We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but would stay at Morning Star next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, but would stay at Morning Star next time”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the MFR for 1 night before heading over to St John for 5 nights of island bliss. Upon entering the hotel, the lobby is open air and beautiful. They were having trouble with their computer system, so it took somne time to check in. The room was nice( not overwhelming, just nice), the shower was OK, the bed very comfy and the extra pillows were in the room as requested. There is very little soundproofing in the hotel, so the noise between rooms was really unacceptable to me.

The restaurants are pleasant. We ate lunch and dinner and then breakfast, all were OK ( the breakfast buffet was quite good)- although I don't know how people bring their kids and can afford the food prices. The restaurant servers were very friendly, but on island time.

The walkways to the beach, tennis courts,etc, need maintenance. The observation elevator area needed some upkeep as well. I got a splinter in my hand from the wooden railing, and then had to pay $5.95 for a small bottle of peroxide in the gift shop. It was a treat to be able to get ice cream, coffee, smoothies in the gift shop though.

We walked aorund the grounds and felt that the MS side would be more to our liking- fewer children, less of a resort feel, the scale of MS seemed to appeal more to a seasoned traveler looking to relax. For future planning, we would just go to St John rather that stopping over in St Thomas.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor, with a view to where the ferry dock was being renovated. I think it cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomfieldcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Frenchman’s Reef including your compliments of our comfortable beds, breakfast buffet and gift shop. We understand that choosing between Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Resort is a personal preference and we are proud to be able to offer a variety in one great location. For those planning to visit, feel free to contact our pre-arrival team so that we can outline the benefits of each part of the resort. We also offer a complimentary shuttle that runs every 15 minutes so that no matter which area your room is located, you have easy access to our array of amenities. Also, all our elevators are scheduled to be updated in 2013, so this will not be a problem on your next visit. There are many things to see and adventures to have here on St. Thomas and we sincerely hope you will give the island another opportunity on your next Virgin Islands visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    1,348
    708
    338
    191
See reviews for
1,146
1,777
80
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Morningstar Beachfront...

The positive: We're beachfront! The beach never gets overly busy and the sand and water are great. The restaurants adjacent to us (Havana Blue and Sandbar -- on Marriott property but run independently) are the saving grace of our vacation. The food and drinks are original and top notch and the service is great.

The negative: The property (Morningstar beachfront villas) looks great in the pictures. Unfortunately, in reality the property, villas, furnishings et al are surprisingly "tired" -- despite the recent multi-million dollar renovation. And the service is more than tired -- It appears that the overwhelming attitude of the staff is to do the minimum that could possibly be expected. Maybe it's the "Caribbean laid back attitude", but the lack of care and attention to major detail is stunning... Especially given the price. (Eg: Asked for rollout bed.. Not delivered. Asked twice more and (six hours later) it finally showed up. Without sheets... Had to call for those separately. Received an hour later.) The apathy among the staff extended to restaurant, housekeeping, beachfront and management. And look... I have worked in hospitality and know that these things happen. But this sort of thing happened again and again. Not to pile on, but good food is not that hard to do -- as exemplified by Havana Blue and Sandbar.

This was an expensive vacation. The beach was all that was expected -- great in fact. The Marriott-provided accommodations and service were severely lacking.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveD36red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your sharing the positives and negatives of your recent stay at Morning Star Resort. We’re glad you enjoyed our location and the beach amenities we offer. That being said, I do apologize for the service failures you experienced which clearly dampened your experience. There is always room for improvement and both your food and service concerns are being addressed and used to make the overall experience a better one. Before your next visit, please contact me at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com so that I can manage your reservation personally. Frenchman’s Reef may be more to your taste with our newly renovated rooms, lobby area, infinity pools, restaurants and spas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I just returned from another trip to Marriott Frenchman's Reef Hotel on St Thomas USVI. It has continued to improve in its attention to detail and in providing very personalized service on St Thomas.
The outdoor spaces are grown in and beautiful. The interiors are still beautiful and the views are still some of the best. The location is central and makes it easy to take a taxi (via roads or water) into the shopping areas of town or Havensight. The breakfast buffet is still the best I have had on island. The highlight for me continues to be the kind people who work there and make it as friendly as it can be.

Room Tip: Splurge for the water views... they are worth it! If you are an early sleeper you may want a room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently spent 7 nights at Frenchman's Reef Morning Star Resort in Saint Thomas. We have visited many times and this visit was the best. We had the all-inclusive package -it was great. Despite being given an unsatisfactory room the first evening (obstructed view, restaurant noise, cigarette smoke smell, rundown)-we were immediately moved to a fantastic room the next day. The new room was updated; clean with a fantastic view and great location.

Throughout our visit the staff was fantastic-special thanks to Danielle, Sarah and Zane! Made the trip extra special The staff from housekeeping to management were friendly and helpful-lovely, warm, welcoming people.

The food throughout the resort was good-the buffets at CocoJoes provide good food, great atmosphere in a very relaxed tropical environment. All the restaurants provided good food and service. Initially breakfast was not being served at CocoJoes(big disappointment)however at the end of our stay breakfast was once again being served. CoCoJoes restaurant sits right on the beach offering a perfect ambiance for tropical dining -don’t miss breakfast on the beach!

The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The pools have recently been redone and are very nice.

Overall it was a great vacation-I highly recommend to couples or families-all inclusive package is expensive but everything is included-so worth the money. Just be careful about room selection-I would ask to view room before selecting.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before moving in. Some rooms are not as updated as others. Request beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizpaperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We will definitely give recognition to Danielle, Sarah and Zane for making your trip extra special. I am glad breakfast on the beach at Coco Joe’s was a highlight. Additionally, I am pleased to hear our staff was responsive to your room move request. We make every effort to accommodate the needs of all our guests. For any community members planning travel with questions regarding room style and location, feel free to contact our pre-arrival team. We are here every day to serve you! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next St. Thomas vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three evenings at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort! It was amazing to say the least. All of the staff we warm and friendly. The room was clean and refreshing. We stayed January 20, 2013 through January 23, 2013. The spa services were remarkable as well. We dined outside and listened to the hotel's band. The atmosphere and band with lead singer Denise Hummer topped off the experience. We would recommend to anyone that wants a wonderful 5-star experience.
Fondly, The Gallaghers

Room Tip: Rooms with Bay view and balcony are best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding 5-star recommendations! I appreciate your specific mentions of room cleanliness, spa service and staff warmth. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next amazing stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed on two separate occasions pre and post cruise. First experience was much better; second one was almost unacceptable due to poor room we were given.

Service very spotty. Food passable, but overpriced. Very nice pool and fitness area, but overall this is a facility that offers poor value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us before and after your cruise. Although it sounds like we were not able to exceed your expectations (especially on your second visit), we are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer. If another vacation brings you to the islands, please feel free to contact me through the hotel so we can make certain to assign you to a room you will love. Thank you again for your improvement suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great beach at the Morningstar. Beachfront room was nice, but was showing its age. The walls were quite thin-heard a lot of coughing from one room and cackling children's in another. However, these same thin walls allowed us to hear the surf as well. There are nice facilities otherwise at the Frenchman's Reef "up the hill". Pleasant walk between the two. A bit out from town, but taxis (water or land) can get you there. As for St. Thomas as a whole, if you're not renting a car (and driving on the left side of the road), be prepared to taxi fares repeatedly when you go on excursions, out to dinner, etc.. Room service breakfast was right on time and delightful. Havana Blue is all that. Overall a good experience for a business/vacation combo.

Room Tip: Beachfront is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at Morning Star Resort! Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
980 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,388 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing