We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiring trip up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 99 Steps

99 Steps
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
St Thomas Cultural and Historical Sightseeing Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step streets used by the residents of Charlotte Amalie, these historical 99 steps (the actual count is 103) were built from the ballast bricks of the tall ships coming from the old world, which would then return to Europe loaded with products from the islands.
corpus christi texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tiring trip up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The castle was closed but it was still neat to walk up to it. The view was absolutely beautiful and to know they used it to watch for pirates and others was pretty amazing. Well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    191
    118
    25
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mission Impossible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my second attempt at the 99 steps and I failed miserably again. I believe the sun is just too hot to climb all the stairs without passing out....maybe I'll try on another visit in the evening

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't let the name scare you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Walked up these to visit Blackbeards. They are straight up, but there's shaded areas to stop and rest. They weren't as bad as I expected to climb! Fun and great photo opp!

Helpful?
2 Thank SSuitePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful walk back to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

A visit to Black Beard's castle and the walk to town was part of an excursion from our cruise ship. After enjoying fantastic view around the island we went to the "castle" and the 99 steps. Visiting the homes which are part of the tour was interesting and fun. The walk downhill was certainly enjoyable, uphill would be a little tougher. It is steep. Away from the mad shopping areas and relaxing. Bring your bathing suit and take a dip at the pool by the castle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank utelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not really 99 steps.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not really 99 steps but more like 104 and not that bad to climb. The steps are stone and a bit uneven so it might be hard for those who are older. The view from the top is worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CuppaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 99 Steps also viewed

 
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to 99 Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing