We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran Out Of Food!”
Review of Texas Pit BBQ

Texas Pit BBQ
Ranked #126 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Ran Out Of Food!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Went out to pick up a quick take out to bring back to house. They had NO food left, nothing, nada, none.... Sorry, but won't be returning. If your going for dinner, forget it!

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is not a sit down restaurant. It literally is a shack in a parking lot in Red Hook. The ribs are absolutely delicious. The chicken is very good. We did not try the brisket as they had not made it the days we were there. We went three times and each time they were out of something. You can get just ribs or combo dinners. They come with two sides (one is seasoned rice which is good) and an ordinary roll. The portions are generous. The servers were efficient but not very pleasant. If you want good ribs, and take out for dinner, give this place a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, multiple locations”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Bill's Texas Pit is goos BBQ. Having lived my entire life in Texas, Bills is the only BBQ I will eat on St Thomas. Enough said...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Duffy's Isn't the Only Place in the Red Hook Plaza Parking Lot Where Food Can Be Had”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's a corrugated Metal shack perhaps twenty by thirty feet in size at the West end of the RH Plaza parking lot with a take-out window and nothing else.

Menu is extremely limited. The ribs were super OTW. The chicken was very good. The second time we went, following the previous reviews on TripAdvisor, we requested brisket, and they were out of it.

Figure about fourteen dollars per meal, without beverage. We will return, and hope that they have brisket!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveAtSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best BBQ ever, anywhere”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is the best BBQ I have ever eaten - definitley worth finding one of their 4 locations on STT. Little remembered fact: they actually were invited to the James Beard City Meals on Wheels charity event in NYC 1986!! and I can see why!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Pit BBQ also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Texas Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing