We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private Cliff of Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Porch view of Magen's Bay Living Room 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Porch view of Magen's Bay
Living Room 1
Living Room 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Outdoor Dining Room
Outdoor Dining Room 2
Magen's Bay View From The Driveway
Bedroom 2
Common Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Porch Seating Area
Relaxing Outdoor Shower
Side Yard
Pathway To The Deck
Entrance to Sugar Bird Cove
Relaxing Deck Under The Trees
House View From Deck
Stairs Leading To Sugar Bird Cove
View Of The Coral Reef From The Side Yard
hammock for that afternoon nap
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shelby V
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private Cliff of Paradise”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

When planning a surprise 51st birthday trip for my mom to St. Thomas there were many things to look forward to; The great Magen’s Beach, Diving off of St. John, Golfing the Devils Triangle and of course the beautiful island itself. We never would have expected that our favorite part of the entire trip, and the reason we are returning would be our home away from home; Sugar Bird Cove.

As with anything in life the devil is in the details when it comes to trip planning, and what is perfect for some may not be for others. That being said this home is ideal for those looking to break away from normal “resort life”, ready to have a once in a lifetime trip. It would be unjust to try and capture the beauty of this home or the grounds surrounding it in a mere paragraph, waking up every morning to the sounds of waves crashing on the reefs below or watching the days end light fall on the sails of departing boats are best experienced firsthand. Living in a more remote area of the island reaps the benefits of privacy, open beaches, and mountains to explore untouched by hundreds of beach chairs and souvenir shops. This being said the home is far from “roughing it”; Full Terracotta floors, Vaulted Wood- Beamed Ceilings, Home Theatre with drop down Projection Screen, DVD & cable in each room, top of the line Kitchen Appliances & Washer/Dryer, and Outdoor Bath & Hammock are just some of the houses offerings. They even have you covered down to small details like Ready-To- Pack beach gear (including towels) and electric wine openers, they offer full comforts of home.. And in our case a few better than.

When staying on islands, St. Thomas being no exception; there are times where the power will go out. Luckily the villa has a fantastic open lay out, when the doors are open (which all have mosquito screens to protect from too much of an outdoor experience) the cool ocean breeze flows through the entire house, we never found ourselves in want for ac. However in the event you find the day time weather is a bit much, both of the bedrooms have A/C units so shutting the door and briefly cooling down is always accessible. Behind the house there are two routes to the uncharted beach below, one requires a brief drive down the road and is about 5 minutes away, and the other is a 15 minute hike for the spirited down the mountain side. Personally I preferred the latter, though my family stayed up drinking wine awaiting my return and go pro footage for that particular adventure.

If you care to see the great Magen’s bay beach closer than off the terrace, then hop in the car! It is three turns and 15 minutes away, and being able to people watch from the house lets you choose the perfect quiet times to head over and tan. We preferred Hull Bay ourselves, 5 minutes away from the house, offered much clearer waters, tropical life, scuba diving and snorkeling! Known as the hideaway beach for locals it held up to its reputation, we spend a good portion of our time soaking up the sun on their pristine and uncrowded beaches! Overall St. Thomas left nothing for want and no matter which part of the island you venture too, you will be sure to find breathtaking views, fantastic outings and good company.

The owners Chris and Noelle are very forthright with their description of the property and any possible difficulties that could arise staying there, if you have any questions just ask they are a pleasure to talk to! My family and I had an incredible experience and were very disheartened to read such an inaccurate & unfair description of Sugar Bird Cove from the prior review, we hope that whoever comes across this humble corner of paradise scoops up the opportunity to see it for themselves, you won’t regret it! On the last night of our trip we realized despite having driven to St. John, the top of Magen’s bay and across the island 4 times over, we had not eaten out one evening of our trip, never finding a place as scenic and peaceful to end our days as our own ocean front view. Thank you Chris & Noel for giving us a trip to remember.

***
Last but not least, let’s discuss the drive down to the house from the main road. Driving in St. Thomas anywhere is an adventure within itself, a handful of street signs, curvy mountain roads many of which are not update, paved and all extremely narrow. Getting to the house is no exception, and once you get over the idea you have to drive down part of a mountain side there, the drive itself really isn’t difficult. The views down are breathtaking, but you WILL need a 4x4 to reach the house! Chris and Noelle happily meet you and will guide from you’re embarkation point. If three ladies 25, 16 and 51 can do it, I have confidence anyone can make the commute with ease!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & Views
Liked least: No Complaints
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah7...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house is as beautiful as advertised. It is NOT air conditioned in the main living area or kitchen. We lost power and water for almost 3 hours the first evening and were told that "It's just a way of life here". No power, no water and a 7 month old in 80+ degrees. We never stayed a single night there and the owner refuses to refund our money after we were forced to leave and stay at a resort. He said the power issue was not his fault. I agree. Not having solar panels or a back up generator while running a business IS ABSOLUTELY your fault. Making the customer take the fall when you cant provide power or water and they are forced to leave is COMPLETELY your fault. FYI...I had power and water in both Iraq and Afghanistan so no excuses! This situation was handled extremely poorly and needs to be rectified.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback, even if it is a mix of positive and not so positive comments. You are correct regarding the temporary loss of power, which unfortunately, is the way of life when in the tropics and we sincerely regret the inconvenience. Your suggestion of having alternative energy measures is being reviewed at this time.
Again, thank you for constructive comments and we hope you may return to the island in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esaether3...
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Sugar Bird Cove”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week at Sugar Bird Cove and enjoyed every minute! I'll try not to duplicate the other reviews that are all spot on but I have to start with saying that the owner, Chris, is extremely personable and was helpful from the start by meeting us at the airport and showing us the way to the property. The location of the villa is wonderful, having a beautiful view of Magen's Bay from the rear deck, and offering a feeling of relative seclusion on a Caribbean island away from the bustle of the nearby city of Charlotte Amalie. St. Thomas is a compact island with many things to see and do, so everything is close by car. Because the island is hilly, the roads can be challenging - or rather 'fun' if you like to drive! I'd recommend renting a Jeep for the undercarriage clearance (4WD is not really necessary) and we found the best rates at Discount Car Rental. While the villa has a fully equipped kitchen and has a gas grill on the deck for preparing any sort of meal, we chose to go to the North Side Bistro repeatedly which was surprisingly close by, only at most a quarter mile up the main road, and has a full bar and a varied menu. Also nearby, in the other direction, is Magen's Bay Beach which is recognized as one of the best beaches in the Caribbean. The villa is stocked with beach gear like chairs, towels and snorkling equipment which was very convenient. Getting to all the points of interest from Sugar Bird Cove is a relatively short drive however I'd like to add that our GPS app kept choosing the minimum distance path which often took us on a series of poor quality roads. It's actually more simple and comfortable to check a map for the major routes and use those. For example, from the villa to Magen's Bay Beach, take Rt. 37 then 40 and 35. For heading down to Charlotte Amalie simply take Rt. 35 going the other way. Another convenience is that there is a small market just down the road from the villa that provides essential items. So, in other words, while the villa has a secluded feel, there are nice restaurants and markets closely located nearby.
My wife and I have enjoyed visiting various islands in the Caribbean and St. Thomas has about the most to offer in all categories that we've seen. If we do head back to St. Thomas, we will definitely stay at Sugar Bird Cove again, it was extremely comfortable and pleasant.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and range of amenities available in the villa
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovingTro...
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely what I wanted and MORE!!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with our daughter and her BFF (teenagers) to St. Thomas and Sugar Bird Cove was EXACTLY what I was looking for! Stunning views, spacious house with everything you need to feel like home and just an overall tropical feel. We didn't want to be in the hustle and bustle of downtown... we wanted to feel like we were in a tropical paradise and that is exactly what we got!! Seriously, this place is gorgeous. The house was stocked... The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals, there were plenty of towels, beach chairs and snorkeling gear, along with books, movies and a 12 foot projector screen! And Chris is fabulous! Our flight was supposed to get in in the afternoon and kept being delayed and he and his wife came to meet us at the airport at 11pm! Super nice guy!!

Even though the road to his house was treacherous, I will still rate this house and experience a big fat 5 stars!! I loved Sugar Bird Cove!

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stay59982...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Perfect!! STAY HERE!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough positive things about this house and the wonderful people that own this home! The house is GORGEOUS and the pics dont do it or the view any justice! Chris is very kind and welcoming! Any questions we had, Chris was just a text away and took care of anything that we needed. Yes 4WD is recommended but their driveway is not terrible. Chris and his lovely wife, Noel, went beyond the duty for us on a personal level and I could never begin to repay them for their kindness and generosity or even put my gratitude into words. You really feel like family. I would stay here over and over again and plan to again! STAY HERE!! You will not regret it! The outdoor shower option was a big hit with our group- Caribbean view while you shower? Yes please!

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindaket
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful St. Thomas USVI location and lodging”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Sugar Bird Cove overlooking Magen's Bay on St. Thomas with another couple for two weeks over Christmas and New Year's 2015. This is a terrific property and makes a wonderful venue for two couples or a family of 4. The listing is accurate in giving you an overview. The pictures only begin to show how delightful it is to be in the house and surrounding grounds. The house is designed to catch the tropical breezes; there are plenty of spots to hang out together OR to have private space by yourself -- important for longer visits. The kitchen is well equipped so that making meals was easy. The gas grill is new and very nice. New washer and dryer were a real plus. All recreational equipment that we needed for the beach was provided, too. The home owner lives nearby and was very responsive to any question we had about the house and/or the area. He was also good in answering questions before our visit about various amenities, recommended car rental agency, etc. He met us at the airport and guided us to the property the first time -- a real help! As other guests have indicated, having a high clearance, 4 wheel drive vehicle is a must for getting in and out of the neighborhood. We definitely recommend this property to others and hope to return ourselves!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design of the house and the location
Liked least: Driveway down to house is not for the faint-of-heart
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackcatm...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Paradise!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family and I stayed here last week. We had a 9 year old and a teenage daughter. This place is beautiful! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Secluded and away from all the hustle, yet close enough to the best beach on St. Thomas. Magens Bay is only a 10-15 minute car ride away and can be viewed from the home. We often had breakfast and grilled dinners in the home with lunch out-usually on Magens Bay beach ($6 rum punches!). Hull Bay hideaway is down the street for some great fish tacos. This was a pretty rad place to come home to after a long day of exploring or hitting the beach. Our evenings were spent lounging on the beautiful terracotta balcony, listening to the wildlife and waves. Bug spray is a must! Our next St. Thomas trip will include a stay at this place!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the Balcony
Liked least: The mosquitos!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing