We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Day !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts

Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 42' Classic Motor Cruisers specializing in Private Charter & Per-Person Island Hopping Trips in the US & British Virgin Islands. We originated the Per-Person Island Hopping trip and have been sharing and perfecting the experience ever since. Our stops have been carefully chosen to offer a varied, exciting, and unhurried introduction to the B.V.I. Come, let us show you the neighborhood! Choose a Private Charter to explore the U.S. and B.V.I on your schedule, tailored to your activity preferences. Our highly experienced Captains can help you find the perfect route and stops for your day based on weather and sea conditions.Snorkel Gear, Floats & Float Vests, Fresh Water Shower & Full Open Bar on board. Comfortable sunning and shaded seating. Maximum 10 Passengers on Pirate's Penny and 12 Passengers on Stormy Petrel.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Day !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Have been on loads of water excursions. This was by far the best. Great staff, very knowledgable and engaging. Got to see alot, and snorket in a great area. Only 12 guests per boat, that was in super condition Will probably go back out on this trip again next year when we come back! Highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a terrific day on the water..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    13
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Carrie and the Captain were awesome. They both were very knowledgable about the area and very helpful. We snorkeled all day and they guided us to some unbelievable spots. We had a week swimmer or two,but the brought floats out help them along.

I would recommend this crew to anybody. If you go anywhere else you will be disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Local G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a group of 10 wanting to snorkel and island hop. Our Captains were Rick and Carrie. This was our entire party's favorite day of our vacation!!! The boat was nice and clean, the captains were fun and accommodating, the drinks were outstanding, and the itinerary was perfect!!! I really can't say enough good things. Our plan was to snorkel at The Baths, but the water was a bit choppy, so Rick recommended we snorkel at Indian cove instead. We are so glad he spoke up and we were flexible with our itinerary. The day was perfect!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“"Amazing Day"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took the day trip with Stormy Petrel on a Thursday when they do a full tour of The Baths, lunch on Cooper Island, and snorkeled The Indians. Captain Rick and Carrie were a wealth of information and explained everything to us. Our trip through The Baths were fabulous! Everything was pre-arranged for lunch at Cooper Island. Excellent food, and a table reserved just for our group. Snorkeling the Indians was unbelievable. We even saw rare Spadefish. It helped we had a beautiful sunny day to enjoy everything. I would recommend this trip for anyone wanting to visit The Baths and enjoy great snorkeling if you are staying on St. John.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BandBinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very accomodating and a good way to spend a day at the islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a group of six that travel together frequently and wanted to primarily relax on this trip but do something for a day other than beach time and eating and drinking. This fit the bill well for a very diverse group. We took the stormy petrol tour to baths of virgin gorda, and to cooper island for a great lunch, and a stop at the soggy dollar bar on yost van dyke. We enjoyed hearing more about the islands and Galen was informative. Rachel was sweet and quick with the drinks and we really enjoyed getting to know our shipmates. The most impressive part for me was Al who i booked the trip through. He called and emailed quickly and frequently to make sure we were all set and knew what to bring, etc. He helped me make sure that our group could do the swimming and snorkeling and baths exploring that was all part of the
trip. We had couple pulled into the shore on floats, so we could all enjoy the experience. I struggled with whether a catamaran would have been better but wanted to see more in one day so we went with this option and the limited number of people per boat. Good service and a good experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank susieQandjacob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Stormy Petrel & Pirate's Penny Motor Yachts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing