We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband stayed @ Bluebeards on business for almost 2months. Was booked via Hotel.com he stayed @ different Villas that are time share. The rooms are spacious & clean, kitchen, sitting area, balcony. The views are breath taking. I visited him every weekend (from Puerto Rico) I loved, loved loved it!. The restaurant, Room With A View is outstanding! The food and the service are excellent, I highly recommend it. The only thing is that you WILL need a car or take cabs to and from wherever you go from th hotel. We did have a car rental, thank God my husband was able to drive on the left as they do in St Thomas! Bluebeards is super close to town & the road that goes to Magens Beach is right by the hotels' exit. The pool is nice has a jacuzi..computer @ the lobby area..etc etc.. As you can tell from my review.. I will go back, and I am sure you will love it too!

Room Tip: Villas @ Tower 2 are close to the pool and restaurant, and have a super view. Ther is an elevator...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TGlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Bluebeard's Castle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 765 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Is sad to hear that the Pool Bar was robbed again and scary to think that as a guest you are not safe since the security staff is no capable to protect the property itself how is gonna be able to protect the integrity of the guest,just hope the hotel takes responsability,for something that shouldn't had happened the first time and then again,I would recomend the hotel again only if they improve security wise,when it happened the first time I was there and it looks to me those guys at the Pool Bar are hard working people,so..the hotel executives has the ball.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed the week of Sep 24-30, 2011. This is a timeshare property. We booked through RCI and were supposed to be in the Hillside Villas building in a 1BR with partial kitchen. Pleasantly, upon check-in we were informed that building is undergoing renovations, so we were assigned to one of the 4 Pirates Pension buildings - "Privateer" bldg, and the penthouse room. The distinct benefit of this building and room is that it is only 8 or 9 steps down from the parking lot to the front door of the room. Any room other than the penthouse in this building involves carrying luggage down at least one more flight of stairs, then back up upon departure - there are no elevators in these bldgs - which could be a problem for some guests. The room was clean with doors from the living room and bedroom out to the balcony terrace which overlooked Yacht Haven Grande and the West India Co. cruise ship dock. The room had a full kitchen, separate king bedroom, separate bathroom with large vanity and jetted spa tub/shower (good water pressure) combination. The "water closet" (commode room) was separate from the vanity area & included a stacked washer/dryer. We bought breakfast items at the Pueblo grocery & always ate breakfast on our terrace - beautiful view. I downgraded the sleep quality of the room due to the flat pillows on the bed. Those could really use an upgrade!
The pool was nice, it is a small but deep pool, only a little area around the steps & waterfall where it is 4' deep, then goes to over 10'. There is also an in-ground spa in the pool area. The bar at the pool is great & the bartenders serve drinks & bring food from the little kitchen behind the bar area (we never ate here) but that bar closes down at 5pm. Then, the Cabana bar & open air restaurant overlooking the pool opens. The bartender Zane was very nice & we had great salads and pizza. The Banana Tree restaurant was closed while we were there, and we did not eat at Room With a View. We had a rental car so we drove over to Yacht Haven Grande (the marina & shops just down the hill) & had dinner at Wikked and the Fat Turtle if we did not eat at the Cabana Bar. I would definitely recommend a rental car if you stay at this property. There is parking on the property; and parking at Yacht Haven, Red Hook ferry to St. John, Magen's Bay and Sapphire Beach. When we went downtown Charlotte Amalie, we simply parked at Yacht Haven & took the 1 mile walkway they have for the cruise passengers who want to walk into town rather than take a taxi. But of course this was the "off" season, so I don't know if it's more difficult to find parking Nov-Mar.
Our check-in and check-out went fine, it was helpful that we had our RCI confirmation paperwork at check-in. Everyone we met was very nice, but then we really like to greet hospitality employees and talk to them on a personal level, thank them for their time and service, and just generally make them feel appreciated for the jobs they do. Oh, and tipping goes a long way too!

Room Tip: Pirates Pension penthouses require the least amount of stairs compared to other rooms in the Pension...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoVa25thTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We rented a room here for a few nights before a sailing trip. Best idea I have had in years, great place, rooms are very nice, with cooking facilities should you need them. And the bar was fun, and we had a wonderful dinner at :A Room With A View" and so should you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view!
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KwajDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

They have been under reconstruction and remodeling for the last 2 years. The main lobby in the castle is now open and looks nice.
The place is owned by a conglomerate of time share organizations and booking is completely chaotic. You need to book directly with Bluebeard by phone if you want to stay here. Booking through an internet site will guarantee rude service and a long wait (1-2 hours) before they will eventually concede and give you a room, I have personally witnessed the staff tell a honeymoon couple that their expedia booking was not valid, but they would "see if they could find something". The couple tearfully waited two hours before being given a room. The staff prefers you wait on them and tends to treat people disrespectfully.
Like I said, if you book directly then less problems

Room Tip: book directly
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

As a wedding present we gave my son and new daughter-in-law a trip to Bluebeard's for their honeymoon. I emailed ahead to explain to the concierge they were on their honeymoon and asked for a few special touches. The communication back and forth was very prompt and accommodating. The couple reported they had a great time and the staff was very nice and met all their needs and requests to make their honeymoon an experience to remember and they would love to return for an anniversary. The resort was recently renovated so the facility was crisp and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RubyTuesdayFundador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was my second trip to St. Thomas. The first time I stayed at the Elysian Beach resort. This resort is a lot better than that! This resort sits high on the hill with beautiful views of the ocean and of the city. My room was recently remodeled and very nice. Very large and comfortable. It also had a spacious balcony. The pool was nice. This resort is not on a beach which is its only downfall, but with all the different beaches in the area, why settle for just one. There was free internet in the lobby and the restaurants were great. The Banana Tree restaurant was the most expensive one at the resort but it was absolutly delicious. The pool bar/restaurant was also yummy for a little less money. Drinks were reasonable at the all restaurants. The restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel staff were slow and rude. Just like most of the locals on St. Thomas. If you are easily offended by rude people, I would stay away from St. Thomas all together. One more thing, if you stay at this resort or any resort on St. Thomas, rent a car. Its not convenient to take taxis, things are too spread out. Good luck

Room Tip: I booked through RCI. Asked for a one bedroom, got a two room lockoff. It was great !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauranevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $118 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing