We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice dinner. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Italian - CLOSED

Simply Italian
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Simply Italian is just that, simple great Italian food. We are making a varitey of different sauces, along with our own selection of pastas, forming our pork and beef meat balls by hand, slicing our own premium meats, and using the best, and most fresh, seafood available to us. We are also using as much local produce as possible. Our friends at Green Mountain Farm on the north side of the island are growing the majority of our herbs and greens used in our cooking and our drinks. Please joing us for dinner. Reservations recommended at (340) 77 SAUCE.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the resort where the restaurant is located. We had an excellent meal and outstanding service. I had a lasagna bake which was very good. The tiramisu was top notch. We went back later in the week just to have dessert. Great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank sord360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Good Pasta And Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This is located at Magens Resort, great people and great food, must try it! The activities director of Magens Resort (Mederith) sugested this place. My husband isnt much on Italian, but love the stuffed shells. The manager is super nice and wants to make sure youre happy with your meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Findmeonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went to this restaurant on a recommendation from a vacation planner. Looked at the menu ahead of time....liked it....so we decided to give it a try. Cab ride to the North end of the island was an experience. Very dark and windy roads.....but once you get to the restaurant.....a very cute place....located at Magens Point. One of the owners welcomed us and we were seated inside (it was raining so no one opted for outdoor dining!). Tables were very nice and NOT jammed too close together. Waitress was extremely pleasant, attentive and answered all of our questions. Now for the food & drink........we were given a "sample" of an island mojito which was delicious and a small bite from the chef to "stimulate our palates before dinner. I honestly can't remember what is was....but it had salmon, herbs.....whatever it was.......delicious too! We split an appetizer (mushrooms stuffed with chicken, sausage, beef with a Dijon mustard on the side).....LOVED IT...and a ceaser salad which was also good. Then we had the pasta special - a lasagna stuffed with sausage and beef and filled with ricotta, parmesan & provolone cheese and the penne with meatballs. Everything was sooooo good. And then....for dessert - we had zeppolis stuffed with apples and drizzled with caramel sauce, powered sugar and homemade whipped cream. We were in heaven!!! The menu has many fish, veal, chicken dishes but we decided to "play it safe" and eat pasta. We were very happy with our choices.....BUT......we will be returning to this restaurant again next week.....and will be a bit more diverse in our menu choices this time!!! **For those who like brunch - we looked at the brunch menu which is served on Sundays from 11am to 3pm.......it looks awesome and we plan to give it a try on our next visit to St. Thomas. My last comment - the owners are not only great chefs with many years of experience - they also know how to "greet" people and understand what needs to be done to make a business successful. They celebrated their first anniversary yesterday.....and I hope it is one of many more!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely atmoshpere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had several meals at this restaurant and every time we really felt pampered. Staff is very friendly and polite. The menu is not extremely divers but very, very tasty. My favorite thing - the dessert - it is the zeppoli (forgive my possible spelling mistake) with chocolate or raspberry sauce. Delicious! We'll be back soon, hopefully we'll catch the 'sunset special'!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food with a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The risotto here is to die for! If it's available you must get it. The chicken parmesan is also very good. Make sure you leave room for dessert, as the chef's special desserts are awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Italian also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing