We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Front Desk Agent.. Clarissa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
makeup4ever
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Front Desk Agent.. Clarissa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Clarissa was the only agent at the desk that always greeted our family by name and making eye contact, smiled, and asked how she could assist me. She asked how our stay was going and if there's anything she could do to make our stay better of if we needed anything. Our stay was very enjoyable because of Clarissa. She went above and beyond by helping me send a postcard back home as the gift shop did not sell or have stamp for me to buy. Everyone i encountered was like " don't know i can mailed it and don't have a stamp". For me, its only 50 cents or less to mail a postcard, but most people seems to think its a big deal to mail the postcard for me until I met Clarissa. We offered to pay her but she insisted that its her pleasure to mail the card for me, so its the little details and attitude that counts and Clarissa is definitely an asset to the Marriott. Juan who i believe is also the manager at the desk. He was very kind and caring. As we are waiting for the room for about 4 hours, i approached him and asked him for a bottle of water as it was very hot that day and he came out with 3 bottles of water which is perfect for my family and I. During our stay, Juan was very approable just like Clarissa and was very informative. Thank you Clarrisa and Juan for making our stay remarkable.

Everything else was perfect. We got a room at the Sea Cliff tower and its was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makeup4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for this excellent feedback for our team members Clarissa and Juan. We will share this special review with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    1,351
    709
    340
    191
See reviews for
1,151
1,780
80
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Two thumbs... the Marriott Frenchman's Reef was superb from start to finish! Colin at the Elite Member's Check-In recognized my Marriott Elite status and up graded us to an ocean-view room. Once in our spacious well appointed room, a small gift arrived of two Red Stripe Beers and some mixed nuts to welcome us to the hotel... nice touch. The "virtual concierge" had made sure we had our extra towels and pillows.

The setting of the hotel is spectacular. Views of the harbour, Hassell Island and ocean from the restaurants, bars and pools are beautiful. The beach is soft white sand and the water a turquoise blue. Loads of beach chairs and use of "beach toys" included with your resort fee. And the pools are awesome for hanging out...

We had a great buffet breakfast each morning in the main dining room that over looks the harbour. The hostesses/buffet staff were friendly and welcoming and our server Bimar was the best! Very attentive and full of knowledge about the great island of St. Thomas. Well done Bimar!

One nice touch... On the Wednesday night there was a manager's reception with free rum punch and a great selection of cheeses and hot appetizers. Class act and a really nice touch...

A couple of words of advice... there are loads of taxis and shuttles... but if you want the freedom to come and go as you please rent a car. Budget gave us an economical Ford Focus for about 50. US dollars a day that allowed us to explore the island at our leisure. The beaches at Coki Bay and Magen's Bay were beautiful, but avoid them if there are multiple cruise ships in harbour. They do get crowded.

Looking forward to returning...and you guessed it... we'll be back to the Frenchman's Reef!

Cheers
ML and RB

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML7072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely descriptions of the warm service you were greeted with as well as the ambiance of our sprawling property. We appreciate your personal mentions very much! Colin and Bimar will be given recognition by our leadership team for outstanding attitude and knowledge. Before your next stay, please call ahead so we can welcome you back as a returning guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just returned on from our stay on May12th. We loved it. All of the staff were very nice and the resort was beautiful. Our room overlooked the ocean and was so pretty at night. The only thing is next time,we will request a room in the main building so we don't have to walk outside to get to lobby. It rained some while we were there so this would be helpful. It was our first time there and sure will not be our last, we are ready to go back now. We loved Coco Joe's Helena was so nice and went out of her way to make our trip wonderful. I can't say enough great things about the resort. CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN! LOVED IT!!!!

Room Tip: Main Tower with a good view. It is worth paying more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We’re thrilled to hear you loved your stay and are inspired to return soon. Rain is seasonal here on St. Thomas so be sure to contact our pre-arrival team before your next visit, to explore your room and activities options. I also want to let you know that we will be giving Helena recognition for memorable service. Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at Frenchman's Reef and it never disappoints. They greet you with a rum punch and a smile. The rooms are spacious. The grounds are beautiful with plenty to do. Thank you for being my home away from home when I am in town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank yvettemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We sincerely enjoy having you as our guest and appreciate your kind compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrive at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and we're told check-in is at 4:00. Could it be any later? When the room is finally ready, they tell us the only room available is a room with a huge palm tree in front of the balcony which should be overlooking the infinity pool. I was told "the hotel was running at 100% capacity". That don't help me! It ends up there were two destination weddings going on the weekend we were there. Of course as we're waiting for the room, the saleswoman tries the vacation club speech. It didn't work. We also experienced rain everyday since we arrived. That's not the hotel's fault, but they could have had some sort of entertainment, band, etc. The brunch was excellent. Everything was fresh. Needless to say, it was sunny the day we were departing. Murphy's Law. The beds could definitely use new mattresses. I felt the springs in my back. I would go back again, but not in the month of May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your trip was not all you hoped it would be. We hope you will give the resort another try soon! Keep an eye out for specials here on our TripAdvisor page throughout the year. And before your stay, be sure to contact our pre-arrival team to go over your reservations and options such as transportation and dining. We are here to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Last month my family and I went to St. Thomas and stayed at this hotel. It was an amazing experience. From the staff, to the room, to the food, all in all a top notch stay. The manager Jeff took great care of us from the day we checked in until the day we left. The food at Havana Blue was rediculously good. I remember the chef's name (Edguardo) because he came out and treated my 10 and 7 year old to an appetizer of steak tacos that they still talk about. He made them feel so important. The service was top notch. The bartender there was no slouch either making unreal drinks. The room was clean, porch had a great view and there was enough room for all four of us. Beach and pools were pristine. Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: talk to Jeff!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUsher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
It’s always wonderful to read how our amenities and restaurants worked out so well for family members of all different ages. A true delight! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were here 6 nights, and that was a little too long for our taste. A few days here would have likely been wonderful. The grounds were lovely-- beautiful pools, easy beach access with plenty of chairs and umbrellas, gorgeous views. Typical Marriott room; nothing fancy. Housekeeping and room service staff were warm and friendly. My partner enjoyed his massage at the spa.

We had unseasonably bad weather during our visit, which wasn't Marriott's fault, but revealed the limitations of the property. It's a $30 RT cab ride (for 2) to get to anything interesting from the hotel, which was a bummer when there was an 80% chance of torrential downpours all day long. A couple of evenings, we felt sadly captive eating luxuriously priced room service cheeseburgers. Sure, we could have gone to one of the restaurants on premise, we learned the hard way that the sit-down food options were trying to out-compete each other for the "most authentic island service" award. Sure, I'm on vacation. But I'd rather not spend it waiting a half hour for a bill or a take-out box.

We asked at check-in how early we should leave for our flight, and showed up in the lobby 20 minutes before the desk clerk suggested. Multiple staff members repeatedly chided us for being "so late;" after about the 7th round of tsk'ing from the woman checking us out, I had to ask her to please just stop. We arrived at the airport with plenty of time, but it wasn't a pleasant send-off.

Tips: the best meal we had during our trip was at Havana Blue, which was spendy, but on property and not run by Marriott. It was the kind of place we'd return to were it in Boston-- delicious small plates and creative cocktails that weren't too sweet or skimpy. Combine a shopping trip to town with breakfast at Barefoot Buddha and pick up some Goslings, ginger beer, and snacks at the gourmet market in Havensight Shopping Center; both places have great prices and good options.

Room Tip: Decent view from the balcony of our room in the Harbour Wing ("resort view"). The ambient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Great photos, thank you! Over 1700 traveler photos are posted here on TripAdvisor showing all areas of the property. We appreciate you adding yours! Thank you also for your review. The compliments of our grounds, beach, housekeeping and spa are appreciated. Also helpful to our leadership team are your comments regarding service at the restaurants and at check-out. I apologize if you felt inconvenienced in any way. We review all feedback as direction for improvement so you can be assured your feedback is taken seriously. We hope that you will return again to Frenchman’s Reef on your next St. Thomas vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing