We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't ask for a more perfect setting for my stay in St. Thomas. The Morningstar portion of the property is right on the beach, any room is just steps from the beach. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is extremely friendly. My only problem was the housekeeping. We ordered room service for breakfast on our first morning at the resort. The dishes sat outside the room for two days before they were taken away. The rooms were tidied every day, but I didn't feel that it was ever cleaned during our stay. Other than this (which wasn't a huge deal to me), it was a perfect stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diverdown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We always love to read when our location and amenities work out so well for a guest's stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. Regarding the housekeeping oversights, we truly regret if we failed to live up to your expectations. We never expect our guests to experience frustrations during a stay therefore I am reviewing these comments with our leadership team. We hope you'll think of staying at Morning Star Resort again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    1,332
    698
    331
    185
See reviews for
1,120
1,754
79
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A few general comments about this marriott:
1) please go in off season - too crowded and expensive in dec-april, esp when cruise ships are in harbor with 2000- 4500 people
2) do not rent a car - taxi's are everywhere and driving is other side of road
I booked thru marriott's web site and check-in was easy , but i could tell it was hotel only maybe 1/3 full at best so it was only maybe 15 minutes
resort has everything - pool, beach, activities such as sailing , snorkling, etc
island tours can be booked in hotel lobby and all beaches in st thomas are public, so even the time share beach is open to hotel guests. views from hotel balcony toward ocean or charlotte harbor are amazing
food is good, but was same items all week with a fresh fresh catch of day only new - drinks were $6 for beer and $11 for most frozen drinks
british virgin islands are close by as well as islands of st john by ferry or st croix by sea plane
staff is attentive without being pushy or aggresive to sell you something
rooms are clean and resort fee of $35/day includes much needed 2 bottles of water every day
kids club is available and 2 pools are shallow enough for young children to play in, but
in high season will be hard to get a chair and bar will get very crowed since I had a drink with the events manger one night and had the chance to see the same bartenders every day
overall, a great trip that everybody will love

Room Tip: book island tours and trip to british islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 303cah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the excellent recommendation! We are grateful for the thought you put in to your tips for travelers to Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort! For the benefit of travelers planning to visit us, feel free to reach out to our pre-arrival team to explore any of these considerations in more detail. They are here on site every day and can help with all aspects of trip planning. Thank you again for giving Frenchman’s Reef your vote of confidence for family vacations! We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had 25 years anniversary and took a 8 days tour to Caribbean mid August with 4 days in Virgin Island and 4 days in St. Martin. The 4 days in Virgin Island was on Marriott Frenchman reef.

The hotel are very nice furnished and decorated and clearly in a 4 star level. The settings for the Hotel are great. Many of the rooms have sea view; our room could overlook the city of Chalotte Armalia and a big part of the harbour, great view. The room was very clean and again very nice furniture and décor and also very big. I will salute Marriott for the free Internet.

Most of the staff are looking old and very tired and are responding in that way. They have a kind of “doesn’t care” attitude, very few from the staff was giving 4 star service. I thing that Marriott has to replace the totally staff from another hotel and let the present rest for a while.
We were also visiting the restaurants at the hotel. The food was average, and the service slow. One evening we ordered the same fish - one came okay the other was not coked enough so each of us ended eating our fish alone, nothing was offered for the mistake.
Every Thing whats involve the staff was ending up bad. We also had some clothes to the cleaning only the half came back. After 2 month I finally got the last cloth.

Some how I can not recomennd the hotel because of the staff. But the settings and the Hotel itself are great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuntravellerVejle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Frenchman’s Reef for part of your anniversary vacation! We sincerely appreciate your many compliments and helpful feedback. We take all reviews of guests into account as we work to increase the satisfaction levels. We’re glad you feel the resort is worthy of our four star designation and found our rooms nicely decorated. Regarding your feedback of the service, please accept my apology for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope that we will have another opportunity to show you the level of service we strive towards. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance. Thank you again and Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went night kayaking and had a blast. The kayaks are lit up and we saw turtles, fish, and beautiful coral. A fish even jumped in the boat with us :) The staff were wonderful and very informative. I would highly recommend this great adventure when you are in St. Thomas!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annactennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
How fun! Thank you for recommending our night kayaking tour with LED lights! We are so pleased! For anyone planning to visit, information on this tour can be found on the Adventure Center website or feel free to call our pre-arrival team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned home from a mini-vacation at the Frenchman's Reef. We live on island and decided to vacation without flying and are lucky enough to have this hotel as a choice. The room, the service, the food was all wonderful. We spent the day by the pool, their frozen passion-fruit concoction is a must try. We had room service for dinner and their phenomenal breakfast buffet in the morning.
The only drawbacks we experienced was the fact that check-in is not until 4pm, which is probably not an issue for guests arriving on island via plane. They gave us one of those restaurant pagers that buzzed us once the room was ready, so we were able to wander the property and relax by the pool while we waited. The pool attendants were very accommodating despite the fact that we had not yet checked in.
We also requested a crib for our room (which they had ready by 2pm), and were a little disappointed that one was not there. Once we called the front desk, they brought one up rather quickly. Unfortunately, it was not one of the two vintage styled cribs with mattresses that we had seen in the hallway, but a pack and pay, and while it had the bottom support pad, there was no mattress. Luckily the hotel towels fit the bottom with enough left over to tuck under the sides. Once the sheet was replaced, we were good to go.
The wi-fi did not work that evening. It said the signal was too low to connect, but a 2 minute call to the front desk fixed that.
In the morning, there was no carafe for the coffee maker, rendering it pretty use-less/dangerous and 20 minutes after our call, we still had not heard back from the front desk. After a second call, they sent someone to our room who was so gracious as they did not have a carafe who brought two cups of coffee. My husband drinks decaf, but appreciated the gesture.
All in all, we were happy with the hotel, the room and the service. There are some things that don't always go as smoothly as possible that can't be helped and some things that should simply be looked for and fixed as soon as possible. I think the biggest take away is to make sure that your room has everything you need, as soon as you check-in. Namely, make sure the coffee maker is ready to go for the morning, since that's the only thing that "went wrong" that could derail a precious day of vacation.

Room Tip: We had a resort view room, but really had a great view of the ocean over the hotel, so we consider o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Thomas-Weddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We vacationed here last year and vowed to return because the experience was one to remember. We returned this October - almost a year to the day. What a difference a year makes. From the moment we arrived - the difference was evident. If people chose to be in the service industry and are miserable - they should leave - not take it out on the guests. Please don't get me wrong ... There are many wonderful employees at the Reef but there are also too many malcontents who actually made this stay far below typical Marriott standards....Just some examples: 1) had the buffet for breakfast - saw our waitress once; 2) dined at the Aqua Terrace the first night - waited 45 minutes for one drink and a glass of water then an additional half hour for two cold hamburgers; 3) 3 consecutive days we left early only to return at about 4:00 PM to find the room was not made up...clearly this is off season and in my opinion the hotel was understaffed....but if you make this trip here are some tips: 1) remember that cars drive in the left on narrow, winding, and hilly roads: 2) your average cab fare for 2 is about $16 - $20 one way and for the most part are white-knuckle rides - renting a car is cheaper but driving in St Thomas will give you an ulcer; 3) take advantage of the water ferry to town....safer than the cabbie; 4 ) don't settle for mediocrity - let management know; 5) bring bug spray and After-bite .... If the wind dies down the "no-see'ems" are vicious; 6). The Marriott has the hotel and the Morningstar Beach club - look at the photos and descriptions for the best choice for you; 7) if you are a Platinum - don't expect the upgrade you would normally get...they will tell you they are sold out...this trip a front desk person told us they were just over 50% occupancy. Be sure to check with your Elite line and stick to your guns. In closing - there are some hard working, professional, service oriented staff members but at least on this trip they were few and far between....sorry Marriott - you just can't rest on your reputation! This property needs an infusion of energy and genuine caring about your guests.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is an upgrade - forget upgrades to the suites. Look at the Marriott Frenchmen's Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mekgolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are disheartened to read your review. It is disappointing that your experience did not reflect our usual high service standards in all areas; specifically the restaurants. Constructive feedback, such as yours, really helps us get a clear perspective of the areas we need to improve. In that vein, your comments are being reviewed by our leadership team. Thank you also for all your suggestions for the ways travelers can make the most of their visit. We hope to have another chance to show you the level of hospitality you experienced last October. If another vacation should find you heading to the islands, feel free to reach out to me through the hotel so that I can assist. We would like to manage your reservation in a more personalized way. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I used to love to spend a night in st Thomas and enjoy the luxury of this perfectly located resort. Sadly it has really declined over the past few years. The pool area is looking very tired and the wear and tear of time is evident. It's a gem of a property but look closely and you will see many flaws that you may not expect from this company. The front desk staff is polite and helpful as they have always been. The servers, bar and food on the patio are sub par and I have given them ample chances to redeem themselves. My facial in the spa was lackluster, the spa amenities are not on par with that of other Lazule spa. I attend business functions here regularly but will now be staying at the ritz instead. The view isn't as impressive but the service is what keeps people coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessbadissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback and perspective with us. Although it is wonderful to hear our team provided the same level of helpfulness during your previous visits, we truly regret if we failed to live up to your expectations with regard to our pool and spa. Both areas have new infinity pools so if your visit was a while ago, we invite you to return and experience our renovations. As you regularly visit the island for business, please let me know if I can ever be of assistance. We would love another opportunity to earn your continued loyalty. Thank you again for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing