We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Italian was simply delicious”
Review of Simply Italian - CLOSED

Simply Italian
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Simply Italian is just that, simple great Italian food. We are making a varitey of different sauces, along with our own selection of pastas, forming our pork and beef meat balls by hand, slicing our own premium meats, and using the best, and most fresh, seafood available to us. We are also using as much local produce as possible. Our friends at Green Mountain Farm on the north side of the island are growing the majority of our herbs and greens used in our cooking and our drinks. Please joing us for dinner. Reservations recommended at (340) 77 SAUCE.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply Italian was simply delicious”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Simply Italian, but it won't be our last. We took advantage of the Sunset Menu, a fixed price limited menu that did not seem limited at all! The dinner includes an appetizer, entrée, and the chef's special dessert of the day. There are several choice of appetizers and entrees, and even some add-ons.

Our table ordered the soup of the day, Caesar salads, stuffed mushroom of the day, chicken marsala, chicken parmesan, and linguine with marinara and Italian sausage. All of it was delicious. Dessert was a pastry with apple bits, fresh whipped cream, and caramel sauce and it was yummy!

The regular menu and daily specials looked great. One of the biggest treats was the wine list - lots of really good choices in a wide range of prices. I had one teeny problem - cold broccoli - but it was replaced with hot broccoli almost as soon as I mentioned it. We'll be back for brunch, and for dinner, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2_Travelers_in_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Terrific!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I live on St. Thomas, and have been business owners here for six years. We are always looking for a new place to dine. We stumbled on Simply Italian because we had a coupon, and were simply amazed at how good it was! The service and meal presentations are excellent - the serving sizes are perfect, the atmosphere is very nice, and the food was awesome. One of the best Marsala sauces ive had. We have been back several times since, and it has been just as good each time.

There have been several restaurants at this liocation, but this one is the best so far. We have been recommending this place to our friends ever since.

The homemade donuts and whipped cream in salted carmel sauce is my new favorite!

The Early Bird special (6-7, I think) is a great value is you don't have coupon ;-) Don'y miss this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AquaActionDiveCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Life Changing Meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

5/13/2013-We chose the make your own entrée: pick your pasta, sauce and protein. I combined the in-house made tagliatelle pasta with carbonara sauce and sea scallops. Chef Paulie does outstanding hand made pastas. Huge portions; enough for leftovers the next day. Ordered the Apple Italian donuts for dessert were awesome, with caramel sauce. Leftovers were great for breakfast the next day. Absolutely DO NOT MISS this restaurant experience. It was so good, we went back 3 days later for birthday dinner: special steak entrée for the evening was prime rib, cooked to perfection; mushroom risotto and grilled vegetables. OUTSTANDING MEAL; service was attentive; atmosphere was good. Indoor and outdoor seating; great views of Magen's Bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice and casual place for a quiet dinner”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I didn't have a chance to try a lot of restaurant during that pretty quick getaway but this one worth to try.

Service was nice , we had Kelly to take care of us .
Food was delicious , i hope you'll have a chance to try the Mojito basil shot one of my favourite.

This is a simple restaurant , the kind you need after an exhausting day at the beach or working.
I am not a real fan of the island but if you go St Thomas try this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
2 reviews
“Exceptional Lobster”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went to Simply Italian when one of our party wanted to. Got an outside table. Nice atmosphere. Nice service. When Jude heard they where offering stuffed baked over-sized lobster she suggested sharing one.. This is the first time she has offered that in the 20 years I've known her but this lob was huge. It was priced around $60 for half of about a six pound lobster. And cooked just right.. we are sushi fans and cried the last time we ordered lobster (Mims) as it was overcooked to death. Thanks Paul and staff for a wonderful meal and a great night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Italian also viewed

North Side, St. Thomas
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing