We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco tour is a must do !!!! Make sure to buy the cd after your trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virgin Islands Ecotours

Virgin Islands Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.19*
and up
St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour
Ranked #3 of 40 Tours in Charlotte Amalie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VI Ecotours offers multi-eco kayak, hike & snorkel adventures in three locations: St Thomas’ Mangrove Lagoon, Historic Hassel Island in the Virgin Islands National Park in St Thomas’ Charlotte Amalie Harbor and at Caneel Bay in St. John’s Virgin Islands National Park. Half day and full day tours with lunch depart daily from each location. Paddling & snorkeling instruction provided. Easy to paddle, sit-on-top kayaks. Professional guides. Fun for beginners and families.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eco tour is a must do !!!! Make sure to buy the cd after your trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a kayak, snorkel and hike tour for our family of 4. (2 teens) You can't miss the bright signs from the road so you know you have found the right place. Jason was our guide and he was great. He has a fun personality and you can tell he really enjoys his job. We paddled in groups of 2 maybe 2 miles (I could be wrong and it may have been less than that) and then went on a short nature hike. You really should wear real shoes(that can get wet) for this as it is rocky, but it is an easy hike that younger kids could easily do. Jason took us to a spot to find hermit crabs and we had a crab race. He pointed out a lot of the plant life and told us about the apples that are toxic and the plant that helps with burns and injuries. We stopped several times and Jason took pictures of our family with many pretty views behind us. We got to hold a sea urchin and see the blow hole(it is really cooler than it sounds and the water coming thru it makes for a great photo shot). We hiked back and had a short lesson on snorkeling> Now I have never done this before but Jason took the time to show us how to use the snorkel and mask and it was so cool to see all the fish under the water. Jason also took pictures of us snorkeling and of some of the fish for us. When it was over we paddled back to base and waited for him to burn the photo cd. For $45 you get a cd of all the pictures from your trip plus a bonus cd of over 1000 of the best pictures ever taken by the Eco Tour company. It was worth it.

Here is my best advice:
1. wear close toed water shoes with a good walking sole
2.wear a hat and sunglasses
3. put on lots of sunblock and bring it with you to reapply after the snorkel trip
4.bring a water bottle (they will give you one free if you don't bring one)
5.Relax and have fun!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diamondduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    61
    2
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
“full private tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The tour was really fun, only two small families totaling 6 of us including our tour guide Jason. He is very knowledgeable about the plants, fish and the natural enviornment over the mangrove. We purchased the CD capturing all the pictures he took for us during the trip and over 1000 photos he took over the years. What a treasure of the nature that is! My daughter was learning all the names of fish, sea creature, plants just looking at the amazing pictures. It is truly an educational ecotour! Jason was great too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie08844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
1 review
“Great for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great afternoon! The staff at "Virgin Islands EcoTours" is energetic, fun, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. My family (ages 13 through 47) enjoyed being outdoors in the beauty and serenity of the Caribbean. I appreciated being away from the crowds of the cruise ships in town. My 13 year old daughter (who is not particularly athletic) easily mastered paddling the kayak and my son (age 17) appreciated the marine life he was able to see on his first snorkel trip.
The snorkel location wasn't the most amazing I've seen, but we still saw plenty of colorful fish, a ray, sea urchins, and a barracuda. Red Point is beautiful and made a great back drop for some family photos. I wish we could have spent more time hanging out there.
Our group's photographer, Jason, worked hard to get some great action shots of us kayaking, as well as some portraits in some particularly beautiful locations. He has a high quality camera and a good eye. We paid the optional $45 to purchase a photo CD of our trip and I am glad we did.
Thank you to all of our guides; Shawn, Dihanna, Casey, Tyler and Jason. Your excursion was one of the highlights of our cruise!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeriTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Highly recommended tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited St. Thomas for our Honeymoon in June 2013. This was the one activity we were really looking forward to and it did not disappoint! We were lucky enough to be the only two on the tour for that day. Shawn was our guide and EXTREMELY knowledgeable and great fun! We are frequent kayakers/hikers back at home- but kayaking through the lagoons was such a different, amazing experience. It was definitely a day I will always remember!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this tour through our Royal Caribbean cruise, and had a great time. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The location is absolutely gorgeous, and it was a great change from sitting by the beach/pool all afternoon. We kayaked along the mangrove trees, snorkeled for a bit, and had a short (leisurely) hike with a break for photos, before we kayaked back to the base location. We saw lots of great fish, sea urchins, and hermit crabs.
If you have a waterproof camera/case, definitely bring it! Also, bring plenty of sunscreen because there isn't really a break from the sun at all while you are out. Keep in mind that anything you bring will probably get wet.
This was a fun activity for our group of adults, and other groups with kids seemed to enjoy it as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Islands Ecotours also viewed

 

Been to Virgin Islands Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing