We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. Steak. Ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island View Guest House

Island View Guest House
Ranked #33 of 259 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best. Steak. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Ron's ribeye was by far the best we have had. Views are awesome and Beth, Ron & Faith are superb hosts. I wish there was a place like this back home!

Helpful?
1 Thank feistyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Steaks on the grill at a friends house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

With a friend that know how to cook a steak. Fun, funky, and on a hill overlooking St. Thomas. Honor bar = mix your own drinks, Salad bar = make your own salad. Not fine dining but casual and friendly. Get the Rib Eye and enjoy the view. May be the best value on the island.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We saved this gem for our last night in St. Thomas based on reviews from Trip Advisor, and they did not disappoint!?! The ribeye did indeed cut like butter and the Honor Bar was a pretty awesome concept!! After dinner we enjoyed cigars on the owners patio and relaxed with their dog, all while enjoying a cool island breeze! Definitely call ahead to make a reservation. We'll go back anytime we're in St. Thomas!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quikcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GUEST HOUSE FIT FOR A KING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ron and Beth, the owners of the Island View Guest House, are just awesome people: very friendly, accommodating and fun! The place has the best fish and rib-eye steak on island with affordable prices. The "serve yourself" and honor-pay system when it came to drinks allowed you to feel like you are at home. Great view, atmosphere and staff! It is also very clean and eco-friendly, an avant-garde in the hotel arena on the island they use solar!!! ProSolar!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FunEveryWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hidden Secret in St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Missed out on this great restaurant in 2010. There was no missing out in 2013. The best rib-eye in the universe. Ron cooks your steak to perfection, just the way you like it. Succulent!! Beth and Faith greeted us immediately and provided wonderful service from the minute we walked in.
The honor bar is always a hit!! Reasonable prices also. Tough to find, but to tough to give up on. You will follow the mountain road to the best meal on the Island. Our first visit will be followed by many more. Thanks Ron, Beth and Faith.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mt126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island View Guest House also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Island View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing