We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room had great space, great view, great balcony, and a great atmosphere! Very spacious living and bedroom, even with the pull-out couch in use. The pull-out couch was extremely uncomfortable, but what do you expect from a mattress that folds up? The pool area was wonderful! Waterfalls, spa, deep water all a plus. I would recommend renting a car since this location isn't on a beach, but it's close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 768 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

After spending last year at Tropic Leisure Club at Magens Point (don't even get me started), I was a little nervous about staying in another timeshare, esp with kids. I had read the reviews, most of them were pretty good. Excellent location. Views were beautiful. The hotel lobby and grounds were lovely. Check in was easy and the girls at the front desk were friendly. The pool area was nice with a gorgeous view. So glad it was freshwater and not salt water. You get enough saltwater swimming at the beaches. No shallow areas in the pool. It goes from 4 foot to 8 foot! Not great when you have an 8 year old. We weren't staying there for the pool, so it was ok. We didn't eat the at the restaurants there at the hotel. Prices were quite dreadful, esp when there are no kids menus. However, it probably wouldn't be too expensive for a couple.
Now..... on to the room. We were booked for the Hilltop Villa 1, Studio with full kitchen (room 316). Pleasantly surprised at how roomy it was. King size bed with a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for a family of 4. Large private balcony. Very surprised to find a garden tub in the bathroom with a sit down vanity. Plenty of closet room and shelving. Full kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, and dishwasher, complete with all the cooking utensils you would need. Food is soooo expensive on the island. Go to Kmart and buy snacks, cereals, sodas, and some food for small meals to save yourself a lot of cash! Flat screen TV, new furniture, lovely decor and colors. Bed was comfy. Sofa sleeper was cozy (although the girls were ready for their own beds by the end of the week). Most importantly....CLEAN! I appreciated that they left a broom in the room. Sand is always following you back to your room, so it was nice to be able to sweep your floors. Other places I have stayed didn't do that and you had to walk around with sand all on your floors. Oh, and we had hot water ALL THE TIME!
We were very pleased with our stay At Bluebeards. I def recommend staying there. Rent a car to go to the beaches and exploring the islands. This was our second year vacationing in St. Thomas. Next year, we plan to travel to another destination....however, if we find ourselves returning to St. Thomas again, we WILL be staying at Bluebeards!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaquelJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We are one-week time share owners at Bluebeard's and have just had another wonderful week of beauty and relaxation there. Bluebeard's has suffered from management problems over the last several years but is now headed in the right direction of becoming the wonderful place it once was. It is on a hill overlooking Charlotte amalie and the marina, both providing gorgeous views. It is not on the beach, but a walk down the hill will take you to downtown or the new Havensight Marina. Our room is a spacious and nicely appointed studio in Hilltop I, which overlooks downtown and the waterfront. The restaurants on the premises provide us enough variety and great food that we hardly go elsewhere for meals. We do traditionally have lunch at Gladys' Cafe for good, fresh island cuisine when we're downtown. We love going and find it suits us to a tee!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avidtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights it was great. The restaurants are fantastic . The hotel is located on top of the hill and the views are great. The staff is great the rooms are very nice with all amenities. Great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luvtomingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just returned from our trip to St. Thomas and our stay at Bluebeard's Castle. What a difference from three years ago. Bluebeard's has always had the best view on St. Thomas, however, recently the resort has been in decline. Not any more. The property has undergone a complete renovation and continues to impove. If not familar with Bluebeard's Castle, it sits atop a hill overlooking the harbor. It is not on the beach, however, with an island only 9 miles by 4 miles the beach is not far away. The rooms have all be recently redone and the amenities have improved. Sitting just above the city of Charlotte Amalie, BBC provides the best opportunity for daytime shopping and evening night life if you so prefer. For the best of views and value, Bluebeard's Castle now ranks near the top of the list for anyone's vacation. Taxi's can be expensive so think about a rent a car, however, remember in the U.S. Virgin Islands you drive on the left.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mkmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Through Diamond Resorts I booked a two bedroom unit using my points with Diamond. When I arrived our unit was not yet ready, and I had to wait until 4:00 PM before I could get into the unit, even though the room is supposed to be ready by 3:00 PM. The two bedroom unit turned out to be two studios with a connecting door that wouldn't even stay open, so to go from one unit to the other, you had to prop the door open, otherwise it would lock you out of your room. When I complained that I had reserved a two bedroom I was informed that the resort only had two two bedroom units and both were occupied.
We had a 4 yr. old child with us and wanted to cook meals in the unit. There was no dishwasher and the sink was so small you couldn't even fit a dinner dish into it. Needless to say, clean up after meals was a chore.
We had brought DVD's to keep the 4 yr. old occupied in the evening, but there was no DVD player in either studio. It took us three days to get a DVD player delivered and installed, and that was only because we were able to get the assistant manager to assist us; the front desk kept passing us off to houskeeping, who told us there was no DVD player available.
The resort is on a very steep hill, which makes walking into and retuning to and from town difficult, unless you are young or middle aged. There is no beach available, so you must rent a car or pay step taxi fares to get to a beach. For the week it cost us $312.00 to rent a car, but had we used taxis it would have been much more.
When it came time to checkout, the woman at the desk told me she couldn't print out our bill because the printer was jammed. After I fixed it (which consisted of turning the printer off and then back on) I then had to wait 15 minutes while all the other items in the que had printed out. When it came time to print out my boarding pass, it turned out that the computer was hooked up to the wrong printer, and no one was available to fix it. I felt that the people manning the front desk were untrained, not very bright, and not interested in helping the guests (which tends to be typical in the Carribean when you have to hire local uneducated people).
At the pool area (which is also where you must buy breakfast and lunch) a multitude of yelling children (totally unsupervised by their parent) made it difficult to eat or read in peace.
So, if you are traveling with just one other person, and don't plan to cook in, and don't plan to go to the beach every day, and don't mind incompetent help, and don't mind screaming children, you may enjoy what the resort does have to offer; a beautiful view of the city, the sight of cruise ships arriving and departing, the sight of sea planes taking off and landing in the harbor, then this resort might be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paltinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This place has such wonderful history. The original Castle of the Pirate Bluebeard still stands. Recently renovated and just beautiful. Excellent five star resturants right on site. The Room with the view is a MUST visit. Prices in line with any other great resturant. Banana Tree is also wonderful. The grounds are warming, the old structures are beautiful, the staff was great, and just plain romantic. Pool and hottub were superb. Will be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.8 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
8.3 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill | **closed thru 2018 because of hurricanes Irma and Maria**, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $140 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing