We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views in the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Best Views in the Caribbean”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

High atop Blubeards Hill on the edge of Charlotte Amalie sits Bluebeards Castle Resort. The giant multi acre resort's signature red roofs are a local landmark. The Pirate Bluebeard is said to have used the hill as a lookout in the 1500's and the Danes built or rebuilt the watchtower with 8 foot thick walls and the fortifications later after they conquered the island and took it from the Dutch settlers in the late 1600's. Today the old fortifications are part of Bluebeards Castle Resort. The recently renovated open air lobby has a historic feel to it because it was the home of the Danish Colonial Governor. The rooms are large and modern, originally built perhaps 30 years ago but now being completely renovated and updated. Most rooms have a small kitchen with hot plate, microwave, fridge, sink and all the dishes you need to prepare simple meals. There are 3 restaurants on site: Room With a View and the Banana Grill are fine dining restaurants with the expected higher Caribbean prices. The Cabana bar has a simple island menu and much lower prices but has the same view of Charlotte Amalie Harbor and the cruise ship port. Be sure to walk to town for the world class duty free shopping as Americans can bring back $800 duty free each and can combine the exemption with family members. Be aware that this hilltop resort has steps, lots of steps and is also 225 feet above town so it is not for the old or the ill. Healthy young people to retirees can easily handle the resort steps and others can always use the cheap and easily available taxis to go down to town. This is one of the best run properties in one of the best locations on one of the best Caribbean Islands.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a westerly sunset view of the town of Charlotte Amalie and take in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    309
    148
    54
    38
See reviews for
157
355
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great hotel if you are traveling with a group. Rooms have small kitchen - which is great if you are on a budget. Kitchen comes full equipped with anything you need (plates, pans, silverware, etc.). Wonderful pool. Great view of all the cruise ships coming and going. Wonderful little poolside bar that also serves delicious food (especially breakfast). Downtown is within walking distance - although quick a trek. Bluebeard's is located atop a very steep hill. I also would not recommend walking at night.

The staff was not the best. They were not overly friendly and did not serve to please at all. We had a lot of trouble checking in. The woman working the front desk seemed annoyed at having to do anything "extra".

When asked for extra blankets for sleeping we were told we would have to wait till the next day because there was no one on duty. I find it had to believe that other guests have no asked for extra things after 7pm.

I would highly recommend this hotels for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The units at the resort have been recently renovated, and they are much nicer than they were in the past. I own a week in the cottage (unit 163) and was pleased with the upgrades. The only things that seem to be an issue are the bathrooms, the toilets don't always flush completely, and the main bathroom seems to have an ant problem. The front desk sent someone out right away to take care of both issues, but as far as the toilet is concerned, I guess they are no longer made and parts are hard to come by, so they really can't fix it. I am told they are going to be switching them out to a new model soon though. Overall the grounds are well kept, again just one complaint. The hot tub isn't hot. We talked with maintenance, AGAIN, and they explained that the heating element isn't working very well and needs to be replaced. So if you are hoping to enjoy a true hot tub, you will need to find one elsewhere. Room with a View is the only decent restaurant open this time of year on the grounds since Banana Tree takes a month or 2 off in Sept. We ate at the Cabana Bar the day we arrived since we were tired and didn't feel like venturing out. Save your money. The food was over priced and tasteless, and the drinks weren't very good either. You are better off heading downtown to the Green House if you want better bar food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocBarbaraMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

location! location! the resort is in town and you can walk downtown. The rooms are nice and there are several restaurants on the property. Canon on top of the castle. This is the original castle from pirate days.

Helpful?
2 Thank USVI-Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I don't know if I just got extremely lucky or was it typical. Got a great room with fabulous views at a excellent price. Spent two nights for my summer vacation with my family my kids enjoyed the pool very much everyday they was there. Great restaurant but is very expensive need to tone down the price a little. It has elevators it was very fancy the bar is excellent and the staff was very friendly and what ever you want or need they will be very pleased to give you what you need. So today we are going again the number 1 best hotel Bluebeard hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arri57676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I don't know if I just got extremely lucky or this was typical. Got a great room with a great view at a great price. Spent 2 nights here before sailing around the British Virgin Islands. The rooms were clean. TV signal was a little off, but I wasn't really worried about that. Be warned that there are no elevators and that the resort is on a hill side. Most likely you will be going up several steps to get to the bar or the restaurant. Food and beverages were very good. Staff was very friendly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jthom3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

i stayed at bluebeard's Castle for a few days. I knew i didnt like it from the day i put my foot through the door. You could smell mildew every where, and where my nose suggested it would be. There is where i found it. there was mildew captured in the knobs of the kitchen sink and also within other areas of the room. i went to kmart to purchase febreez, it also look like the housekeeping staff cut corners. Their is nothing worse that really cheap bathroom toiletry, reuse coffee pot filters, and unprofessional cleaning. my garbage stayed in the room as long as i did. as i laid in my bed that night i felt i was sleeping in a bed with unchanged sheets. i only started throwing out garbage, when i noticed the big pile of garbage located under the last set of stairs. as i proceeded to go to my car rental. as for the bathroom i had to wear slippers in the tub because the water kept raising while i took a shower. my toes felt voilated. The only good thing about staying there, was the views of the cruise ships, and the updated furniture.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank demdymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
697 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Property: Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing