We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar

Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Featuring contemporary culinary delights from around the world with modern imaginings of New World cuisine, an award-winning Martini bar several years running, a vast wine selection, and superior, elegant service, Grande Cru prides itself on providing and unforgettable experience to locals and tourists alike. Voted "Best Martini Bar" seven years running by the Daily News "Best of VI" poll, Grande Cru has also been awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 5 consecutive years. Grande Cru is a can't-miss dining experience in the elite mega yacht marina of Yacht Haven Grande.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had lunch here after a snorkeling trip. The food was fresh and well-prepared. The tuna gyro was a great twist on a classic and the salmon BLT was outstanding. Definitely get the house-made potato chips. We sat on the patio and had a nice view of the harbor. Service was competent but a little on the slow side (but we weren't in a hurry).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhinodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    73
    35
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Manager went out of her way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am a restauranteur from SC. I am use to excellent food and an incredible wine selection. We were seated at a nice table with wonderful views of the marina and yachts. Service was prompt and friendly. The wine list is definitely large enough to please most wine snobs, but my palate is a little more discriminating. The list was lacking in the higher end selections ($200.00 and up) and I inquired about a Captain's List. The manager came by and quoted a couple of bottles not on the list that did not spark my interest and I informed her that I was looking for something French today. She graciously called to their sister restaurant Oceana and found a wonderful 2005 Chateau Beychevelle for us. The manager hustled to Frenchtown and retrieved the bottle for us while I enjoyed a bottle of 2008 St. Cosme Gigondas Hominis Fides that I brought with us. Our tapas style meal was excellent as we enjoyed a housemade Charcuterie Plate, Braised Karabuto pork belly, Housemade Pappardelle Pasta, and finished with an extremely large selection of 8 artisan cheeses. Having dined the previous nights at The Cellar, North Side Bistro, Thirteen, and Havana Blue this is a spot I would go twice in my 10 day stay. Thanks again for the wine service and see you soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nmbtax11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My new favorite spot on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food and atmosphere is great. What really makes it are the bartenders - Alex and Brandon! Alex is the most beautiful and friendliest bartender ever. Brandon is the best with his creative drinks and shots!
A must stop on St. Thomas!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Walked to yachthaven from bluebeards castle for a delicious lunch.We had an artichoke app. then the cobia w fennel which was delicious. Good wine selection and nice views of million dollar yachts.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fooshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“With Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved it. The service the food the scenery was perfect. Jazz night at Yacht Haven makes for a perfect night when coupled with delicious appetizers and unforgettable creme brulee

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing