We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the water, good food, high corkage fee”

Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Featuring contemporary culinary delights from around the world with modern imaginings of New World cuisine, an award-winning Martini bar several years running, a vast wine selection, and superior, elegant service, Grande Cru prides itself on providing and unforgettable experience to locals and tourists alike. Voted "Best Martini Bar" eight years running by the Daily News "Best of VI" poll, Grande Cru has also been awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 5 consecutive years. Grande Cru is a can't-miss dining experience in the elite mega yacht marina of Yacht Haven Grande.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the water, good food, high corkage fee”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a good dinner there Monday 7/16/12 with our house guests and enjoyed the view and outdoor dinning. Service was excellent. Roasted Chicken dish was very good as usual but not special. Sliders were quite dry probably because of that "healthy" lean meat everyone uses. Soup special (lemon califlower) was very good as were the greek salads, and the flatbread pizza appetizer we had. Took a special bottle of wine (Super Tuscan) and purchased one bottle (Chinon) from restaurant. Corkage on the one bottle we brought was $25 which I think is excessive for the island. Several restaurants on island charge that for corkage although recently some of the better ones are reducing to $15 or $10. Would rate this restaurant above average for food and view (although not in the top five on St Thomas) if it wasn't for wine corkage fees that are not in the same trend as mainland restaurant trends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieWineloverTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    77
    35
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Scallops”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The scallops & watermelon appetizers are a must have!!! If you are looking for great wines and delicious food you must go to Grand Cru.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yvettemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Service was wonderful. Food did not live up to the price.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The service was outstanding, the location is great but the food was just ok. When only one steak is offered they should be able to cook it as requested. My 'rare' steak was medium well. The server was willing to have it fixed, but how do you un-cook a steak. Since I was already staving by that time and everyone else had their food, I just ate it as delivered.

For the price, $31 for a New York strip, I would expect it to be awesome and cooked correctly, but it was neither.

The apps were good and different. We would go back for drinks and apps but probably not for dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vidiverbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The service, scenery and food is exsquisite. The price point is in the fine dining range, but it is definately what you receive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service, wonderful meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We ate at Grand Cru our last night of our trip. It's located at Yacht Haven and has a beautiful view of the water and ships. It's rather small, inside and out, but a favorite among the locals. We actually met a local friend there for dinner by his suggestion. There were not very many people there, and the service was great. They are known for their bar and awesome bartenders and our dinner did not disappoint. My husband tried 3 or 4 specialty cocktails, the peanut butter martini is a must. They also make all of their own house infused vodkas- if you enjoy a good cocktail, this is the place to be. We had mussels, swordfish, and organic chicken and everything was absolutely wonderful. I would recommend reservations if cruise ships are in or if it's a busy season, but for a foodie, it's a must.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing