We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip”

Doubloon Pirate Ships
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were on Bones with Jason, Rikki D and Darren what a great crew. It was the first time I had been snorkeling and had a great time. The crew was great in showing those of us that were first timers what do to. The crew was very knowledgeable about the wildlife, Jason went snorkeling with us and showed us the interesting things to see. The were plenty of drinks and the painkillers were great. I can not wait to take this trip again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank moe40moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert R, Owner at Doubloon Pirate Ships, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your review. I will let Jason, Rikki D and Darrin know you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    11
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure in St. Thomas!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked our adventure through the Disney Cruise Line. The staff (Captain Al, Steve and Melissa) were all GREAT, very personable and attentive. Lots of turtles to see at Turtle Cove and plenty of space to spread out. We had fun on the leisurely sail back from snorkeling. We'll definitely be doing this excursion again next time we travel to St. Thomas!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert R, Owner at Doubloon Pirate Ships, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review about Al, Steve and Melissa on Doubloon. Come sail with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling Tour”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had such a wonderful time with the Doubloon Pirate Ships tour of Buck Island and the turtles! The water was crystal clear and the turtles came right up to us! The staff was so knowledgeable about the wildlife and the islands. We really couldn't have asked for a better experience! We booked with Royal Caribbean and this excursion had the best reviews from the staff on board as well as past cruisers. Very memorable and would do it again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert R, Owner at Doubloon Pirate Ships, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love the clear water and turtles as well. Thanks for allowing us to show you our world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Amazing tour for the entire family”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were on Blackbeard's Revenge for Spring Break '12 (booked from Allure of the Seas-Turtle Cove Sail & Snorkel). This was an amazing tour (I think the best of all the islands!!)....appropriate for all age levels. Rikki D & Jason were amazing with my 3 sons (10,7,4yrs)....helping them with their gear, entertaining them with virgin pina coladas, tattoos and manning the ropes. The sea turtles were breath-taking and there was plenty of attention paid to not disturbing their natural habitat. Well worth the money and i would highly recommend. We can't wait to go back again next year!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert R, Owner at Doubloon Pirate Ships, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
I will make sure Jason and Rikki D see your review. We look forward to having you and your boys back on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Snorkel/Sail Trip Ever!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've been on the Doubloon several times - every experience was excellent and one of the highlights of our vacation! The crew is experienced and very energetic, getting everyone involved in the fun. Be sure to try the Banana Bender/Painkiller with fresh-grated nutmeg on top - outstanding.

Note: I would not recommend this experience for children under 5 or 6.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert R, Owner at Doubloon Pirate Ships, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your repeat business. We love to see old friends again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubloon Pirate Ships also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Doubloon Pirate Ships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing