We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Ranked #8 of 21 St. Thomas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had an Escape room. Nice room, very clean and comfortable with nice balcony and a great view. Short walk to the beach at Secret Harbor. Very quiet area, off the beaten path. Danielle was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wag228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    20
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
69
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in the "Cabana" room, which (more or less as advertised) is a converted pool house, for a week at the end of February 2013.

Our initial impression, at the end of a long day of travel, was rather negative -- this was based primarily on a number of advertised features (on hotels.com) which did not exist in reality... "This room features views of the ocean or beach from the comfort of a furnished balcony" means "there is a door that opens onto the pool deck, which has some lounge chairs and the grill." The view is, indeed, a real gem at all times of day. "Settle onto the Tempur-Pedic bed with premium bedding and cotton linens for a good night's rest" means "whatever mattress we had, it certainly was NOT Tempur-Pedic nor particularly high-end but seemed serviceable. My wife took a look at the cover and it spent the rest of the stay on the floor in the corner." "The private bathroom has a shower, as well as a makeup/shaving mirror" true, but it is barely possible to close the door and the tiny string on the light was so hard to reach we left it on all night rather than fumble in the dark. "Complementary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected" except neither one existed, with the exception of wifi at the cafe which required a password we never learned. We had Sprint 3G access and didn't care too much, except for one outage that required us to walk down to Secret Harbour and use the dive shop's public wifi hotspot. "..and the 32-inch plasma television is offered for your entertainment" except it was about a 20-something-inch tube TV -- but we weren't there to watch television. The other critical difference is that there is no free shuttle service to Red Hook -- the first thing Danielle gave us was the local cabbie's phone number. This really adds up; it's an easy walk to Secret Harbour, and we found it wasn't hard to walk 20 minutes down to Red Hook in the mornings. We took the cab home; it's uphill and hot in the afternoon, and I wouldn't try that walk in the dark (no sidewalks!)

Ultimately, the location, view and price overcame our initial disappointment and we left reasonably satisfied. My wife called the Cabana "rustic", which sums it up pretty well: if you're looking for polish, fit and finish, this room probably won't make you happy, but if you're looking for a base of operations near Red Hook/Secret Harbour that lets you sleep, eat, shower, with a memorable view, this was a great find.

I probably would have given it an extra star if it hadn't been so overhyped in the listing, but ironically we likely wouldn't have chosen it if the listing had been accurate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Paradise Cove is a great place to stay if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Charlotte Amalie and the cruise ships but want to be near a fantastic beach! It was a 30-40 min taxi ride from the airport. The property has a steep, rugged terrain but amazing views. We stayed in one of the escape condos for 5 nights and felt surrounded by nature. The bed was comfy...We had a pull out couch, fans, AC, tv, updated bathroom and full kitchen with drinkable tap water and last but not least... an absolutely stunning ocean view from the balcony! Secret Harbor is a great beach complete with a dive shop, chair & umbrella rentals, great snorkeling (saw sea turtles,lots of cool fish and a manta ray) formal restaurant and great beach bar/ restaurant... just a short walk down the hill/road. There were even drink waiters on the beach! Thanks Yager. Danielle was very helpful and always available around the property or via phone or text. There was also a coffee shop on the property run by the wonderful Laura, who was a wealth of knowledge of things to do and places to see. We liked going to Red Hook for dinner. We only walked there during the day as there is no shoulder, windy roads and broken glass off the road. The other times we took a taxi or had a ride arranged. We were 5 minutes from the ferry to St. John, which was convenient and fun. The pool has amazing views but perhaps needs a pool boy to maintain its PH levels and bring it to its full potential. Paradise Cove is an amazing, peaceful place to stay!

Room Tip: Escape condos are completely updated, #4 is on the end of the lower level and has a corner balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMR8428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Escape Condo 1 for the first two weeks in Februay, 2013. This was our second stay at Paradise Cove in the Condos. Can not think of anything negative about the place. Condos are just perfect. Really good size, neat and clean and a fantastic view.
The staff was great. Danielle could not have been more helpful, as well as Laura in the new Internet Cafe. Always there when you needed them but never bothersome.
The location is terrific as there are several restaurants and fantastic beaches within minutes. For convenience sake you really do need a car but taxi service is also available.
We would both strongly recommend Paradise Cove for anyone looking for a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Can't wiat til we return!

Room Tip: Have stayed in both Condo #1 & 2. Both were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to St. Thomas/St. John from August 17, 2012 to August 26, 2012. We are school teachers so we do most of our traveling during our time off in the summer. We were on St. John for the first 5 days of our trip and took the ferry back to St. Thomas for the last portion of our vacation. One of the risks we take when traveling the Caribbean during the summer is encountering a tropical storm or hurricane. Our time on St. John was beautiful and uneventful, however, we left on one of the last ferries before tropical storm Isaac traveled south of the islands.
After we took a taxi to get our rental car (a must-have on St. Thomas) and then drove to Paradise Cove, we had to search the grounds for the caretaker, Danielle. We had to call her cell phone for her to come out and “welcome” us. This was an additional nuisance because every time my boyfriend or I used our cell phones we accrued roaming charges by our cell phone providers. There was no formal check in process or check out process, anyone could have shown up and been checked into a/our room!
Danielle frantically showed us around the grounds and was very panicked about the storm. She was also very condescending to my boyfriend and I and asked us if we even knew a storm was coming. We had been watching the news and weather carefully and knew that while Isaac was classified as a tropical storm, it was a weak one. Being from New England of the United States, we’ve had our fair share of storms and know how to prepare for them. We were told that for our safety instead of staying in the Serenity Cottage (where we originally made reservations to stay) we would be placed in one of their apartments. The “apartments” were nothing more than studio-style rooms in a motel style building. We were understanding of this decision, and were told it would be only for one night. We went out to get storm supplies and spent some more time roaming the grounds. The pool area was not maintained and all the pool furniture had already been submerged in the pool in preparation for the minor storm. There were MAJOR ant/bug issues in the rooms. We travel frequently to tropical areas and realize that bugs are a fact of life in these areas, BUT the accommodations at Paradise Cove had more bugs than I have ever seen. There was no land-line phone and cell phone service was spotty in the studio- this was very concerning should there actually have been an emergency. I was told there was Wi-Fi in the room and what the password was, but it would not work. I sought out Danielle for help and she was of no help in the matter. In addition the key codes for all the doors in the motel building are very predictable and in my opinion not good security.
As predicted, the storm passed to our south and was not severe, we did not even lose power. We were informed by Danielle that we would not be moved to the Serenity Cottage as we originally agreed to. Unfortunately we had to threaten that we would leave and book a room at the Marriott before we were moved. So we repacked and moved to the Serenity Cottage. The entire time we moved Danielle just watched us and was extremely rude and snotty. She even told us “Jesus Christ, the whole island could be blown off the map” (because of the storm that had passed I assume)? Five minutes after we moved into Serenity Cottage, Danielle called my cell phone and asked “Are you finally happy?” To which I replied that yes, we were happy to be in the cottage we paid for and originally made the arrangements for. The way we were treated was unacceptable. With the current economy as it is (and the fact that the establishment wasn’t exactly bustling with patrons) I would definitely think they would treat their guests more respectfully.
Our time in Serenity Cottage wasn’t all we thought it would be. I’ve attached some disturbing photos from our limited stay there. Again, there was no land-line for phone. The shower handles are backwards (HOT should be COLD and vice versa). The bugs were an issue here as well. The windows do not lock in the Serenity Cottage!!! They do have a locking mechanism but the windows still opened when “locked”. This was especially troubling since anyone could get onto the deck of the cottage and enter in through the windows. There was no safe, holes in the walls, ripped and stained (gag!) sheets, dirty dishes in the cabinets, strange pink stains bleeding through the painted walls, a sewage smell by the front door, and dusty artificial plants- can you believe it? Artificial plants in the tropics?!?! The air conditioning had little to no affect because the windows are so poorly sealed. For the two days we were at the Serenity Cottage we endured continuous power surges and “brown-outs”. This became very problematic especially since water was pumped into the cottage using electricity. At one point I stood in the shower for 10 minutes all soaped up waiting for the power to come back again so I could rinse.
Since the utility company doesn’t work on the weekend in St. Thomas, we were again moved back to the motel style rooms. Danielle asked us what room we stayed in the first time (being the property manager, this was something we thought she should have known) because it still hadn’t been cleaned and they were going to put us into a different room. So, needless to say, there is no daily maid service or housekeeping.
Shortly after the storm had passed to the south of us Danielle placed caution tape on the trials leading closer to the water due to a shipwrecked sailboat, yet she herself went down several times and even guided guests down there. My boyfriend and I were specifically warned to not go down there since looters had already begun working on the sailboat.
There were no attempts by anyone to clean up the grounds or remove the pool furniture from the pool after the storm. The grounds were a mess and the furniture submerged the entire time we were there.
We were so displeased with the accommodations (and the entire island of St. Thomas for that matter) that as soon as the ferry was running again we went back to St. John for our last full day.
The one good thing my boyfriend and I have to say about the property is that the southern view from any of the rooms/cottages was gorgeous. On one particularly clear afternoon we could see all the way to St. Croix. However, there was no safe way to get down to the gorgeous water, sadly.
When it was time to leave Paradise Cove we could not find Danielle (and she was not answering her cell phone). We searched the grounds and finally found someone who looked like they worked there. She just told us that we were “all set”, again, no formal check out process. Once we returned home, we e-mailed Danielle requesting reimbursement of some type since my boyfriend and I felt that the studio rooms we were put in were in no way equivalent to an entire cottage. My boyfriend and I were offered 2 free nights at Serenity Cottage for 2 people- needless to say we will never be back there, not even if it were free!

Room Tip: Best tip would be to book at room at the Marriott and NOT Paradise Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here two days before and two days after sailing. There were three women sharing the Serenity Cottage and an Escape Condo.

We loved each unit for different reasons. The Serenity Cottage is larger and has a huge balcony looking out over the water. The overall aesthetics of the unit is good, except the bathroom needs to be renovated. We also stayed in an Escape Condo, the middle, lower unit. The condo is a nice size, even for three of us. The balcony has a nice view and the bathroom is MUCH nicer...updated and a walk in shower. However, the pull-out couch was not as comfortable as the Serenity Cottage's pull-out. Everyone we encountered were very helpful and friendly and Danielle was awesome from our initial contact until we left!

Would we stay here again? You bet!! Looking forward to returning with my husband at some point!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Man, we sure had a worse experience than all the other reviewers. We booked online based on other people's opinions and the photos they showed. We arrived around 11 p.m. on the late flight from Miami and were give a room at the back of the pool house. It was advertised as a cabana. Really? A room at the back of the poolhouse, and they called a cabana. I don't think so. It was crappy and I can't believe they charged us $176 for it. We were only there one night, so we just endured, but our room had a tiny bathroom with mold growing in the broken tile shower, and not a single light aside from a small light in the kitchen. The bed linens were so bad maybe it was a blessing not having better lighting. I don't think I have ever stayed somewhere that showed more misleading photos. We'd never stay there again.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances should you allow them to place you in the room behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bertman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
1.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.2 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
1.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites

Property: Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Address: 2GA Ridge Road | Estate Nazareth, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove Vacation Rental Property is located on the East End of St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. We have 6 condos, 2 cottages with adjoining studios, a cabana, and 6 2-story apartments available for rental. Offering a nature hike straight down to the rock front shore line, a swimming pool with large gas BBQ grill, an Internet Cafe, and a 10 foot Gazebo, and a 50 person multi purpose function room. The property is located walking distance to Secret Harbour Beach, and 2 minutes away by car to Red Hook. Red Hook has over 20 bars and restaurants, shopping, gas station, grocery store, pharmacy, mail room, doctors office, and also is where the St. John and BVI ferry dock is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing