We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nate's Custom Charters

Nate's Custom Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nate's Custom Charters provides first class private charters throughout the USVI and BVI. Offering everything from snorkeling, island hopping, famous beach bars, to fishing and swimming with the dolphins. Combine any of these options and we can create the best day of your vacation. We customize to what the customer wants and give them the maximum freedom to enjoy their day without major time restraints. Your private boat includes drinks, snorkel gear, and the best captain! Check out Nate's new 33' WORLDCAT! Seats 8 comfortably up-to 10 passengers. With Nate's Custom Charter it's Always Your Day, Your Way! Make it a Great Day! Captain Nate
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Girl's Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Six of us "girls" chartered a boat from Nate for our own private port excursion while on a cruise. It was a perfect day!! Nate was very friendly... we could tell it wasn't just about taking us around the island, he wanted us to have fun and enjoy our day at St Thomas/St John. The snorkeling spot he took us to was amazing... as was the beach where we stopped. (I didn't plan the excursion, but everything went smoothly.) Nate was a fantastic tour guide as well and gave us a bit of history and info on some of the nearby islands.
Our day on the boat helped provide some really great memories of our vacation!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We (group of four) chartered Nate's boat for a day trip during our cruise stop at St. Thomas. One phone call and Nate put us on his schedule and emailed the details to us. He didn't require a deposit, there were no cancellation fees and no waivers to sign. How refreshing!!! Nate fit as much as he could into our tight schedule, tailoring the day to our interests. His boat is immaculate and gets you where you are going in a hurry. He is an interesting and knowledgeable tour guide. He knows the waters well and is a pleasure to work with. We spent most of our time on St. John, snorkeling in two different places. With more time we would have gone to BVI but couldn't fit it in. While it rained most of the day in St. Thomas, we didn't get a drop where we were, which is one of the best things about a private charter. They can adapt to the conditions and take you where the weather is most congenial. Nate's fees were very competitive and we would charter with him again in a heartbeat. You do have to take a taxi to Redhook for the charter, which cost us $10 per person each way. We had a fast and savvy driver on the way out and a very slow "island time" driver on the way back. Both were interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, New York
1 review
“Awesome day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were out with Nate a few years ago and had a blast. We had so much fun we went down with our friends and even though Nate was out of town he had Daniel take us out. The boat was comfortable and rode great I a chop. We went to places you can't get to unless you have a boat (caravel rock, willy t, and the Indians). We had so much fun bar hopping jost van dyke that we chartered the boat again two days later. Daniel was awesome! He told us local stories and history of everything we did and showed us a great two days of fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skiandboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Best Day of Our Vacation"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I took our 18 year old niece and her friend on a cruise for their high school graduation. We had already been to St. Thomas, so we were looking for something different to do. I read the other great reviews so I contacted Nate via email and he responded quickly and answered all of my questions. We had no plans and asked him to plan a fun day in the Virgin Islands. He was great. First, he took us to see Kenny Chesney's house (our niece is a fan). Next, we went snorkeling (Nate provided all the equipment.) For lunch, we sailed to the British Virgin Islands and then to another quiet cove for more swimming and snorkeling. On our way back to the dock, he made a phone call and arranged a taxi for us. Nate provided drinks for the day; he was personable and professional. We plan to sail with Nate the next time we're in St. Thomas. Our niece and her friend both voted our day with Nate as the best day of their trip and want to plan a reunion trip. Thanks Nate!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank m9119g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“Unbelievable day in the Virgin Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I went down to the Virgin Islands for our ten year anniversary. We found Nate on TripAdvisor and read the great reviews. I can honestly say the reviews were spot on. Nate provided us with an unbelievalble day in the USVI and BVI. He asked us what we wanted to do and then crafted a trip that made for an unforgettable day. We went snorkeling off of St. John, Tortola, snorkeling off of Norman Island (Indians). We then went to an amazing lunch spot on Jost Van Dyke called Foxy's Taboo. Hung out on Sandy Spit and then dropped by the Soggy Dollar for a couple of Painkillers. We then asked if there was anywhere else he recommended and took us to a deserted beach on St. Johns. Truly an amazing end to the day. He will even pick you up at the resort if you are staying at the Ritz. If you are ever on St. Thomas and are contemplating a private charter. Nate's is the way to go. Thanks again Nate!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ewingchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nate's Custom Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Nate's Custom Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing