We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected too much?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expected too much?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I like to travel to a warm destination each February. The "all inclusive" type resorts were alright but they are all filled with heavy drinkers and big eaters. Quantity of food and liquor was the big draw, not quality. We like to relax pool side for most of the day and are offended by the obnoxious folks that these places tend to draw. This year we decided to pay top dollar for a resort that we would have the opportunity to choose restaurants of our choosing and the expectation of having guests more like ourselves. The resort is on a beautiful location and the pool area is beautiful. The rooms were fine and ours had a balcony with an ocean view. The hallways to the rooms were a bit more rundown than I expected. This property has obviously been here for some time. For $500.00 per night I expected a more pristine look to the entire property. Even though this is in a U.S territory, I'm guessing that the entire staff is Jamacain. The entire time at the resort I felt as if I was in a Jamacain resort without the Jamacain price. The service was alright but not $500.00 per night quality. None of the restaurants had food that I would consider good quality. Service was very slow and the food was cool, prepared incorrectly, and was of low quality. I did not get the feeling that service meant much to the employees. They were pleasant enough but lacked any real initiative to provide great service. The many "ok love, honey, darling" comments from the employees did not improve the service. The Blue Havana restaurant located on or near the property was an exception. If this resort had been half of the price we paid my expectations would have not been this high. The best food here were the sandwiches for sale in the market but $9.95 for a ham and cheese sandwich made on bread you have at home with a can of coke for $2 creates an expectation for something that you will not find. Brunch at the Aqua Terra is $24 per person. To be fair, St. Thomas is not cheap but I did find many restaurants, some on other resorts, that had outstanding food for the same or slightly lower price. Keep your expectations at 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your candor. I am sorry to hear your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We want all our guests to feel that every aspect of their stay including amenities, service and dining choices adds value to their experience. Therefore, your comments are concerning. I am reviewing your suggestions with our leadership team. Although our positive reviews this year have soared, we recognize that there is always room for improvement at the individual level. If there is anything else you would like to suggest or add, feel free to send me an email at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. Thank you again for your detailed suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    1,333
    699
    331
    185
See reviews for
1,121
1,755
79
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days on our first trip to the US Virgin Islands. We rented a car and we were able to park it right in front of the hotel almost every day! The hotel is really in 2 parts, the hotel side which has the spa and infinity pool, and the beach side which are smaller buildings scattered right on the beach. We had booked our room on Expedia, when we booked I had not noticed that our reservation had shown a room without a balcony! To me this is a little odd, why would you even build a hotel down south without balcony rooms. We asked to move but they were full. We read a lot of reviews about the service being sub par, this is not true! Everyone was very friendly, and courteous, except for the people working at Rhumbar. The staff there seemed like they never wanted to be there and made us feel like we were bothering them! We ate at Aqua Terra and Sunset Grill, these restaurants were disappointing. If you must stay at the hotel, go eat at Havana Blue and CoCo Joe's (ask for Jose, he is their best waiter). The infinity pool is nice but could I suggest hiring more staff to take drink orders, they were running around all day and it was hard to get their attention. Also, the hotel claims that they do not allow lounge reservations but they do nothing to stop it. If you go by the pool at 11 am, if you find a seat, you'll be sunbathing with numerous other towels!!! The only other complaint would be the walk from the hotel side to the beach, parts of it were a little grungy. I don't mind the length of the walk, but the curb appeal was definetly lacking. We left a few days to go check out other beaches and St Johns, I think I would have had a much more negative review of this place had I never left. All in all, the rooms were clean, the beach was nice, and the pool was top notch. If they tend to these minor problems, this hotel would be a 5 star. Note, for some reason, they forgot to charge us the resort fee!!! If I would have paid that extra I may have been a little more upset!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaSenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely photos and review. Your opinion is valuable and your suggestions, helpful. We are happy you enjoyed your trip to the Virgin Islands and hope it is the first of many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time visiting St. Thomas with the family and had a blast... The resort was beautiful, clean, and had very friendly and helpful service. Zoogisle was awesome with his dinner recommendations; which were right on target. We thought there wasn't going to be much to do for the kids, but with the Waverunner, Tennis, trip to St. John, the week went fast and the kids wanted to stay longer. The food on the resort and outside was consistently good wherever I went, with some of the restaurants having breathtaking views. The only downside of the trip was the amount of money spent on taxis and the only deterent in coming back. $100 for a family of 5 for a round trip to dinner + the $300 dinner bill is a little excessive. The really need to either adjust the per person transportation charge or move to a zone based pricing model for a group.

Outside of the transportation, it was a great trip...

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the car park or pick a room in the bldg that has an outside hallway, as the cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jecohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us! We are delighted to hear you had a blast and the kids were left wanting more vacation time. I also appreciate your positive comments on our cuisine and the helpfulness of Zogisle. Before your next trip, feel free to contact our pre-arrival team to explore all your transportation options. Thank you again for the 5-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Morning Star part of the hotel. Location of the buildings is perfect - very close to the beach. This location requires extra excersise every morning - short walk to main restaurant with buffet breakfest, however for those who doesn't like to walk too much - they have Coco Joe beach restaurant with a'la carte breakfest.
Coco Joe's is perfect for dinner too - we spend there every evening, service is outstanding - everyone ask for Jose - very special friend and best waiter we've ever met!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamczed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review of Morning Star Beach Resort and Coco Joe’s restaurant. I can see in your photos you enjoyed the beach and infinity pool views. Your contribution is appreciated. We hope another holiday brings you back to St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef in St. Thomas. The resort is huge. It has a very low-keyed atmosphere. If you're looking for some rest and relaxation, this is the place to go. The rooms are clean and are a good size. The view from the room was breath-taking, especially at night. We were upgraded to an ocean view. During the day, you could look from the balcony at the water into Charlotte Amalie and see the cruise ships in the harbor. At night, the mountains twinkle with little lights coming from the homes that are situated there. Access to taxis and transportation is very easy. There are free shuttles to Morningstar Beach. Charlotte-Amalie is about a 10 minute ride. One thing to remember-many of the shops and restaurants in Charlotte-Amalie close after the cruise ships leave, so take that into consideration if you are planning a shopping or dining trip in the area. My only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that the food on site at the hotel and its restaurants was on the expensive side. However, high prices are basically all over the island, so it is what it is. I highly recommend staying at Frenchman's reef. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy2_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the glowing recommendation of Frenchman’s Reef! I enjoyed reading your description of the day and night views of Charlotte Amalie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Morning Star, which consists of low-rise buildings on a small hill with direct access to beach. If you like beach, I recommend this over the adjacent Frenchman's Reef, which has lovely infinity pool but no direct beach. Caveat: beware of "garden view" rooms. Ours had a nice balcony on the side with an indirect view of beach, but some "garden view" rooms overlook the road or the noisy bar -- not nice at all. Service was friendly but slow and casual -- maybe we just had trouble adjusting to "island time." Havana Blue, the finest restaurant on property, was SUPERB -- ask for ocean view table when you reserve. Other in-house food was mediocre.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best, although costly. Garden view might have partial ocean view, but also might over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibraryLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your suggestions and compliments. We are always in the process of creating new cuisine delights and would love the opportunity to earn that fifth star! I am happy to hear the rest of your stay at Morning Star Beach Resort was memorable and enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was perfect in every imaginable fashion. Zogisie was the first person that we met once we arrived. He was extremely helpful and was able to steer us in the right direction. Super friendly and extremely knowledgeable. He was my first person of contact and left a lasting impression on both of us. We are going back in three weeks to get married at this location thanks Zogisie for all of your help

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Zogisle and the rest of our team. If there is anything I can assist with before your wedding, please feel free to contact me through the hotel. Congratulations and we will see you in a few weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing