We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest service, good food, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great guest service, good food, beautiful view”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed there for my husband's business trip, and had a great time. Everyone seemed to like the infiinty pool with the swim-up bar (which was nice), but the beach was also great-- the resort fee includes all the beach chairs/ umbrellas you need, and pool towels are also available. The food was consistently good- we preferred Coco Joe's to Aqua Terra though. It's only a $6 cab ride to town, so before you take the $8 ferry, think about what you want to do. The rooms were basic but nice, and the balcony was awesome to sit on during the brief rain showers that rolled in occasionally. We were in the Sea Cliff tower, which seems more run down than the rest, but the rooms were still nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your impressions! We are delighted your party enjoyed your stay, especially our pools and beach. With all our on-property amenities, Frenchman’s Reef makes a great choice for business travelers! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    1,379
    731
    348
    197
See reviews for
1,181
1,832
81
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staying here for the NCAA Paradise Jam basketball tournament (here early). The location, people, service and food have been excellent. I have stayed here before and the hotel has gone through an incredible renovation. Great upgrades. The beach and Havana Blue are also highlights.

Room Tip: Oceanview is nice for the sunsets (cruise ships go by). Try a bushwhacker at the RumBar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Good:
1. We had booked a Harbor View room but ended up in the Ocean tower. After a night in the Ocean Tower, I knew I would prefer the view of the harbor. Patricia Telemaque was very accommodating and let us preview a room before we "moved" into it.
2. We liked having the Adventure Center in the hotel lobby and booked several trips through them - we especially liked the New Horizons Breakaway charter of the British Virgin Islands.
3. We LOVED Deidre at the pool bar! She was so nice and very helpful in providing some good island info.
4. The view of the harbor was awesome. it was fun to watch the boats and cruise ships come in and out. And, at night, the mountainside was lit up!
5. The staff does a good job of cleaning rooms each day.
6. We loved having a fridge in the rooms. On our first day, we took a taxi to Kmart and loaded up on some stuff for sandwiches, granola bars, pop and wine/liquor. It saved us a lot of money during our week at the resort!
7. We liked the water taxi to Charlotte Amalie's downtown. It's $14 round-trip, but a neat alternative to the taxis.

The Not So Good:
1. The food on the resort is really expensive. And, not all that memorable. Also, they charged us refills for sodas. And, at $4 a soda, I thought that was a little ridiculous!
2. Our last couple of days, the hotel was very crowded, as were the pools. They ran out of towels and told us we had to wait half an hour until more would be delivered. They have a pretty strict towel policy there, so I was surprised that there were none to pass out to guests!
3. Accept the fact that "island time" may be a bit slower than what you're used to. For instance, at the breakfast buffet one morning, I asked our server for water. I had to ask four more times and wait about 15 minutes before water came to the table.
4. The hotel is in a beautiful location, but it's also somewhat removed from the rest of the city. If you're trying to avoid the high priced hotel food, don't expect many places to deliver. In fact, the only place that does is Domino's.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbor View rooms! The fifth floor and up offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your positive statements about our staff responsiveness and flexibility, the beautiful views from our property and our housekeeping service. We are taking a look at your suggestions regarding restaurant and towel service efficiency so we can take the necessary corrective measures. We’re glad you chose to stay with us and also share your honest feedback. If you visit St. Thomas for another vacation, we hope you will choose to stay with us again! Congrats from the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although this resort is one of the most popular in St. Thomas, it lacks an authentic island vibe. The resturants for the most part are pretty generic and the food is so-so. The best restaurant is Havana Blue which is one property but not owned by the hotel chain.

I must admit, I had a beautiful view with an ocean view room with a step out balcony. Watching people freak out as the lizards walk across the steps that lead down to the water is pretty funny, but they are harmeless and very beautiful. The thing at the hotel is to go down to the water and just relax...after all that's what a resort destination is for. The welcome rum punch is refreshing! Yum!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Ocean Tower...long walk but great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveler884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. The photos of your room and balcony at Frenchman’s Reef are beautiful, a welcome addition to our collection here on Tripadvisor. We’re glad you enjoyed the rum punch and spending time by the beach and pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We attending a wedding in St. Thomas and stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef, in a waterfront view room. The resort is huge and its on a peninsula that overlooks Charlotte Amelie Harbor and the other over looks the Ocean. FYI: Frenchman's Reef has no beachfront (it's on a rocky cliff), but a short walk gets you to the clean sandy beach - be forewarned, the sand fleas here at no joke. The hotel offers free WIFI as well as free use of amenities like lounge chairs, towels, kayaks & snorkeling gear. 3 of the 4 pools are open 24 hours. The property grounds were very well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the AC worked great! The restaurants associated with Marriott had okay food - be aware of their operating hours. (Try Havana Blue, which is not part of the Marriott, great food, but pricey). The night we arrived, around 9pm, we had trouble finding restaurants/bars that were open late and could serve us some food. The drinks and food are expensive, which was surprising. Consider stopping at the local Kmart and picking out your own alcohol. Wednesdays from 5-6 has complementary rum drinks and a variety of cheeses. Since you can't walk to any bars or restaurants, and a cab ride is $20 for two people (one-way) you're a little bit forced to eat on property. It's easy to catch a water taxi to get into town, for about $30 for two people round trip. Transportation costs are definitely something to prepare for as you're budgeting for a stay at this resort. Oh, I cannot forget the $30/day resort fee. We may come back to St. Thomas one day but we wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hockeylvr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and great photos! From reading your review, it sounds like most aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We’re disheartened to hear you would choose to stay at another property on your next visit. Please know we are continuously making improvements to our service and amenities, which has been reflected in our increasingly positive reviews, so we sincerely hope that will give us another opportunity to delight you! We’re happy to hear you found your room clean, the a/c to be satisfying and the beach refreshing. We can add that the resort fee covers Wifi, bottled water, non-motorized beach equipment, gym use and spa and activity discount offers for your convenience. We also offer a shuttle from Frenchman’s Reef every 15 minutes for those who prefer to not walk. For any other questions and to discuss transportation and dining options, we invite you to contact our pre-arrival team at the resort. We are here to serve you! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was wonderful. The main lobby and infinnity pool area views were breath taking... We would stay here again. If you plan on seeing the island or leaving the grounds either take a lot of cash for the taxi rides or I recommend renting a car.

Also I would like to tell you the staff here are very accommodating and willing to help plan your days here. Zogisle and Shineyna were two members of your team that really made our stay here more memorabile. Thank you :)

Borst Family

Room Tip: If you want to be poolside stay in the main hotel or the cove area. If you want to be on the beach s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the awesome 5-star satisfaction rating and compliments for our team! Our new renovation included the lobby and infinity pool (at Frenchman’s Reef), we’re thrilled you found them breathtaking. For those planning travel who are considering transportation options here on the island, feel free to contact our pre-arrival team and we’d be happy to give suggestions. We hope you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were undecided about staying at the main section of the hotel or the Morningstar part of the resort , which is located down the hill from the main building. We settled for the Morningstar section of the resort. So HAPPY we did!!! Our room was #5334 beachfront, it was recently renovated and very clean. We literally walked down the steps and you were on the beach. The Morningstar section is very intimate compared to the main resort. Beautiful views of the beach from our balcony. We loved listening to the sounds of the ocean at nite & waking up and watching the cruise ships come in to port. The staff at the Morningstar were extremely helpful & friendly. A HUGE KUDOS to Colin at the main desk, Fitzgerald and Clint. They provided us with a lot of useful information about restaurants, activities around the islands and the resort itself.
You can take a short walk & enjoy the gorgeous views to the main building or a shuttle is available every 5-10 minutes. The pools & views at the main building are unbelievable. Infinity pools, swim up bar, palm trees. What more do you need!! Our only disappointment was our meal at Coco Joe's. My husband ordered a steak dinner & I had Mahi Mahi . My Mahi Mahi was ok... but the steak was like a piece of salisbury steak. Not at all worth the money. For $93.. there are much
better restaurants in St Thomas. If we return to St Thomas, we will definitely return to this resort again.

Room Tip: Morningstar 3 story building beachfront. We had the best room #5334... loved the views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience and for your confidence in our service at Morning Star. We’ll be sure to give Colin, Fitzgerald, Clint and the staff a nod of approval for a job well done. We also appreciate the feedback on your meal at Coco Joe’s, it’s very helpful. We hope you will return to St. Thomas as we continue to make major improvements on all areas, we can assure you a repeat of the same great Marriott experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing