We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just do it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts

Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 42' Classic Motor Cruisers specializing in Private Charter & Per-Person Island Hopping Trips in the US & British Virgin Islands. We originated the Per-Person Island Hopping trip and have been sharing and perfecting the experience ever since. Our stops have been carefully chosen to offer a varied, exciting, and unhurried introduction to the B.V.I. Come, let us show you the neighborhood! Choose a Private Charter to explore the U.S. and B.V.I on your schedule, tailored to your activity preferences. Our highly experienced Captains can help you find the perfect route and stops for your day based on weather and sea conditions.Snorkel Gear, Floats & Float Vests, Fresh Water Shower & Full Open Bar on board. Comfortable sunning and shaded seating. Maximum 10 Passengers on Pirate's Penny and 12 Passengers on Stormy Petrel.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Waltham, Mass
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We vacation in St. Thomas every year and rarely choose to leave our beach.
This year, we wanted to see the British Virgin Islands.
Many excursions had one island and snorkeling, but the Stormy Petrel had the best of everything. See the islands, snorkel and lunch for a reasonable price.
We researched the Trip Advisors’ reviews and chose the Stormy Petrel.
I get seasick and knew to sit outside the boat to avoid it. I am not a very strong swimmer, but the Captain and Meghan make it easy and set the pace according to your ability. They keep it interesting with information about the islands and hold your attention throughout the trip. You will snorkel and climb through pirate’s caves. You do need to be able to move about to really enjoy it. We recommend this day trip for those seeking a different kind of day trip adventure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misseydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    13
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best adventure of our VI trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Al and Carrie were terrific guides for our day tour of BVIs..felt immediately comfortable. Really appreciated how they described the sights along the way. I want to learn about the places I visit. Thanks for a great tour of The Baths on Virgin Gorda!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous day with Captain Al and Carrie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a first class experience from first contact to booking to awesome day on the water for 10 of us. So yesterday's weather was perfect which helped, but Capt. Al and Carrie kept us happy, content and safe all day. With lots of local lore and tales, the trip to Virgin Gorda was a beautiful ride with a quick stop before the Baths. We were able to snorkel into the beach which was a beautiful swim. Al led us through a one-way tour of the remarkable, awe-inspiring Baths. A truly spectacular geologic phenomenon. Lots of photo opps! Carrie made it so easy for us too, transporting all our snorkel gear from beach arrival to meeting us at the end of Al's Baths tour. We enjoyed an amazingly wonderful snorkel swim between the boulders and back to the boat. Then on to Cooper Island for a delicious lunch break and then a relaxing trip back through the islands for a stop-over at Jost van Dyke for a famous Painkiller at Soggy Dollar Bar, which is just a funny experience with a so-so rum drink in your hand. We had a fabulous day with Captain Al and Carrie--thank you for being such wonderful hosts! This is the best small group charter ever!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

After researching BVI tours for days while on the island, we came across Stormy Petrel and Pirates Penny. My daughter and I wanted to make sure that my husband felt comfortable on a boat because, being a boater himself, he is a bit skeptical about getting on other boats. We chose this trip over "Bad Kitty" because it was more intimate. There were 11 passengers on the boat including the three of us and it was wonderful to get to know everyone. We were also glad that we weren't packed into a larger boat with way more people. Captain Al and Savannah were helpful, professional and extremely knowledgeable about the history of the islands. If you book this trip you won't regret it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific BVI adventure aboard Pirate's Penny-December 28, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Captain Al and Megan took great care of us for our day on the water to BVI. Beautiful weather, great insights to local points of interest, unlimited boat drinks and crew's super care made our day wonderful. The Indians were beautiful for those who snorkeled and our guided tour of the Baths on BVI were a high point of our trip. Our small 5 person group made for an intimate family trip with our crew taking care of our every need. Highly recommend Pirate's Penny for anyone looking for a day trip on the water throughout the US & BVI waters and points of call where you can relax and feel safe. We'll remember this day for years to come. Rob from New Jersey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robertbp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing