We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite World Class, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

They just underwent a major renovation. So for the hotel is clean and has new amenities. I wanted to rate this hotel a 5, but some minor items made it less than world class. I have to start by saying of the hotels on the island, I think this is probably the second best behind the Ritz Carlton. Good location, great service, excellent pools and beach. They didn't pay attention to the details. For example, outside the lobby on the main level deck overlooking the bay, you can see cable wires running along the edge of the deck. Again, not a big deal, but not world class. There is a man made water fall when you walk from the hotel to the beach area. Nice, but you can see the pump and all of the pipes that run up the faux rock wall. Not a big deal, but it takes away from the sight. Overall, good hotel, you won't be upset if you choose to stay here,

Room Tip: The Harbour view rooms are nice, but are a walk from everything else. Not a big deal as the wheathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphR898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for the compliments on our renovations, location, service, pools and beach! Also, I will pass along your improvement suggestions to our maintenance team to review. We hope another vacation brings you back to Frenchman’s Reef again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,720 - 3,726 of 4,425 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with several restaurants, pools, store, a small beach area where you can get snorkeling equipment and has taxis' coming all the time to bring you where you want to go. The staff is very friendly. Even the security staff is. They helped us get into our room after we locked ourselves out. The only drawback is that food and drinks are expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Sounds like you had a great stay with us, also enjoying what the island has to offer! Thank you for the positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Frenchman for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in the Virgin Islands. While the hotel is beautiful, spacious and potentially all-inclusive, it was a little stuffy and expensive (for our budget). We were new to the island, so for the first day we didn't feel like leaving the resort, but after a $50 breakfast, and $60 pool-bar bill and a $75 lunch we decided we couldn't afford to stay there fore more meals! We wanted to splurge for our first few nights, but didn't want to spend our whole vacation budget on food!
Cost of food aside, its a great location just outside of the Charlotte Amailie with fantastic pools and sprawling beach and all the Resort amenities. If you are looking for the resort feel/inclusiveness, then this is your spot! You don't get a taste of what the island has to offer though if you don't venture outside its walls.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite over looking the harbor. It had an AMAZING VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your candor! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope that you will consider visiting again when coming to the islands. A couple things we can suggest; look for specials here on Tripadvisor and through your Marriott membership if you have one. Also, our concierge staff is always at the ready to suggest and make reservations for dining and adventures. You can make contact with them (by calling the resort) then when you arrive you will have a familiar partner to assist with all your vacation needs. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

With a number of years under its belt, this huge property still delivers above its weight. The beach is narrow and long and along with the property, very well maintained. The rooms are dated but comfortable, with great mattresses and new coffee machines. Everyone is very nice (although things are done very casually), and for me, the prices were reasonable. The food could be a bit more inspired but is sufficient. In my opinion, this is not a "full service" hotel like one might find on Hawaii or maybe a higher-end Caribbean islands, but the overall effect is nice.

Room Tip: Obviously, an oceanview is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for the excellent review! Our goal is to provide the best experience for visitors to St. Thomas. There is always room for improvement! If there are any specific suggestions you would like to share with our leadership team, feel free to send me an email at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. We learn and improve so much from satisfied guests and appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Here's a thankful shout out to Nakita Matthew and Julian Stewart especially; Reynee & Celia at the adventure desk; Shimon and his assistant in security; Petronella, Zogisle and all the staff at Marriot Frenchman's!! Both our needs and wishes were graciously and swiftly met with pleasant follow-up and efficiency. Definitely one of the TOP places to stay in the Caribbean because of these wonderful employees and their fresh, clean facilities at the Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star! We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MItravelerwithmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you from our leadership team for outlining the specific staff members who contributed to your rating of Frenchman’s Reef as one of the top resorts in the Caribbean! We appreciate it and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My finance and I were newly engaged and were very excited to stay at a fancy resort and consider it as a venue for our wedding and/or honeymoon. Frenchman's Reef Marriott blew it. First we were assigned a 'garden view' room at Morningstar. Here, 'garden view' actually means view of the road, parking lot, and lots of headlights invading your privacy. We asked to transfer to the main hotel. We were transferred to a new room with another view of the parking lot, despite it being the off-season and there were clearly ocean-view rooms available. The room's ventilation smelled like mildew, mold, and smoke. The pillows smelled like mildew. The carpet was peeling off of the tile, and the door was poorly sealed, allowing light and sound to pour in from the hallway. The staff did not exchange the towels (even when left on the floor) and did not replenish the coffee. The food in the main hotel restaurant was mediocre at best. The only positive thing I can say about our stay is that the mojitos were tasty, but overpriced.

Room Tip: Do not allow them to assign you a 'garden view' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elle-B99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. From what I understand after reading your review, you were very unhappy with your room selection. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our team for failing to provide you a room that met and exceeded your expectations. If there is anything further you would like to discuss with our management team, please send an email to me at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. We would welcome the opportunity to work with you directly. And if you should decide to visit St. Thomas again, please don’t hesitate to contact me through email or the resort so that we can micromanage your reservation process including room type selection and check-in procedure. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Frenchman's Reef in September and did a 9p tour with Nick. It turned out to be a private tour with just my boyfriend and I - and it was a blast. Nick did a great job navigating us around the waters by the hotel and resort. His stance on his paddle-board allowed him to find spotted rays and other sea creatures for us to observe and follow through our lit up clear bottomed kayaks. He was knowledgeable of the area and island and provided entertaining and interesting narration throughout the tour. I would definitely recommend doing the night kayak tour - such a fun unique experience. Bring your underwater camera is you have one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your review of the evening kayak tour! We highly recommend this activity for guests and it can be booked through our Adventure Center (on property or online).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
3.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,469 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing