We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great kayak and snorkel excursion”

Virgin Islands Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.19*
and up
St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour
Ranked #3 of 41 Tours in Charlotte Amalie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VI Ecotours offers multi-eco kayak, hike & snorkel adventures in three locations: St Thomas’ Mangrove Lagoon, Historic Hassel Island in the Virgin Islands National Park in St Thomas’ Charlotte Amalie Harbor and at Caneel Bay in St. John’s Virgin Islands National Park. Half day and full day tours with lunch depart daily from each location. Paddling & snorkeling instruction provided. Easy to paddle, sit-on-top kayaks. Professional guides. Fun for beginners and families.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great kayak and snorkel excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This excursion was better than expected. After a crazy bus ride up and down a narrow road we arrived at an pretty lagoon. We kayaked along mangroves to arrive at a beach with breathtaking views. Our guide, who was very knowledgeable and fun, then led us on a brief walk. The snorkeling was the best part for me, as I saw so many beautiful fish. Definately enjoyed myself and would recommend to anyone. Only regret was that I didn't bring my camera to capture the sights, but they provided a locked place for you to secure your things.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sduclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    62
    2
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful, informative adventure. Zulu, our guide, did a fabulous job. We had a very personalized tour as there were only 3 kayaks with us. It was something fun and different to do while on St. Thomas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kayaking the mangrove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The mangroves of St. Thomas were an awesome site to see. Enjoyed island walking visiting the hermit crab village and learning so much throughout the tour. Zulu was very informative and made the adventure fun and also interesting. He also kept my husband occupied with candy so he was a happy camper. Snorkeling he took us to spots that were sure to please. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Charlene & Richard Smith

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank special13158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eco Adventure - Nice Combination of Nature and Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We selected this activity as part of a cruise excursion that was called "Kayak, Hike and Snorkel at Cas Cay," and it was really a lot more fun than we expected.

The kayak involved a short paddle across the lagoon, a short hike (do-able in your flip flops) and a relaxing snorkel near the mangroves and a return paddle to where the buses dropped us off.

They provided a dry place to safely store your valuables (ID and cash) and your towel, and you can strap your waterproof shoes to the kayak, to use during the hike.

We stayed close to the guide, who provided a ton of interesting information about the animals, plants and ecosystem around us. If you enjoy a little bit of activity and the natural beauty of a largely untouched ecosystem, this is a great excursion. There were several families with grade school and teen children, who really enjoyed playing in the water and rock formations.

What to bring: Waterproof footware, a towel, waterproof camera if you want to take photos, bug spray, cash to tip your guides (as they rely on tips to make their living)

If you don't have a waterproof camera, you can take advantage of their photo services, as they will sell you pics of your afternoon out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this excursion during our Carnival cruise. Jason was very informative and organized. The kayaking was fun and challenging. We've had better snorkeling. There were many fish to see but the water was not very clear like you would expect in caribbean waters. The hike was short but it took you to a rocky area with a blow-hole which was interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cartho53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Islands Ecotours also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Virgin Islands Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing