly that it didn’t much matter. We were driven to our room in a golf cart which was a nice touch after being jostled around at the airport. When we arrived at our room we were impressed at first; nice tropical layout, sofa, chair and table and chairs, but this wasn’t the king room we were quoted. We didn’t take issue with it as it was clean and we were VERY tired. The balcony offered up an amazing view, the bathroom was of a decent size, and the room had a ceiling fan. As tired as we were we ate at the hotel’s restaurant (VERY expensive) were that food was very tasty. We then went straight to our room to go to bed. The first night was a fairly good night’s sleep, even though the people next door were quite loud and the mattress was awful; thin and a bit lumpy. Plus, it seemed that the whole bed shook every time one of us moved. The ceiling fan squeaked at anything above low speed.

The next morning, we figured that there wasn’t going to be a maid service (there wasn’t) so that wasn’t an issue. We went to the front desk to get more coffee for the coffee maker, a taxi for an early departure, and a wake-up call. Well, it appears that the first night’s coffee is complimentary and you need to pay for it after that. Okaayyy… I’ll add that to the list of being nickel and dimed for things (ANY phone call was $1, internet access was $6/day, coffee was now at a cost…). They wrote down the wake-up call in a ledger. It didn’t inspire too much confidence on our part so we set some alarms – just in case. We were assured that a taxi would be waiting at the front desk. Once our alarms woke us up we understood that we weren’t getting our wake-up call. We got ready and hauled our bags UP to the front desk and waited for a brief time. The taxi finally did arrive and he was annoyed as he left the front desk explicit instructions to NOT make us climb up to the front desk and that he would meet us at the road. We never got that message.

Overall I guess we got what we paid for. The room was clean and adequate. Just don’t expect much in the way of service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jcharisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 767 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

On a hill above downtown Charlotte Amalie, Blue Beard's castle has some fantastic views of the Yacht Haven, and the City Below. The Staff was courteous, and their on call taxi driver, K9 Joe was always pleasant to deal with. As far as onsite entertainment goes there is a small, but surprisingly deep pool and hot tub in the middle of the hotel grounds; a bar is located poolside, and two restaurants a level higher.

That said, aside from the lounging around the pool, there is very little to actually do there. The restaurants were disappointing and VERY overpriced. The quality of food was slightly below midrange restaurants like TGIF or Ruby-Tuesdays, but prices were in the range of higher-end steakhouses.

Downtown, and the cruise ship mall offered better dining, shopping, and some bar/clubbing activities within walking distance. Unfortunately walking is made difficult by a rather strenuous hill climb, a lack of decent sidewalks, and some rather crazy drivers.

To do anything else, you pretty much have to take a taxi, which can get expensive fast, or rent a car, which, from the stories I've heard from other guests, can be a harrowing experience as well.

Also of note, the room we stayed in had very thin walls, and we could everything going on next door, which was a bit irritating at times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reifzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not a bad base for a USVI vacation. But not a resort you would want to spend most of your time at. If your plan is to lounge around the pool with limited excursions, you are better off elsewhere. Walking to downtown or the cruise dock is doable but only for the physically fit. The pool is too deep for kids. The hot tub had great flow, but was cooler than the air temperature. The room was clean, but the bathroom was not up to present day standards. The toilet took forever to fill, and the tank had mold inside. The A/C was difficult to control, but kept the room cool and wasn't noisy. The kitchen are served our needs well for snacks, beverages and limited meals. A great view of the harbor and quiet allowed for good sleeping on a comfortable bed. A decent value, but we spent very little time there other than sleeping, bathing etc. The staff was helpful and friendly. The on premise dining was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foolbus424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I go with a neighbor who has a timeshare. What a quaint place to go for 2 weeks. Although it was off-season and not in full swing, I enjoyed myself. The staff at every level is polite and helpful. The view from any direction is breathtaking! Great to watch the cruise ships come around the bend. Rooms and grounds are clean and comfortable. Will go back next year if invited.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The physical structure is older but pleasant the view is outstanding. The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful
The restaurants on site are very good and well worth the cost.and of course this is St Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shayna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked two nights at Bluebeard’s Castle through Priceline.com for $108/night. Reviewers had warned of mildew, and that was no exaggeration! The minute I opened the door to room 238 in Hilltop II, the mildew smell was so overpowering that even with the AC on for 48 hours the odor did not abate. Anyone sensitive to mold or who has asthma or allergies couldn’t have stayed five minutes. If you book, be sure to ask if the room smells of mold, and don’t hesitate to change rooms. I was only on St. Thomas for 36 hours (less than 18 in the room) – any longer and I would have moved. The studio included a comfortable king bed, TV, balcony overlooking the west end of downtown and the harbor, pullout sofa, kitchenette with large refrigerator, two-burner stove, and microwave, table with four chairs, and a spacious bathroom with two sinks. However, although the room was clean, the unit was very very tired and run down. The tile floors were pitted and the bathroom door was actually rotted (or chewed!) on the bottom. Hilltip I (rooms 300-330) and Hilltop II (rooms 211-267) provide great sunset views, but opt for a higher room number on one of the two top floors. The lower room numbers are on the bottom two floors and close to the utility road on one side and a parking lot on the balcony side, so you see and hear cars coming and going as well as the garbage truck. The resort is undergoing a major renovation and the public areas (like the lobby) are beautifully done. Each unit is owned individually so perhaps other units are in better shape. If I were to visit again, I’d book directly and ask for a room that didn’t smell of mold!

Room Tip: Hilltip I (rooms 300-330) and Hilltop II (rooms 211-267) provide great sunset views, but opt for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Don't go during off season, one resturant was closed the whole time, the hot tub was cold asked then 4days in a row before they turn it to luke warm then the jets didn't work. I paid for internet and couldn't use both my laptop and tablet unless i paid for internet on both. The rooms were ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jltc0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill | **closed thru 2018 because of hurricanes Irma and Maria**, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $140 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing