We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,425)
Filter reviews
4,425 results
Traveler rating
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
3,352 - 3,357 of 4,425 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed in the Frenchman's Cove villas but have spent much time at Morningstar Beach and the Frenchman's Reef pools and restaurants. The entire complex is just great with much to do and extremely helpful staff. We have brought other couples there each time we have visited and each one wants to return with us. St Thomas is one of the USVI's that is not to be missed and we have been to each of them multiple times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your long time loyalty to Marriott and specifically Frenchman’s Cove and Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort. I am delighted to hear you and your guests had a wonderful time at our restaurants and beach. We appreciate the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great time here -- the hotel has the usual amenities, but the restaurant was fabulous -- we had a lovely time there.

The views are breathtaking, and being a little distance from the main part of town was refreshing, especially on cruise ship days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for spreading the word about our cuisine! We love hearing you had a great time overall and hope you have a chance to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you love mega-resorts, this one has it all! Loved the pools with infinity edges and swim-up bar, also enjoyed evening cocktails at The Rum Bar - what a great view of the harbor! Had a great meal at Havana Blue - truly great ambiance. The room, however, was very average, although we had a nice view of the harbor. The A/C was blasting the first night and nearly froze us out. Reported the problem next morning and it was fixed while we were out, so good service there. Check-in process was incredibly SLOW and it's not like there was a line or anything . . . they just took "island time" to a new level. A word of caution, though. If you're staying in the main resort and plan to spend any time down on the beach, you will be climbing MANY stairs. Heading from the beach back up to our room, we climbed 73 steps, then took an elevator 6 floors to reach the hotel lobby, then another set of stairs to our room. At least we burned off a few cocktails! The bartenders were great and the ferry into the harbor was very convenient. Enjoyed couples massage at the spa.

Room Tip: If you want to spend your time on the beach, definitely stay in the units there, not in the main hotel (too many stairs!).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cybercat109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your awesome review! Sounds like you had a great time relaxing at the infinity pools, at the Lazuli Spa and enjoying your evening at The Rum Bar! Thanks also for sharing your satisfaction with our prompt service on your air conditioner. On your next adventure with us, be sure to try out our complimentary shuttle between Morning Star Beach and Frenchman’s Reef which runs every fifteen minutes. Thank you again for choosing Frenchman’s Reef for your St. Thomas vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked everything about the hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful when the airline lost our luggage, and the rooms were beautiful, not to mention the view. Whenever we needed a ride to the center, we would take the shuttle which was always available. I didn't try the spa, but the pools were great. I would suggest the hotel to couples and business travelers, however I didn't notice many families. They also have a very nice wedding chapel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urska C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for wonderful review and recommendation to couples and business travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Dr. Jekyll part of our stay started when we checked in. I had reserved three rooms one of which was for 99 year old lady. I requested and had a GUARENTEED on my reservation email for an ADA room with roll in shower. When we arrived the 99 year old lady was given a regular room no ADA features. I went to the desk and ask and they said they had only three rooms like the one I requested and they were booked the first two nights of our 5 night stay. They offered to move us twice once to a handicap room then to the room with the shower. This was not practical for her caregiver so we waited two nights and then moved the 99 year old.

Mr. Hyde the views are amazing; the staff fabulous, the genuine concern for our plight was obvious. The hotel did everything in their power to accommodate us. Writting about Mr. Jekyll you might wonder why such a high rating. The reason is simply EVERYTHING and I do mean EVERYTHING else was beyond my wildest expectations.

Would I recommend this hotel? In a heartbeat; HOWEVER if you have ADA concerns I would CALL THE HOTEL and talk to MANAGEMENT. I called Marriott cooperate offices to guarantee the right room but that DID NOT WORK.

Room Tip: If you need ADA rooms call the management at the hotel before arrival.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your generous review! I enjoyed your Jeckyll and Hyde metaphor of the satisfying and unsatisfying aspects of your stay. And on behalf of our team, I am sorry for the check-in confusion you experienced. But, it sounds like you were just thrilled with the rest of your visit. To add to your suggestion, anyone planning travel to Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort that has any questions regarding ADA concerns, please reach out to our pre-arrival team here on our property. We would be happy to assist you. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you have another opportunity to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews