We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,425)
Filter reviews
4,425 results
Traveler rating
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
2,835 - 2,840 of 4,425 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the start of our 5 night vacation, it didn't go well. Elite check in counter not open when we first arrived at hotel at noon.
We had to wait until after 4:00 to check in, even though we saw a number of people we came in on the van with had checked in hours before. As it was, we ended up with a room by the elevator.
Our safe was broken, so we had to make arrangements to be in the room when the hotel engineer came to replace the safe with a new one,Instead of the hotel moving us to another room.
There were many areas throughout the grounds that were roped off. A lot of the wood walkways in need of repair.
Elevator down to the beach out of order our entire time there.
For the most part the service people at the hotel not very friendly, especially at the coffee shop. you would think at least a "good morning" ? .
the Marriot Frenchman's Reef most definitely needs an upgrade with the hotel as well as personnel before we would come back again.

Room Tip: make sure you check the safe in your room before you unpack, as ours was broken and had to be replaced, instead of hotel moving us to another room. not fun, very load with all the banging.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at Frenchman’s Reef. On behalf of our leadership team, we would like to extend an apology for not meeting your expectations overall. Please know that we take all these comments seriously and are diligent in our efforts to understand how we can improve. We have a new Leadership Team on-site and are thrilled with the direction the resort is heading. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to win you over. Before your next St. Thomas getaway, please feel free to email us at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this stay. I would like our leadership team to manage your reservation in a more personalized manner. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a beautiful property laid out nicely to give fabulous views from your room or restaurants and the swim pools. Most of the property is well maintained except for one building which had dusty corridors / old paint and with no elevators. Make sure you avoid this during your check-in. We were put up in this building and as we were walking up to the room I was getting a little apprehensive about my choice of the Hotel due to the dusty corridors. But all doubts were set aside as soon as we entered the room and saw the nice serene sea view from the balcony. Room service was decent. Room was typical Marriott experience - nice. cozy and spacious.
Do check out the Aqua terra (for breakfast) and the Coca Joes (beach snacks/ bites) restaurants. The other in house restaurants doled out average fare. Be careful if you are driving in with your own car - parking spots are too few and the garage is a long walk away (can be really long especially after a tired day's trip).
Overall this is a great property to be in and the courteous staff more than makes up for the few improvements noted above that could have made this a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room in the 4xxxx series (This building does not have elevators, has dusty / dingy look) very unlike the rest of the property
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijahens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for this recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed for one night in April. The resort was tired. Rooms we're okay. Bed a little uncomfortable but rooms were clean. Bathroom door did not stay shut. Property overall was okay. Pool areas nice but no waiter/waitress serving drinks. Restaurant was poor and expensive. $16 for a crab cake and wahoo was overcooked. All in all an average resort but very expensive for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments with us. We regret you did not feel your stay was a good value overall. On your next stay, you may want to give Frenchman’s Reef a try. It sounds like the amenities you seek would be better fulfilled there. Please feel free to reach out to our pre-arrival team before you make your reservations. We would be happy to go over all your room configuration and location options as well as dining and activities ideas. Also, look here on our TripAdvisor page for extra specials and added value! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here for the same corporate trip as the previous reviewer, paulo4442. The trip itself was a lot of fun, so this review will focus on the resort itself. In reading the mixed reviews, we were not sure what to expect and even after staying here - I'm not sure what to expect on a future stay given wide selection of rooms / experiences.

Pros:
- Morning star rooms' location relative to the ocean was amazing. You can literally hear the waves from the room if you turn off the really loud A/C unit. And they are loud, especially from the building closest to the Morning Star reception. We initially wanted to be further away from the reception due to music, but later realized it's the best choice with a quieter beach in front and being 12 feet away from ocean.
- Love all the iguanas hanging out on the walk to the boat taxi towards the Frenchman Reef side of the property.
- Lots of beach amenities are available as part of the stay including kayaks, boogie boards, towels, footballs, loungers, etc.
- Room service for breakfast was very nice and staff was very accommodating to requests; and having breakfast on the porch facing the ocean was one of the best moments we've had anywhere.
- Water taxi option into town was a great way to get back/forth.

Not so great:
- Room was very dated with loud A/C; tight bathroom layout; stained ottoman, unclean on arrival (won't go into details).
- Staff is very friendly, and service was perfectly acceptable for a Marriott, but we expected more for the property type and location such as a nice welcome, orientation and help with luggage.
- Limited food options, quality and variety for a resort of this size.
- Seemed like beach got really crowded during certain hours, and I suspect its from cruise ship passengers during the day (we learned tues-thurs are the busiest days with up to 5 big ones docked in town ).

In summary, this property has great potential given its location and local charm of the staff. But similar to previous review, I would not pay (regardless of price) to stay here out of pocket in its current state.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first since there are so many different orientations and types.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paletexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit. First of all, we’re glad you enjoyed the location, beach, service and plethora of amenities offered. Regarding the suggestions you are bringing to my attention here, please note that these are all taken seriously by management. All comments are welcome. As we go forward from the major renovations, our preventative and maintenance teams are working daily to beautify and preserve the property. Again, thank you for posting and I hope that you continue to see our efforts reflected in the reviews here and decide to give us another opportunity to earn your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The staff was so helpful, especially Gary when we had a maintenance problem. He was quick and so helpful to fix it as soon as we called it in. The location is beautiful and I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katcorrinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your recommendation, specifically mentioning Gary. I look forward to sharing your compliment with him personally. We hope another journey to St. Thomas will be in your 2014 plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews