We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it?”

Blackbeard’s Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.50*
and up
Blackbeard's Castle, Skytsborg Tower, and Downtown Guided Walking Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of St. Thomas's most famous historical sites. A Walking Tour rich in History and Beauty. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Spectacular views, sparkling pools, life size pirates and more.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth it?”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hard to find. Got lost several times (we had our own car) but finally just stopped at a hotel we believed near to it. It was closed already 3or4pm but walked up the 100 stairs and was unimpressed. Cost to go in was around $8-10 just to look around. Not much inside from what we could see. Lots of other things to do. Would not waste time on this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    217
    130
    44
    29
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“After-hours”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was not with a cruise ship and decided to walk around the town after most of the cruise ship people went back. I walked up the 99 stairs and over to Blackbeard's Castle. It was about 4:00 in the afternoon and everything was closed. However I was lucky enough to stumble upon a hotel worker who let me in to see the tower. I then stopped at the bar for a cold beer. The views were amazing, and without many people it was a very relaxing, calm, romantic atmosphere. The sun was setting, and the cold beer was perfect after the walk up. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I also had a chance to see all of the pirate statutes stationed around the grounds. I was told that they normally charge people a $15 fee to get in after-hours...while I wouldn't pay to go in, it is a great place for a few happy-hour drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MalOrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbeardsCastle, Manager at Blackbeard’s Castle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good day and thank you for your feedback regarding our wonderful property, Blackbeard's Castle! The grounds are open for historical tours Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday 9am to 2pm. At the gate our guests have an option to purchase a ticket which grants admission to the historical tower and colonial homes. Additionally, guests who purchase tickets get a rum punch at our brand new Rum Vault! The all inclusive ticket is the best value for the park as it provides access to all the fantastic attractions! Unfortunately there is no admission options available for after hours. Future guests to St. Thomas are encouraged to check the Blackbeard's Castle website prior to their arrival for the most up to date information regarding the park and hours of operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Trip”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Slightly dissappointed with this tour although quite informative fells like your being lead througha proccession of shops .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shopping not your thing...Check this out”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were on the Jazz Cruise 2013 and one of the ports was St. Thomas. We are not shoppers so we were looking for other things to do. We decided to see Blackbeard’s Castle. First as you may have read from other reviews, it’s not a Castle, It’s more of a tower.
The self-walking tour is worth the price. You do get a map and a background talk at the beginning and then there are people along the way and at the various stops to answer questions or give help.
Thumbs Up: Rum sample, gift shop has a nice variety with very decent prices, plenty of views for pictures, access to pools on the property. The Amber Museum was very interesting and the person there was very knowledgeable. They have a person dressed in pirate gear and many statues of various pirates.
Thumbs Down: The upper bar after the Rum Factory. It was a hot day so decided to stop at the bar for a cool Rum drink. We sat down and were ignored by the bartender who was too concerned about closing out her draw (maybe) we were not sure what was going on, but we were finally able to order our drinks. They offered several different drinks but we decided to order the 6.00 drinks. Gave her a 20.00 and when I counted the change she charged us for the 7.00 drinks. We were very disappointed as up to that point everyone else was very nice. We continued our tour and at the end of the tour (Amber Museum) there is another bar. WE SUGGEST THAT YOU WANT UNTIL THE END FOR A RUM DRINK.
They serve the Swashbuckler – a frozen Rum drink that is AWESOME. And the bartender there was VERY Friendly and just the prefect person to make us forget about the upper bar.
As you can see in my option the pros far outweigh the cons. You do need to be able to handle walking... there are a few places to sit and rest along the way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicluver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Start at the top”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a great view into the history of St.Thomas and early carribean living,and the view from the top of the turret is virtually breath taking,and fantastic.You must park at the top and go through the whole area including going down the 99 steps and through the Amber museum(which is quite beautiful in itself).Take your time going down and then take a taxi back up to the parking lot for your car,our group waited at the bottom while one of us brought the car down and around which was very easy for those with any physical handicaps.There are lots of steps so i wouldn't recomend for wheelchairs but my cane and i did fairly well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard’s Castle also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Blackbeard’s Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing