We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, ok facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We exchanged with RCI for a studio. The unit was in the castle area right next to the old castle fortress. It was just a hotel room with a fridge and cooktop. A little extra space with a sitting area would have been nice. The room was just ok. It was fairly dated and just average. The castle itself was under renovation so we didn't get an chance to tour it. The workers start early and congregate outside the castle area starting about 6:30 am.

The views are amazing. The pool bar is the only place for breakfast or lunch and it tended to be busy and slow. We ate at Room With a View one evening and while expensive found it to be delicious! Parking could be a bit of a challenge if you arrived back during peak dinner hours.

Very convenient to the various sites on the island. Recommend a car to give flexibility but be prepared for rough roads and signage that isn't always too clear.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KandJRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 766 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is actually a time share property that rents out their unused rooms and suites. It was one of the most affordable places that I looked at so I was not expecting much. But I was very impressed! I stayed in one of the Villas (Villa III)The little kitchen was well stocked and very handy to have. The balcony offered a great view of the marina/bay. It's on a hill so the views are great all around. It was very close to the walking path that goes from the cruise ships to Charlotte Amalie along the water. This is a great jogging path, too! It was walking distance from downtown. The property was lovely. The pool was very nice and had a waterfall. The Banana Leaf restaurant was fantastic and offered free-range poultry and grassfed beef. I wouldn't necessarily recommend eating at the other two restaurants on site, but the staff at the Cabana Bar were great and friendly, so it was a good place to hang out and grab a drink.
Also, since it's a time share property, they offered plenty of activities. I joined a group to tour the island and go snorkeling. I met a great bunch of people, lunch was included and it was only $60!
This place is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: The suites have a handy small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodie_bevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

RCI trade, had stayed 4 times in the past in different parts of resort & ok. Check-in staff never friendly but this last time was my worst ever!!! Booked a 1 bedroom with full kitchen. After 11/2 hour wait to check in (with groceries in the car) we got to our room only to find they gave us a hotel room. They would not give us what we traded for. Insisted that a coffee pot & microwave = a full kitchen. ya..ok After 2+ more hours of waiting up front they agreed to put us in a studio. Only they told us they didn't have keys for us and we would have to stop at the front to get someone to let us in. (4 days no key & sometimes had to wait an hour to get in our room). We were right behind the castle and room was dumpy, never came for garbage all week, no towels, nothing. Huge roaches. Huge storm 1st night, thought the place was coming down. Siding blew off our room, never came and cleaned that up either. Staff was friendly at bar. Food at restaurants way overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bessetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are currently staying at the Pirate's Pension at Bluebeard's Castle Hotel. We are pleasantly pleased with our suite. We have a stove, small refrigerator, washer and dryer. This morning we opened our drapes to our balcony only to see Carnival and Regent cruise ships right in front of us. We arrived at 2:30 and were take to our room immediately. Yes, there are a few roosters crowing but they are of no bother to us. The pool is very nice and the jacuzzi is wonderful. Room cleaning is optional for a fee but I am willing to clean my own room for this great room and price. I booked my room through Wyndham Holidays and got an incredible rate. The taxi fees are a little steep for everywhere we wanted to go. One day we walked to town and to the Shipwreck Tavern. We haven't eaten at the hotel restaurants but they look vey nice and have a beautiful view.

Room Tip: I love the view at the 400 series at Pirates Pension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lovemytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Feral chickens are a problem throughout the Caribbean. On St Thomas. the local government is trying to use zoning laws to eliminate them from residential areas.

At any rate, Bluebeard's has not taken any action on the beasts. I suspect that their staff likely feeds them. The roosters started up at 3:20 yesterday and 4:15 this morning. It is now a little after 5:00 am and any hope of sleep is gone.

It is hard to imagine why they hate their customers to this level. OK-- some basics for the "management team". This is a hotel and people rent rooms so that they can rest and sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid Hilltop I and II
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kaakre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Bluebeard's Castle Villas is a big timeshare condo complex with a wonderful outdoor pool complex on an upper floor, allowing you to step out of the pool and look way out over the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our room was perhaps the worst location in the complex, and it was great. It was on the ground floor but still, because the complex is built on a steep hill, had a great view of the harbor. Surprisingly, even the uphill side of our unit was gorgeous, with wonderfully landscaped tropical foliage. The two restaurants in the complex were both excellent, though quite pricey. We found the concierge service to be very useful. When we weren't really sure about an attraction the concierge would knowledgeably answer questions and, when necessary, make phone calls to find out details she didn't know.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed in Villas III (known as East Wing on some maps) in mid-January 2012. Our group of 6 stayed in 102 & 210 (1 night) & 126 & 127 (several nights). The main positives were the view, the restaurants, and fairly central location. The main negatives were the extreme mustiness and difficult walkability to beaches or shopping.

I had a hard time researching details for this property because the property's websites are not very complete, so I'm writing more detail than I'd normally include. (If management reads this, I'd suggest putting much of the contents of your in-room guidebook online and updating the online room maps to indicate current names for buildings.)

Bluebeard's is on a steep hill near a cruise ship dock and downtown Charlotte Amalie. Due to steepness and lack of sidewalks in many areas, it is dificult to walk anywhere that is not on the property. Luckily, there are 2 excellent restaurants on the property: Banana Tree Grille and Room with a View. There's also a pool bar open for breakfast & lunch and the Cabana Bar is open most nights for drinks and bar food. The burgers are pretty good at the Cabana Bar.

Bluebeard's has many different sections and it's kind of confusing navigating within the property. Driving to and within the property can be nervewracking due to narrow, steep, curvy roads. The property entrance is on a very steep hill. We turned in once after a rain shower and were nervous about getting up, but we did it. Just before the lobby, there is a pretty tight curve at the top of a hill, too. If other cars/taxis are there, it can be a challenge. The road to the Villas III lot is really steep, too.

At least in Villas III, the room # does not give you a clue as to which floor you're on. 210 is on the 4th floor. There is no elevator, so it's a hike when you come and go. There's a walkway from 3rd floor (where 126 & 127 are) that you can use to get to the lobby, pool, restaurants. Some rooms adjoin (126 & 127 do) which is nice when you're with a big family.

In Villas III, rooms are cleaned once a week (Thurs. in our case). You can request new towels & beach towels daily, though. Also, for $30 you can get additional cleanings. There was one approx. 4-person sized cofee ground pack per room when we arrived. We asked for more several times before finally someone in housekeeping told us that they were "waiting for a new shipment" so everyone got only the 1 packet on arrival. Judging from other reviewers' comments on coffee, maybe they're always tight on the coffee.

Amenities: beach towels, towels, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, lotion, alarm clock, toaster, mini fridge, mini microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, basic kitchen supplies, flat TV, iron, ceiling fan, wall AC, wall safe, decent sized closet, 3-drawer dresser, foldout sofa bed, table/chairs, phone, retractable clothes line in shower/tub.

Positives: nice views from floor to ceiling windows/sliding doors, balconies, replacement beach towels usually brought quickly after request, AC cooled (but did not dehumidify), ceiling fan, pretty clean, lots of hot water water, fairly roomy, free printing of boarding passes in lobby.

Negatives: musty smell that could not be defeated by AC, no dishwasher, no in-room washer & dryer, laundry was at end of hall & cost $2.50 each for washer & dryer so 1 load of laundry would be $5 (Pirate's Pension section apparently has in-room washer/dryer), allotted one 4-person serving of coffee, AC sometimes seemed to get accidentally programmed to turn off and there were no instructions about how to work the unit, almost no counter space, light switch turned off clock (suggest bringing tape or something to remind yourself which switch turns off fan vs. clock), tile floor got sandy pretty quickly (maybe add some foot washes like beaches have at the edge of the parking lot and/or entry mats), noise in adjoining rooms pretty loud even with both doors in between closed, more pillows per room needed, no free wi-fi (not even in lobby).

The rooms were a mix of updated and not. The furniture was pretty modern. Some bathroom/kitchen fixtures were updated and some not. Kitchen area has kind of ugly (but clean) laminate on counter & cabinets.

Pool area was fine. Kids liked the waterfall at the pool, but the water was cold while we were there. The hot tub was fine. The pool restaurant needs more shade at breakfast time. We baked the one time we ate breakfast there.

The rooster noise was not a problem for us, maybe because we were pretty high up. We could hear them some, but it wasn't super loud or super early. We also did not have any problems with check-in, but we booked as owners, not through a travel site, and we brought confirmation numbers, which we requested after reading reviews about check-in problems. The staff was nice.

102 (on 1st floor) was VERY musty. 210 (4th floor) was least musty of all. 126 & 127 (3rd floor) were in the middle. Nitpicky point: bed in 210 was super mushy.

Advice on other options: We went to beaches at several hotels (all beaches in STT are public), and it looked like Secret Harbor would be a cool place to stay and that beach is reputed to be one of the warmer ones, so in winter esp. that might be good. If you want a big property, might look into Marriott Frenchman's Reef, but that beach was the least calm of the ones we visited, Sapphire Beach Resort looked good and that was a great beach.

Room Tip: higher up seems less musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank theswintster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.8 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $126 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing