We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$179
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$231
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$290
$215
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,423)
Filter reviews
4,423 results
Traveler rating
1,688
1,414
758
359
204
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
1,414
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,866 - 2,871 of 4,423 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great location. View is beautiful. Average rooms which could use renovation. The staff was friendly and the room was kept clean. Our room keys would not work for some reason for two days.No concierge at Morningstar you had to go to the Reef for this service. Good breakfast and lobster buffet at Coco Joes. By midnight everything at Morningstar is closed. I don't think I would go to this property again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your impressions are valuable to our leadership team and we’re sorry that overall, we were unable to exceed your expectations. After reading your review, I feel that we would better serve your needs at Frenchman’s Reef up on the hill. Besides the concierge service, it is more of a modern resort experience with infinity pools and our Lazule Spa. I invite you to contact our pre-arrival team before your next stay so we can thoroughly explain all amenities offered at each section of the hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here one night at the end of our sailing trip. Check in was a fiasco as they had no rooms available and gave me a beeper even though I was a Platinum member. Two hours later I asked for any room and was moved down the hill to the apartments. Disapointing, especially by Marriott standards...The pools are nice and the restaurant by the water was excellent. I would seek out another location.

Room Tip: Don't let them send you to another one of their locations. Stay in the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am very saddened to hear that your experience during your recent stay was disappointing. Thank you for sharing your insights. It is through guest and member feedback like yours, we discover the small ways we can make big differences. Although you enjoyed our pools and cuisine choices, it does sound like Morning Star was not the perfect fit for you. We hope that you will give us a second opportunity, on your next adventure to the Caribbean. I believe Frenchman’s Reef, where your original reservation was, will be a much better suited to your taste. If there is anything further we can assist you with, please feel free to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Will start off with the comment that I am a Marriott lifetime platinum.

Hotel shows its wear and age despite the rennovations. Location is good, on property restaurants or good (recommend Coco Joes Seafood Buffett), hotel staff is slow to respond probably the slowest service we have experienced in the Caribbean. Check in is at 4PM arrived at noon provided a pager and no one every paged us... Our room was just fine 1758 great views, clean not musty... you can smell must in the lower floor hall ways as the property is humid

Pools are great, shuttle between cove and Morningstar worked perfectly... the elevator to the beach is our, but we did not mind the 100 steps up and down but suspect that if you are challenged you will need to shuttle it to the morning star to go to the beach.

Views were awesome...

In summary great location, dated property, good food, unhappy employees... if you are staying in St Thomas, stay at the Ritz, that is one of our favorite return to spots and wish we had gone there

Room Tip: high floors
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. We are happy you chose to spend your holiday at Frenchman’s Reef and hope for a second opportunity show you the level of service we are known for. We sincerely appreciate your comments and want to ensure you that with a new General Manager here, we are heading into a year of significant changes and improvements to guest experience. Please keep an eye on our reviews here on TripAdvisor. If there is anything we can personally assist you with for your next stay, please send an email to sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. We hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed and checked this place out for work. Overall - a great property and I am excited to return. The meeting space is really dated and dingy, but this doesn't matter for most people.

Most rooms are quite nice and renovated. While it might not be a 5 star luxury resort it has overall really nice grounds and the pool and beach are awesome. There is also a super picturesque deck to enjoy a cocktail and book.

Food was good for the most part and was amazing at the onsite Havana blue restaurant. That place is seriously cool and very Caribbean.

I've definitely had better staff and service but they came around towards the end. If you get the right rate (I wouldn't pay $400) definitely worth a go!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msutphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for considering Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach resort for your group needs. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriottohtels.com if there is anything we can assist with. Your impressions are meaningful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay - clean rooms, very pleasant house-keeping staff (who even found 2 items we left in room after check out!), busy by the pool but it's high season so that is to be expected; well-stocked store for sundries and snacks. Only negative observation was at the information desk in the lobby (not the activity center) - there was a female employee at the information desk who we overheard helping another guest and when asked specifically about Coral World replied that she didn't know anything about, had never been there - she went on to say she "thought" it was an aquarium but then suggested the guest "google" it. This is alarming that a concierge agent would not be familiar with one of the island's best tourist spots!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Shannon_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your great rating and helpful tips. We appreciate you highlighting the cleanliness and resort market to members planning travel. We have a market at each area of the property, up on the hill at Frenchman’s Reef and down below at Morning Star. I also appreciate the way you shared your impression of the information desk. Now that it is on my radar, we can ensure that our information center is well informed of all St. Thomas has to offer. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews