We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Cockeysville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation in Paradise”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I don't know where to begin with my stay. Prior to arriving I had communicating with Danielle Sibilly and she is truly an asset to the resort. She worked with me in planning an amazing birthday for my boyfriend and vacation. The resort is beautiful the attention to detail was carried about by almost everyone you encounter at the resort. Nataki, one of the restaurant supervisor's was such a delight and her spirt is amazing. Also Joe, one of the bar managers was a true epitome of hospitality. The grounds are well kept. When I tell you that Danielle Sibilly, created a vacation in paradise that's just an understatement. Room was amazing as well the room service cleaned daily. They do have a selection of restaurants a little pricey for lunch menus, but pretty well priced for breakfast and lunch. Coco Joe's is one of the restaurants on the resort, but a distance from the main hotel.. Check in was not as friendly the young lady was a little rude. So I am most pleased that she was not the first person who greeted us but Chris, the bellman what a beautiful person. The spa services were also amazing kudos again to Danielle for arranging the service. Thank you to Ms. Cuffy, for emailing me a final bill because the system went down.. Our encounter was brief but she as well was pleasant and apologized for the delay. Dining offsite was also pleasant, thank you again Danielle and the entire staff at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort for a vacation I will hold close to my heart.. I can not wait to return.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and had amazing views of the beautiful resort and ocean. We stayed in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I really look forward to sharing your review with our team! Thank you so much for letting us know how our staff members made you feel and helped create memories. It was a sincere pleasure getting to know you a little bit; we’re looking forward to your return trip! Look for specials here on TripAdvisor that can add extra value to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    1,395
    742
    354
    199
See reviews for
1,214
1,850
81
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My trip to the St. Thomas was an amazing experience. The island was gorgeous and people were very nice. Having a wide variety of rum was an added bonus as well. I give them 4.5 stars because a lot of little things went wrong. Overall, it was a great experience but here it goes…

Pros:
A) Beautiful resort and staff was very nice.
B) Lots of options on where to eat and drink.
C) Easy to get to and from the hotel when visiting the city.
D) The water side room view was amazing and it’s worth the upgrade.
E) If you get drinks from the bar purchase the bucket for 12.00, and then fill it up for 9.00. Each serving is enough for about three people. You can easily save around 25.00
F) I would also recommend you look into buying your own alcohol while out there to save money.
G) If you eat the restaurant try the chicken quesidas, mahi tuna, steak, and ceviche. You can’t go wrong with any of these items on the menu.

Cons:
A) Don’t purchase breakfast in the gift shop because it’s about three times more expensive than the city area.
B) If you want to save money just eat the breakfast buffet for $21.00 and skip lunch. We ended up paying the gift shop $7.50 to toast two bagels.
C) The hotel policy is not except cash as a form of payment unless you are purchasing items from the gift shop/ coffee shop.
D) The outside pool ran out of towels a few times because they go to so busy. I recommend you just hoard as much as you need.
E) Marriot had some billing issues, but got resolved very quickly! So make sure you bring extra copies of the package paperwork.

Overall, I had a great trip out there with my girlfriend. We loved everything about the trip and plan on going back next year. As much as I would like to knock the hotel for the little things I can’t. As an avid traveler these past couple years I should know things are always expensive overseas. I would recommend you go for at least 4 full days if you’ve never been to the island before. Also keep in mind the hotel offers an inexpensive water fare that will take you downtown for half the price of a cab. Definitely do your research when coming out there. Great job Marriott! The con’s I listed are very minor, but knowing this stuff first hand makes your experience so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your helpful review and tips for travelers. We appreciate your candor and overall favorable impressions of Frenchman’s Reef. I am happy to hear you loved everything about your trip and will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently my husband I spent 24 hours here to celebrate my friends 50th Birthday. I found this resort to be very clean and well maintained however, it would be the last place I would pick to stay if in St. Thomas. Very vanilla, not feeling island like at all. To get to many places at the resort you had to take a shuttle which was a pain. Very unreliable and we often found ourselves waiting and waiting. (although we made call for it to come pick us up) Restaurants average and pricey, fine but not memorable. Staff had attitude...beach average and small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and feedback! Although the resort was not exactly to your taste, we sincerely appreciate you pointing out that our facility is clean and well maintained. After researching your alternative St. Thomas options, we hope you will reconsider and choose to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent six nights at this beautiful resort and had a blast. We were a little nervous based off of some of the other reviews we read on here but we were very happy with our whole stay! The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean with beautiful views. The beach was perfect for swimming in the ocean and relaxing in the sun and the pool was just as nice. We ate at all the restaurants and the food was good too. Nothing spectacular, but not bad for the price. The location is beautiful but you have to cab it if you want to go anywhere off property. There is lots to do on property and there are even some tours that leave from the dock at the resort. I highly recommend the Marriott if you are looking for a great place to stay on St. Thomas.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Meta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Great review title! Thank you for giving Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort your satisfaction rating of 5 stars! Your compliments of our staff, cleanliness, views, beach and restaurants all adding up to paradise are an honor to hear. We’d like to add to your comment about tours leaving right from our property. For those planning travel, feel free contact our Adventure Center via telephone or online to explore all the various excursions we offer. They can make all arrangements in advance for you as well. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know you “had a blast” here! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were at the Marriott back in April 2013. We are so glad we stayed on the beach rather than at the main hotel. It was much quieter, plenty of room to spread out on the beach every day, and the staff was super friendly. Our room faced the water so we had an ocean view with balcony every day to wake up to and at night. You fell asleep to the sound of the crashing waves on the beach, it was like a lullaby. CoCo Joe's was amazing for breakfast and lunch, even dinner some nights. Sandbar at Havana Blue and Havana blue are outstanding!!! Every day we would come off the beach and have their 2 for 1 pain killas and some tapas at Sandbar. Food was amazing, and the drinks were not light. Yes, it's a little pricey, but you get what you pay for in my opinion. We didn't mind spending a bit more for fantastic food and drinks. Our only complaint was the night we went to the main hotel restaurant -- Aqua Terra. It was LOUD and we felt like being in a cafeteria. Everything echoed and it was awful. My husband and I sat in silence the entire time b/c you simply couldn't hear each other. We quickly ate our meal and went to Sandbar to shake off the experience. I wouldn't recommend it, service was lousy too. If you are going to stay here, stay at Morning Star Beach. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the lovely beach photos! Quiet, great staff, ocean view, crashing waves all add up to a great stay at Morning Star Beach Resort indeed! We also value your positive comments for Coco Joe’s and suggestions for Aqua Terra. Thank you again for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Rooms good, service good, want a nice time at the bar find Dani. Nice drinks, outstanding service, personal attention. If you drink is empty it's because you hid it. Very friendly with plenty of local recommendations. Search her out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for recommending team member Dani. We will be sure to pass along your heartfelt compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

When we first arrived in St Thomas we were immediately taken back by its beautiful landscape! There is a view of crystal clear Caribbean waters everywhere you go! We have always found the Marriot to be good in value, cleanliness and hospitality! So we were so excited and relieved to find out that this Marriott would be no different. When we got to the hotel to check in we were quickly greeted by Sara with her big beautiful welcoming smile! She was very warm and gracious wanting us to have a wonderful vacation! We did request a room change upon arrival and she politely and quickly solved our problem! I can not say enough about her customer service always greeting us by name with her signature sparkling smile. She also was very helpful with nearby attractions and restaurants. She sent us to a small beautiful nearby beach (Coki) to sample local landscape, which was breathtakingly beautiful! We went to dinner in Charlotte Amalie to Blue Beards Castle which featured a restaurant called The Banana Tree Grille which was a 5 star dining experience! We took a cab to The St John Ferry and went over there for the day to snorkel at Trunk Bay where they have a underwater snorkel trail that is world renown! We did not rent a car here as the roads are treacherous to maneuver so we took a lot of cabs which was never a problem. The Marriot property is very beautiful and they have a beautiful beach there too! It is the morning star beach and they have plenty of choices for food and drink there. They have a pool down by the beach! They also have 3 pools up top by the main resort; the infinity pool overlooking the town and cove, and also an adults only quiet area which is quite nice. We ate breakfast at the resort every morning as it was always pleasant, convenient and delicious! All of their food was good to excellent! We had a wonderful fun filled relaxing time and definitely give this facility two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us your two thumbs up! I enjoyed reading the description of your warm welcome by Sara. She will be recognized for her responsive customer service. Your day trip adventures around the island and St. John sound fabulous as well. We sincerely enjoyed the opportunity to get to know you and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing