We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bride from NJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a beautiful this place was. WOW! I could not get the image of the beach out of my head what so ever. My husband and I stayed at the Morning Star. LOVED IT!!!! The beach was so gorgeous and the pools - all of them - were great! We got married in St. Thomas and had our honeymoon there. Unforgettable memories. Everyone was so nice and helpful especially the concierge, Stephanie Simpsom (originally from Tennesse). She is amazing and so sweet. :-) I will definetly go back.

Room Tip: The rooms at morningside are very nice. Just side note: ac's are very loud but I slept thru it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Congratulations! We are honored you chose Morning Star Beach Resort for your honeymoon and thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback. I will be sure to give Stephanie the recognition she deserves for helping make your stay unforgettable. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    1,348
    709
    340
    191
See reviews for
1,149
1,778
80
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My 1st visit to St. Thomas & what a wonderful place to stay! The staff was very attentive, courteous & helpful. Preferred the beach at Morningstar Resort over the Reef. Stayed in a newly renovated room. Very nice with a beautiful view. The balcony could have used a ceiling fan to provide air circulation. Would have spent more time on balcony!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for this awesome review. We are delighted to hear your first visit to Frenchman’s Reef left you wanting more! We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon. Keep an eye out for specials here on TripAdvisor throughout the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The resort is very pretty. We stayed in the morning star beach resort. You can use the amenities at both the property resorts. The pools are great and the beach is beautiful. You will need cash and credit card. Most of the restaurants at the resort do not take cash. Taxi cabs and other local things want cash. Note the resort will hold a room service charge above your room fee of $500 to cover charges to your room at the resort. You can buy sandwiches and salads at the main gift shop around $10 and sodas around $2.00. The aqua terra restaurant does a moderately priced dinner in the lounge. The beach activities are free for guests. The staff on the beach isn't really helpful. The rest of the staff was super friendly and helpful. If you do not know how to kayak it is at your own risk. If the ocean isn't really smooth don't risk it! The catamaran excursion is awesome! We loved it! They pick you up right at the hotel dock and take you out to turtle cove to see sea turtles while snorkeling. You can take a water taxi or a land taxi from the hotel to the downtown shopping area. We were told by locals to stay on the first two front streets. There is a flea market under blue tents with great deals and they will negotiate. You can get a taxi to red hook and ride the water ferry to St. John's or BVI. The St. John's island is really natural! You will want to take a taxi to trunk bay. Carry bug spray!!! We took the hike to honeymoon beach on Linden trail. It is a rocky steep hike. Make sure you have lots of water and good shoes. The trail starts behind the park visitors center. If you find a good taxi driver get their number and they will pick you up everywhere. The taxi cost a flat rate per person everywhere.

Room Tip: Stay at morning star for the easy beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Running B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Excellent tips! You really know how to adventure! Thank you for this great review of our resort as well as for recommending some island sight-seeing opportunities. For the benefit of travelers planning a visit, we’d like to add to your comments. To clarify your tip about cash vs. credit: room charges, credit and debit are accepted resort wide. Cash is accepted at the front desk and the markets on-site. Also, for activities reservations and options please feel free to reach out to the Adventure Center or go to their website for information. This is a beautiful island and there are many choices for sight-seeing tours and transportation. Above all, let us know how we can assist you. Thank you again for sharing this wonderful review. We hope that you visit Frenchman’s Reef again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Morning Star Beach Resort. While the hotel is undergoing some renovations, the facilities are great. We stayed on the beach but also had access to the entire resort. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel for a vacation to see amazing scenery and to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendations! We have completed our upgrades to Morning Star Beach Resort and appreciate your positive sentiment. I look forward to passing along your kind words to our staff there as well. We hope another visit is in your winter plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent four nights here during September 9-13th with my wife and inlaws. Check-in was smooth staff was friendly. Hotel sits up off the beach but has beach access with stairs down to water or a shuttle. Pools were nice with very few people in them and cocktail server was attentive. Be prepared to pay high prices at the restaurants regardless of time of day. If you go to town I would suggest picking up a few supplies like snacks or alcohol if your a drinker. I made my own drinks and saved a lot of money. There is a market in hotel with bakery items and sandwiches which is a alright place for a coffee or snack. If you like to workout the fitness center is decent with about 12 cardio machines and 8 weight machines along with dumbbell rack. Strongly suggest day trip to St. Johns it was a lot of fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and would love for you to return! That said, I would like to also thank you for taking the time to share your review which highlights some of our amenities such as the pools, exercise room and markets. We’re glad to hear the warm acknowledgement of the service you received at check-in and hope to provide another great hospitality experience in the near future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is not an all inclusive resort, and you will wish it was. Prices for food are excessive, but it makes some sens being as it's an island. However I'd much rather pay alittle extra for the hotel and not have to worry about the food.

The food service is also extremely slow, there is definitely an "Island Time," and it is definitely leisurely.

The beach is nice, and there's some decent snorkeling off to the side where you can see fish and coral. Just staying at the hotel gives you access to free snorkeling equipment so make the most of that.

The pools are nice. The one by the beach is quieter and less croweded then the main one. It also gives you the best of both worlds, close to the ocean if you want to go there, or it's own private pool if you want. Pool water is chlorine, so prepare for that.

I was there in August, which is the off season, so everything is dead, and slow. The place is under staffed durring this time, and it shows. Dinner takes over an hour for a group of 4. Things also aren't open as long, or as early because of the off season. So take that into account if you want breakfast, there's only one place to go. Otherwise you have to wait till lunch time to go eat by the beach.

The view from the main restruant is nice at night with Charlotte Amalie all lit up in the background, so it's worth it to go there at lest once for dinner.

Room Tip: The resort is on the south side of the island, so there's not much to see except water. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lord-xeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you expressing yourself here. You are correct that this resort is not all-inclusive. However, before your next stay call our pre-arrival team because seasonally we do offer an all-inclusive option. You can also reach out to me through the hotel. I would be happy to assist you. I am happy your experience was a positive one. August is a great time to visit if you enjoy the quiet. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llong22
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second time at the resort. We were very excited to see the upgrades they made to the pool area. Our daughter enjoyed the splash pad and the lizards. We even had a friendly cat come hang out with us on our patio at night. As we don't have a kitty at home, we thought it really made the vacation for our daughter. The pool food was good. It also is located very close to our favorite sapphire beach! However be warned this side of the island is much hotter than the Meghan's Bay side. I do however wish they had on site activities for kids younger than 5 cuz sometimes parents want some quiet time too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us a second time. You certainly picked the right place for a family vacation! I am happy to hear your little girl had such fun at our infinity pool’s splash pad and seeing our iguanas. Feel free to share your photos here or on our Facebook page; I’d love to see them. And we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing