We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not daylight robbery”

Blackbeard’s Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.50*
and up
Blackbeard's Castle, Skytsborg Tower, and Downtown Guided Walking Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of St. Thomas's most famous historical sites. A Walking Tour rich in History and Beauty. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Spectacular views, sparkling pools, life size pirates and more.
Sussex
Level Contributor
258 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not daylight robbery”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

A bit of an interesting introduction by the guide and a great view. The statues of the pirates and info about quite interesting. Wander around and then take the 99 steps down to town

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_1st_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    212
    128
    44
    30
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Web pictures don't do it justice”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Three of us sailed the BVI islands for a few days and needed a hotel to stay at overnight in St. Thomas to catch a flight the next day. We researched online for a few places and among some very pricey ones found Blackbeard's. After looking at the website I wasn't overly enthusiastic but the price was right and close to the action in town. My opinion changed 100% once we stepped foot on the property grounds...the hotel far exceeded my expectations and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I recommend this place to anyone and everyone for it's incredible views, friendly staff, clean rooms and grounds, center location and reasonable price. Very very pleased with our short stay and will not hesitate to return when we come back to BVI.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a very pleasant one!! My only recommendation is that you have a professional photographer come in and capture the beauty of this hidden gem on your website!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A little sceptical at first given $10/per entrance fee but after hearing a convincing story about Blackbeard and seeing the view from the top of the tower I was hooked. Actually quite a nice self guided walking tour through some old buildings, a rum distillery and a couple of bars of course. Pirates walking around, have a swim if you wanted. An easy walk up the historic 99 steps to get there from downtown.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Outstanding View”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I visited Blackbeard's Castle as part of a self-guided walking tour organized by the cruise ship (a bus dropped us off here). Blackbeard's Castle is not really a castle but a 35' high watch tower located on the hillside overlooking the bay. The area has its share of pirate history but there is not much to see here (a restaurant, gift shop, bar, and swimming pool). We are greeted by an employee who provides us with the history of Blackbeard the Pirate. Then, we move to the brick tower where we wait our turn to ascend the spiral staircase consisting of 36 steps to the top. Since the viewing platform at the top is small, a maximum of 8 people are allowed up there at one time. From here, the hillside and water view are outstanding. If you want to take pictures, you might consider doing this in the morning or early afternoon since the sun may get in your way later in the day. I only had time to take a few pictures before returning to the bottom so others could have their turn.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food and ambience”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Blackbeard's is a stone's throw (uphill) from our great B&B, At Home in the Tropics. We sat on their outside terrace. Great view, good service, great food, but too little of it. The grilled shrimp was excellent, but there were only two of them. I got the scallops, also excellent-three of those. Had a great wine. There was a keyboard player inside and we danced. Lovely evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard’s Castle also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Blackbeard’s Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing