We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort
Ranked #18 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my favorite meal my entire week on St. Thomas. I had the sea bass and my husband had the mahi. I recommend going about a half an hour before sunset so you can enjoy the view while it is still light out. Very romantic and peaceful setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeymooner725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    184
    57
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My first trip...”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My first trip to this tranquil place will certainly not be my last. We enjoyed chef's creations throughout the evening and well into the night. Set apart from the livelier bar area, the Sunset Grille is aptly named and delicately appointed leaving you to dine in a relaxed and romantic atmosphere.

I skipped the salad course in favor of the crab cake appetizer (and with an eye toward dessert) and they were fantastic. Presented in a line of three they oozed lump crab with a very small amount of very flavorful filler. Delicious. After a goat-cheese and bacon amuse-bouche my crab-encrusted mahi-mahi was a real standout. Others had the rack of lamb and bacon wrapped filets, made to order with their choice of sauce and accompaniments. Everyone raved. The manchego au gratin was ridiculously tasty. For dessert I chose a goat cheese infused cheese cake that was to die for.

The wine room was worth a visit and the full bar helped us frame the meal nicely. Excellent food, excellent service and an excellent setting. Nothing but props to the Sunset Grille -- your new chef is fantastic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mastermoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALynes03, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mastermoses,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent experience. It is great to hear our team created the memorable dining experience we strive for and you enjoyed your dinner from drinks to dessert. You praise is most kindly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chill outdoor beach bar/restaurant”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food, relaxed atmosphere. Very friendly wait and bar staff. Drinks are good, frozen ones can be made virgin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank witchydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Meal and Fire Show”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On Wednesday and Sunday evenings they have a fire show on the beach next to Sunset Grille. What a welcome surprise for us and really made our evening that much more pleasant. Food and service were excellent. This was a wonderful change of pace and would include it on your trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Meal & Setting!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a very nice family dinner at the Sunset Grille. The food was very good, with some of the dishes described by our party as "spectacular" or the "best fish ever" (the Chilean sea bass) while others were enjoyed they were not fully inspiring (the grouper special with oxtail). It is a very nice setting next to the beach, and although we ate a late dinner and missed the sunset, the beach is lighted and looks quite pretty. As with many restaurants on Saint Thomas our service was on "island time" but we did not feel that detracted from the meal as we were in no rush. Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing